We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, but starting to show wear”
Review of The Color Kata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Color Kata
Ranked #49 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for one night at the end of our holiday before leaving Thailand to go back home.

We arrived in a van and were greeted, had our luggage taken and escorted into the reception area. The staff at reception were helpful and friendly, and we were given a refreshing drink while going through the check in process.

We were shown the room, and the setup looked exactly like the photos here on Trip Advisor. The room was compact, and made excellent use of the space.

I have read other reviews that other people have had issues with the cleanliness with the room and/or a smell for the toilet and shower but our room was very clean and there was no smell.

I would definitely go back and stay longer

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
There are newer reviews for The Color Kata
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 120 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed here a few nights in March 13'

We arrived late at night after 2flights and a cab ride that took far too long so my tolerance was low! ( I was tired and cranky!!) We were shown to the room quickly, on entering the room there was a terrible stench from the drains in the sink,shower. I was too tired to go back down so we just fell into bed, in the morning the smell was considerable less pungent!
So giving the place the benefit of the doubt,
We headed off to the beaches for the day, we noticed some places in karon,kata, had a similar iffy smell.

Later that night in the room, we noticed the smell came and went pretty frequently. I couldn't stand it in such a tight area so unfortunately we decided to leave a day early.
We did not complain as we suspect there was nothing the staff could do, so we paid the extra night and head on our way. The girls at the reception organised a taxi and were lovely.

While I could see what the were trying to do with the decor, it just didn't work in my opinion.
The toilet idea was funky but it seemed stupid to have to leave one class box to wash your hands in another.especially when both boxes are sharing the one door!! Unhygienic?!!
Leave you inhibitions at the door!!

my room had little to basically no natural light, ( not sure if this is the case with all rooms) but I would prefer to look at interior plaster of my room than the exterior bricks of the building 2inches from my window!

The location was good only 5-10mins from the beautiful kata beach , hotel provided shuttles all day. The area is lovely, lots of cute restaurants,shops, etc..a lot quieter than patong,and possibly more family friendly.

Breakfast was very minimal but I'm not a huge breakfast fan so this doesn't bother me, cereal, croissant,coffee...sorted!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValConnolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and just loved each bit of it.

- Free WIFI
- Breakfast did not have many choice but was good
- Internet TV in the room
- Beautiful decor

100 % recommended for family.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aby50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The design of the hotel is really unique and funky and has loads of extras in the bedroom that other similar hotels in the area doesn't have, such as slippers, umbrellas, kettle and a computer in the room with good speakers. The hotel had good strong wifi and also offers a free minivan that takes you to and from kata beach on the hour from morning til 6pm. But be warned, the rooms are small, lacks natural sunlight which makes it dark.

Unfortunately during our short stay, the hotel was undergoing some maintenance works which created a revolting smell and slimy texture to the water! The 'fishy' water coming out from the tap and shower in our room made it very difficult to use. We informed the staff and they tried to flush it out for us a few times however it didn't make a difference. The following day we were upgraded to a bigger suite but unfortunately the water problem persisted and during our two night stay, we were brushing our teeth with bottled water and showering in public showers by the beach! We were just unlucky to have stayed at the hotel during this period but luckily we had only booked the hotel for two nights.

Even though the stay wasn't as good as it could have been, I have to say the staff were good and friendly and tried to do whatever they can to improve things.

Room Tip: The first room we stayed in was next to the bar/kitchen on the ground floor and was very noisy so as...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aviophobia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Overall satisfied with the stay.
Pro : good location. easy walking to eateries and Kata Beach.
Free wifi in the entire hotel.
cool design in each room.
Cons : breakfast with limited choices.
our room is next to the hotel kitchen so its quite noisy in the morning.
During our stay, the water was so yellow and made the toilet bowl looks so dirty.
They should have installed a water filter.
House keeper didn't really clean our bathroom. Mirror very dirty since the first day we check in and remaining dirty on our departure day.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tprado3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoued our stay here. The hotel is nearly new and the decor is awesome, very bright and funky. Free wifi in the rooms and the flat screen tv also is a computer so you can upload photos etc. free shuttle to kata beach which is beautiful. Located down a quiet street filled with spas and a couple of restaurants. The only downside is breakfast is very basic but was enough for us to start the day. Would def stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TynaBrado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at The Color Kata, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment us on TripAdvisor. Regarding to your recent stay in July, we would be very much appreciated to hear that you have a great time with us and thank you very much for your comment to improve better service.We are looking forward to welcome you in your next holiday !

The Color Kata Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

i found the hotel very clean and smart,the staff were very helpful and freindly and any request was dealt with ,with grace and.a smile.Being only ten minutes walk from the beach was very convient ,but if you had quite a bit to carry a shuttle was provided on the hour.the tv and the internet were very good, an the room being air conditioned was wonderful. also being able to order meals at the hotel was,very relaxing.the street in which the hotel was situated had no shortage of shops and bistros.the local people and staff were all very friendly.

Room Tip: front facing rooms have better veiw
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barayvilla, Manager at The Color Kata, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor. That would be very nice to hear that you enjoy your time with us and we are looking forward for your return !

The Color Kata Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Capannina Inn
Capannina Inn
#46 of 56 in Kata Beach
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
#31 of 56 in Kata Beach
166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rico's Bungalows
Rico's Bungalows
#44 of 56 in Kata Beach
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kata Country House
Kata Country House
#35 of 56 in Kata Beach
333 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Baray Villa
The Baray Villa
#17 of 56 in Kata Beach
480 reviews
0.1 mi away
ibis Phuket Kata
ibis Phuket Kata
#25 of 56 in Kata Beach
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Color Kata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Color Kata

Address: 65 Katekwan Rd. | Karon, Mueang Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Price Range: $24 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Color Kata 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Color of the Past is The Color of Present.Exceptional conceptual from the core outline of The Chino Portuguese which is the significant architecture of the old Phuket. All interior and exterior design of The Color Kata will be representing the Color of Life from the glorious past of Phuket till nowadays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Color Kata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Color Kata Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing