We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunset Views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of After Beach Bar

After Beach Bar
Ranked #50 of 140 Restaurants in Kata Beach
Cuisines: Bar, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Sunset Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Unfortunately , due to peak season , this place was so crowded when we were there. The mostly European Crowd were noisy and typically obnoxious so the joy and serenity of a evening sunset was very hard to enjoy. the staff were so busy that even a simple drink order was difficult to place

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MICHAELJC59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    131
    57
    30
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food and Amazing Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Many might think the breath-taking views of After Beach Bar would be enough to draw people in, but frankly, that's only a small percentage of the whole package. Their food is AMAZING (definitely try the Mussaman curry!), and their staff is very friendly. Yes, the service takes a while, but I gather that's pretty typical as most places had similar service. It's also not very expensive. It's on a hill overlooking Hat Kata Noi, so unless you're into hiking, you should probably rent a bike to get there. We honestly kept our motorbike another day just so we could visit this place again.

You MUST visit!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank virginiafgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Went for the amazing view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The view is spetacular!! Better sunset ever!. Have to get there early or make reservations to sit right in the balcony. But still it's totaly worth it. Went there only for the sunset and some drinks befor the dinner, the drinks are a little expensive, but not that much more than other restaurants/hotels.
Also, need to take some mosquito repelents, since it's thailand and mosquito are part of the scene always.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CamilaMBIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great views but awful service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We usually go to the Small View Bar, which is next to the After Beach Bar, but thought we would have a change, so went here. Whilst the view is a little better, the contrast in the quality of staff and service could not have been greater. Whilst the staff at the Small View are very friendly and efficient, they couldn't seem to care less here. I assume the woman who appeared to be the front of house manager must have been a family member of the owners as that is the only way she possibly have got, or kept the job. She looked thoroughly miserable the whole time, ignored us for ages and didn't didn't give us a menu and when we eventually had to ask for 2 beers, she brought us 2 small Singha's, without asking us what we wanted, which was in fact 2 large Chang's, so we sent them back. The music they played was also pretty boring.I certainly wouldn't dream of going back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sampanpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Favourite restaurant during holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

After reading tripadvisor reviews and comments, we came here an hour before sunset and found a perfect spot. The views were breathtaking, best sunset I have ever seen, it had a very relaxed atmosphere and the food/cocktails were very reasonably priced and of very good quality. Perfect for couples, it was very romantic, especially when the candles came out after sunset.
The service was superb. 10 out of 10.
We booked through our hotel for a taxi there and were a little worried (it was our first night in Phuket) on how we would get back. But when we were leaving they ushered us into a waiting taxi which was much cheaper than our hotel's apparently competitive rate! There was another couple standing with us who were going to Kata too so they put us all in the same taxi to reduce the cost further!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chicken765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed After Beach Bar also viewed

 
Kata Beach, Karon
 

Been to After Beach Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing