We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok, recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baannueng@Kata (The Kata Orient House)
Ranked #13 of 60 Kata Beach B&B and Inns
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ok, recommended”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

A functional hotel. If you go out all day, this is value for money.

Good - Close location to Kata beach, many restaurants, message place in walking distance, beautiful pool, helpful staffs (ask Calvyn, he's fun), clean room

Bad - make sure you request a quiet room as one side is close to bars which play music till 2-3am! We could not sleep on 1st night and have to ask to change room. To their credit , we were offered a quiet deluxe room without extra charge for the remaining of the stay.

The bed is hard!. We did not have problem sleeping because we were dead tired, but I can imagine foreigners who used to soft bed will have problem with this.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ultramanHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    27
    15
    6
    7
See reviews for
11
38
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

My daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights and on our arrival were given chilled flannels and a cool drink. The service was very good, but I think it was the hardest bed I have ever slept in, and didn't feel well rested. We had a couple of problems with our room - water in bathroom not working twice - this was remedied but bit of a pain to not be able to have a shower. Also cable TV wasn't working at one stage - this wouldn't usually be a problem - but I was trying to watch RWC games. It was low season but the gardens were looking a bit unkept.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin4573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

I stayed here as a solo traveler visiting Kata Beach. Kata beach is a nice, more quiet environment than you might find in Pattong. This hotel is just around the corner from the main drag in Kata, and it offers a more peaceful environment because of it.
The family run hotel is VERY nice and accommodating.. I cannot say enough good things about these people. The food here is good, and inexpensive. A short walk to the beach, and the action. I would recommend staying here to anyone! Great value!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thehappyhonu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

My husband and I took the bus from Phuket airport to the hotel. We had trouble finding the hotel and it was very hot and humid outside. We asked a local tour office for help. The tour office called the hotel, and within 5 minutes, someone was there to pick us up. They took us to the hotel and were excited to see us. The gave us freezing cold wet towel and cold drinks right when we stepped on the hotel property. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the beach, so the location is much quiter than on the main strip. It was clean and comfortable. AMAZING price included breakfast for two and WIFI, like 20 bucks a night. The rooms were clean, bed a bit firm. This is a family run buisness and everyone was SOOOOO nice and helpful. We stayed here during two different stays because we were so happy with the service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahB451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Kata Country House
Kata Country House
#33 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa e Mare
Casa e Mare
#1 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#8 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Natalie Resort
Natalie Resort
#38 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capannina Inn
Capannina Inn
#43 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baannueng@Kata (The Kata Orient House)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baannueng@Kata (The Kata Orient House)

Property: Baannueng@Kata (The Kata Orient House)
Address: 4 Ket Kwan Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baannueng@Kata (The Kata Orient House) 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Kata, Baannueng at Kata (The Kata Orient House)is an ideal spot from which to discover Phuket. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. Also within easy reach are Kata View Point, Kata Beach, Phuket Surf.The facilities and services provided by Baannueng Group Hotel ensure a pleasant stay for guests. To name a few of the hotel's facilities, there are concierge, car park, tours, room service, safety deposit boxes.The ambiance of Baannueng at Kata (The Kata Orient House Hotel) is reflected in every guestroom. non smoking rooms, internet access – wireless (complimentary), internet access – wireless, television LCD/plasma screen are just some of the facilities at your disposal. Throughout the day you can enjoy the relaxing atmosphere of the massage, outdoor pool, garden. Discover an engaging blend of professional service and a wide array of features at Baannueng at Kata (The Kata Orient House) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baannueng@Kata (The Kata Orient House) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baannueng@Kata (The Kata Orient House) Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing