We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding,brilliant,want to go back!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baannueng@Kata (The Kata Orient House)
Ranked #13 of 61 Kata Beach B&B and Inns
Denbigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“outstanding,brilliant,want to go back!!!!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks and I cannot praise it enough. We had to move room once but we didnt mind as they upgraded us. The bed was huge and comfy and the rooms were large,airy and light. They were not so much cleaned daily as redecorated,they even cleaned the windows. The air con was really efficient which was great as it was so hot. The bathroom had a power shower and lots of big fluffy towels and toiletries. The tv had great movies and lots of channels for everyone, also the hotel provided lots of free bottled water and a well stocked mini bar which was reasonably priced. The restaurant was so friendly with lots of choice, they even catered for my sister who is vegan. The staff were so helpful and friendly and we arranged a few trips and airport taxi service through them.The swimming pool was lovely and cleaned regularly, they also provided free tea and coffee all day. There is a 7 eleven shop accross the street and they allowed us to purchase drinks from here to drink by the pool! I stayed here with some friends and their young children and the hotel staff could not have been more flexible for everyones needs. The beach is a ten minute walk away with lots of shops and massage parlours along the way to keep you entertained. The bars are welcoming and friendly and provided lots of games for children and adults.
This was my first trip to Phuket and I must say the hotel really made it a pleasure. We got a good deal as we booked and paid in advance. The receptionist even left a little gift in my room upon arrival. I couldnt recommend this place highly enough, I wouldnt stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: I saw a couple of the rooms and they were all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ursula m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    27
    15
    6
    7
See reviews for
11
38
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

For the money we paid this hotel was not good. The bed is really hard and uncomfortable. I felt like I was sleeping on the floor. The room wasn't clean and we found an old pair of underwear in a packet. The location is not great, a 20 minute walk from the beach. The good things are the staff are really helpful and friendly and the pool is a nice size and clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TamNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sepilok, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here for just one night. First of all, this place and the rooms do not look like the pictures. The rooms aren't luxurious at all and they smell very damp. Our linen had weird looking stains on them (like blood or something). We had a discount because of low season, so for us the price was ok but the prices on their website are NOT worth it. Also, it's not close to the beach at all, it says 300 meters in their description but this is not true because you have to walk all the way around Club Med wich is blocking the beach with a big wall.

First the people here seemed friendly, especially the woman. But in the morning when we wanted breakfast, problems started. Because I'm allergic to gluten and also a vegetarian, I usually have a vegetable omelet for breakfast so I have to ask for a adjustment because most times omelets are with bacon/sausages and toast. I've never had a problem with this anywhere in Thailand, and usually I get a substitution and people are very friendly and helpful about it. In this place they wanted to let me pay 120 baht for just a PLAIN omelette (normally that's the price with bacon). I asked why I had to pay for bacon when I don't eat it because I'm a vegetarian, but they didn't want to do anything for me. I asked for the manager because the waiter didn't understand English very well, first he didn't want to come and when I did, he basicly told us to leave in a very agitated way. I've never been treated like this in Thailand anywhere, normally people are very friendly here and they usually offer me an omelet with tomatoes or something and when the omelet is part of a set, I don't have to pay the full price. Both me and my boyfriend didn't understand why we were treated like that while all I did was asking a question. I was very shocked about this.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeleenJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed here for a week, the bed was very hard and uncomfortable. The shower was a poor sight. we didn't have a proper door... patio doors which did not shut the entire way.. which made it very easy for mosquitoes. Also there was Building work from early morning to stupid a clock at night! and when we left the stuff were very rude.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

By far the best I've ever had, and believe me, I've had a lot of it. 120Bht. From the road the restaurant doesn't look up to much, but it's tasty, cheap and clean. Bar service can be a bit slow mind you - if there's no one there I just help myself!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Booked the place unseen for me and my 11 year old to stay for 16 nights, got there around 2pm, great reception from Kevin, ate some late lunch, tasty stir fry for 89Bht. Pool is small but unused so very relaxing, it's a 10 minute walk to the beach, everything's handy here. It's clean, staff are friendly and go out of their way to help you.

Honestly can't see what anyone can complain about.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Quite an informal resort hotel, not pretentious in any way.

I paid a walk-in rate of B 1,250 per night, which is much cheaper than the internet rate so by Phuket standards it wasn't terribly priced.

But the rooms are old and tired and dark, the pool is too small to swim in, what's more I was nearly killed by a falling coconut which landed 1 step in front of me on the pathway around the pool - sounds quite amusing but I'm sure it would be no laughing matter if I had been just 1 or 2 seconds earlier!

The rooms have internet but I had to bargain with the management who said only 1 user per room - how ridiculous!

They allowed me to order a la carte breakfast since there was no vegetarian buffet breakfast, but it was so oily that I didn't bother ny more after 2 attempts. Cooked breakfast starts at 8 am too - far too late for a holiday hotel.

Lastly, I needed to check out early. I gave 3 days notice but instead of just thanking me for giving him some notice, the male manager nearly had a heart attack! He started wittering on about their terms and conditions which are posted on Agoda.com and elsewhere (none of whom I booked thru so entirely irrelevant). I informed him that I'd gladly pay whatever penalty I had signed agreement to ... which was none. :)

Thankfully, he dropped such claims after that.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zambezikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,047 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kata Country House
Kata Country House
#34 of 56 in Kata Beach
325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#7 of 56 in Kata Beach
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
#28 of 56 in Kata Beach
157 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baannueng@Kata (The Kata Orient House)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baannueng@Kata (The Kata Orient House)

Property: Baannueng@Kata (The Kata Orient House)
Address: 4 Ket Kwan Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baannueng@Kata (The Kata Orient House) 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Kata, Baannueng at Kata (The Kata Orient House)is an ideal spot from which to discover Phuket. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. Also within easy reach are Kata View Point, Kata Beach, Phuket Surf.The facilities and services provided by Baannueng Group Hotel ensure a pleasant stay for guests. To name a few of the hotel's facilities, there are concierge, car park, tours, room service, safety deposit boxes.The ambiance of Baannueng at Kata (The Kata Orient House Hotel) is reflected in every guestroom. non smoking rooms, internet access – wireless (complimentary), internet access – wireless, television LCD/plasma screen are just some of the facilities at your disposal. Throughout the day you can enjoy the relaxing atmosphere of the massage, outdoor pool, garden. Discover an engaging blend of professional service and a wide array of features at Baannueng at Kata (The Kata Orient House) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baannueng@Kata (The Kata Orient House) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baannueng@Kata (The Kata Orient House) Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing