We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baannueng@Kata (The Kata Orient House)
Ranked #13 of 61 Kata Beach B&B and Inns
Skjetten, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great service, good location”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This cozy, quiet litte hotell is located on only 10 minutes away for Kata Beach and town. There are lots of good restaurants in walking distance.
The Hotel itself is located on a quiet street, and most of the rooms face away from the street towards the pool. The rooms need som TLC but all in all they are very nice. The pool area is a great place to chill out before going out to town. The staff is really nice and friendly. The brakfast-buffet it simple but ok, with fruits, toast and cereals. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BastianConrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    27
    15
    6
    7
See reviews for
11
38
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is my third time in thailand, I love this country and this time i brought my parents to show them the "thailand with a smile"

I knew already that phuket was a swamp we stayed there only for one night in our way to phi phi. Chose this hotel because location and pricing was reasonable.

Rooms are ok, it is a quiet place but for the first time in my thailand experience something is stolen from our room. I am almost certain it is the cleaners not the managements fault but i also blame thr management for not resolving it.

The theft story:

After our night we checked out and left our bags at the reception. We came back 1.5 hours later to pick up our bags. We realized my mom forgot her very bracelet(very cheap one, 2-3euro) and i forgot my silver ring (around 100 euros not a fortune but has a lot of personal value to me) in the bedroom drawer. First the management said nothing was found. My mom didnt take no for answer, she went to our room and saw the cleaning just getting out. After interrogating her for 5 mintes she got her bracelet back. i guess because it worths nothing. But the cleaner didnt accept she found my silver ring. I was super sure where i left it. i even showed them the exact location. Cleaner said no and management didnt corner her. I told everyone how the ring means alot to me still no reaction. After 20 minites we had to leave. I left my number with them but no calls. I called them today said we are coming back to phuket. Still same story. No rings.

Looks like my ring is already sold at a jewelry store already. Unfortunately i cannot bring it back. But at least i could warn other travelers like you. Dont use this hotel. I spent in total 3 months in thailand over the past 6 years. Not and south this is the first time theft is happening. Dont stay here there are other good places on the island who are probsbly more honest .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank leftietraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Pros: lovely grounds maintained by a passionate gardener, swimming pool, close to beach, friendly but incompetent staff

Cons: terrible workmanship in rooms, gaps around doors, poor showers, towels and bed linen stained. Pool is warm and not very clean

See photos

We stayed for two nights and ended up having three different rooms. Our first room had huge gaps around the doors and a wasps nest near the doors. Obviously they couldn't account for the wasps but the gaps in the door did not help.

We asked to move to which they replied they were fully booked. After reading other reviews on trip advisor it is clear that the staff are friendly but they are terrible at managing the bookings and keeping track of which rooms are empty/occupied. They miraculously found another room that we could move to.

This room was actually comical for the amount of faults. Again there was a massive gap when the sliding doors were supposed to be "shut".....welcome Mosquitos! The curtains did not reach the bottom of the windows. Literally a 6 inch gap at the bottom!.......Perhaps the windows were too long? The shower unit was over 6 feet from the floor. My girlfriend could not reach the temperature gauge even if she jumped! The towels were absolutely disgusting and the bed linen was stained. We were actually unsure as to whether or not they had been washed. The beds are literally just bits of old wood just screwed together and the mattress was very hard.

Cue room number three....

This room was better but still had massive gaps around the door frame. The shower needed to be held in the hand as when the water was on it would spray towards the wall! Again the towels and bed linen were not very clean.

On the plus side the grounds and poolside are beautiful. The gardener works hard all day and is obviously passionate and conscientious about his work. The gardens are beautiful and the pool is nice to sit round.

Unfortunately the pool itself is not brilliantly maintained. The water is warm, probably due to the dark blue tiles. The filter system obviously doesn't work properly so the water is not very clean. It is passable though and we enjoyed taking a day to chill out away from the hustle and bustle of Phuket.

All in all this place has great potential but is poorly run and terribly maintained (apart from garden) the buildings appear nice on the outside but on closer inspection the build quality is awful. It is cheap and has a pool but it will be a lottery as to which room you get. Also be prepared to move as they have a tendency to ask guests to move each day as they are unable to coordinate their bookings properly.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great location at quite street, walking distance to the Kata beach and town is just 10-15mins. Room is nice and clean but the bathroom need more better maintenance. The room is facing the pool, nice place to chill if not planning to travel around. Lots of TV channel too, Wifi is available but at some place, it is easily disconneted. Bikes is available at hotel for rental if want to mobile futher to other places. Nice landscape around the hotel, it would be even better if there is more big tree around. The shopping and dining place is very close, just 5-10mins away.The staff are friendly and helpful too.
Overall, this is a great hotel, giving more value for money. Just don't get confuse with the complimentary drinking water, big glass bottle is free while small bottle in the freezer is not..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArezAbdullah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed here for a week and was impressed at the value for the price paid. The pool is really outstanding with premium wood slat chaise lounges. Rooms are a bit dated but very spacious, clean and well kept. The management staff is outstanding...has to be the friendliest and best service I can remember at a hotel in ages. Breakfast buffet is standard and eggs are made to order. I had two different dinner selections from the restaurant and they were very good...try the stuffed pineapple dinner thingy (you'll find it in the menu - it is delicious!
This hotel is a few blocks from the beach - maybe a ten minute stroll at most. The trade off is a clean, quiet, family friendly well run hotel at a very good price.

Room Tip: Property is well laid out - not sure there is a bad room location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Me and my friends stayed there for a week in this february. Beautiful quiet hotel with fantastic courtyard and pool. Nice and friendly people. It is located on quiet street, but all the shopping and dining is about 5 minutes away by foot. the beach is about 15 minutes buy foot, but you can always rent a motoroller from the hotel.
I recommend this hotel to everyone!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kris465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoogeveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Very nice hotel: great staff and the pool looks lovely. We arrived at the hotel an hour too early, stored our luggage at the hotel and went to the beach, which is about a 5-10 minute walk.Checked in around 7 pm (reception is open till 11 pm or so), and the rooms are very big and clean. We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyceSmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Kata Country House
Kata Country House
#34 of 57 in Kata Beach
324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#8 of 57 in Kata Beach
701 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 57 in Kata Beach
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Casa e Mare
Casa e Mare
#1 of 57 in Kata Beach
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sawasdee Village
Sawasdee Village
#7 of 57 in Kata Beach
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baannueng@Kata (The Kata Orient House)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baannueng@Kata (The Kata Orient House)

Property: Baannueng@Kata (The Kata Orient House)
Address: 4 Ket Kwan Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baannueng@Kata (The Kata Orient House) 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Kata, Baannueng at Kata (The Kata Orient House)is an ideal spot from which to discover Phuket. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. Also within easy reach are Kata View Point, Kata Beach, Phuket Surf.The facilities and services provided by Baannueng Group Hotel ensure a pleasant stay for guests. To name a few of the hotel's facilities, there are concierge, car park, tours, room service, safety deposit boxes.The ambiance of Baannueng at Kata (The Kata Orient House Hotel) is reflected in every guestroom. non smoking rooms, internet access – wireless (complimentary), internet access – wireless, television LCD/plasma screen are just some of the facilities at your disposal. Throughout the day you can enjoy the relaxing atmosphere of the massage, outdoor pool, garden. Discover an engaging blend of professional service and a wide array of features at Baannueng at Kata (The Kata Orient House) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baannueng@Kata (The Kata Orient House) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baannueng@Kata (The Kata Orient House) Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing