We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't let appearance put you of.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Ranked #49 of 147 Restaurants in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $7
Cuisines: Mexican, Thai, British, Pub, Russian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Please note that we are NOT located in KATA Beach but Near Cape Panwa ! Aoyon beach
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't let appearance put you of.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

I didn't like the look of it, as it looked too much like an English pub, but the Thai food was lovely, Good service, good food and good price..

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank caractacusherts2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    27
    16
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A British oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is a great pub with a good selection of drinks including ciders. there is a proper bar and bar stools to sit and have a drink and a chat at. Best to wait for Steve to be around for a good expat conversation and exchange funny experiences whilst away from home. We are still looking for a place that can do a roast dinner as wellas this place can.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheCourtyardChapora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Breakfast = bad, dinner = wonderful.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I hesitate to give the Ship Inn a "Very Good" rating simply based on the fact that the morning service is quite poor, while the evening service is great. The difference is truly like night and day.

We attempted to have breakfast here three times, and they couldn't manage to put our order in correctly even one single time. We weren't asking for anything special; we literally ordered two plates of eggs, toast, and an order of breakfast potatoes, or some variation on that. They would always check the order with us, and then they would always forget something. Additionally, they took an extremely long time to prepare the food, which shouldn't have taken more than 15 minutes, especially with the restaurant as empty as it was. They were always apologetic...but they were a bit inept. Aside from the breakfast potatoes (tasty), the food was nothing special.

Contrast this with the dinner service. The servers were all extremely pleasant and spoke English quite well. The Thai food is absolutely delicious. They have an extensive menu of Thai dishes, which we were able to work through over the course of several days. The yellow curry was my personal favorite. However, I would recommend skipping the tempura shrimp - way too much breading. Prices are reasonable, especially for the amount of food you're served. You'll definitely leave happy, especially if you take advantage of their cheaply priced beers and cocktails.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelCShu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rødovre, Kobenhavn, Denmark
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best staff ever and good thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed in the guest house (called Beach Breeze and I made a seperate review for that. This is for the bar/restaurant only).

The guest house got an absolute 5 stars and the bar too and the thai food also deserve a great rating. The European food isn't worth it though so stick to the beer, the thai food and the staff. Especially Porn who speaks surprisingly great English and has a beautiful smile. If you go here, make sure you tip them well and tell Porn that "Monkey" says hello :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sune J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Chefs day off? Overall not bad.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Firstly, the website states the large breakfast is 175 baht (the menu at the restaurant states 195 baht, jacked up for high season maybe?) and includes mushrooms. No mushrooms........

The tomato was undercooked, eggs overcooked, but overall not bad.

The staff were very friendly and speed of service farily prompt.

Was it worth 195 baht? Not really.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darren14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

 
Phuket Town, Phuket
 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing