We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not completely satisfied.”
Review of The Orchid House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Orchid House
Ranked #12 of 65 Kata Beach B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This small hotel is located in a very quiet area of Kata Beach, not far from the beach and from the main road with lots of restaurants and shops.
We stayed 3 nights in standard double room n. 302, large and clean, with a king-size bed, safety box, fridge and free wifi. The shower is in the same small room with toilet and so the floor gets wet. No soap provided, only shower gel and shampoo. Sometimes towels had big holes. The small terrace in front has a metal grate that prevents any view except the sky.
Breakfast is suitable to feed but not tasty: you choose between 3 menus, American one provides eggs with bacon, 2 slices of toast, butter, orange and strawberry jam, tea or coffee, fruit.
The staff does not speak English, not even understands the room number. Only a lady, perhaps the manager, was able to provide us the information we needed and then even booked us a tour and a taxi for less than various agencies outside.
It was our first time in Phuket so we cannot compare this hotel with others, but, should we go there again, we’d try another place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dale63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 68 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed for seven nights and didn't want to leave. Our room was large, clean and comfortable with a private and quiet balcony. The staff at reception and in the restaurant was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the complimentary 'American' breakfast everyday (Asian option was also available) especially because it included a generous serving of fresh fruit. The food at the Orchid Café was among the best and cheapest we had in Kata Beach. The location was perfect for us - the area was quiet but very close to restaurants, shops, beach, etc. We highly recommend this property and will definitely stay here again if we ever return to the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prairiedrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We enjoyed very much our 4 night stay at The Orchid House in Kata beach. The rooms are spacious and clean, breakfast is very good with continental/american/asian options. We had dinner once at their restaurant and it was fine.
Location is good, close to the main Kata road where you can find many shops and restaurants. Kata beach is about 5 min walking via a shortcut coasting a smelly stream.
The only problem was that our room was next to the stairs and we could hear people going up and down during the night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carlos H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We needed a room after arriving at 8pm in kata. We had the most pleasent sevice ever and the rooms are big with a nice king size bed and the best shower I had in days.
Moreover with every question about our next part of our trip we were kindly helped with a smile. A big plus was that it is very close to the beach
Thumbs up for this place and good value for money.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank drsBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

This place is one of the most guest house I have stayed in it is as good as a 4 star ! Staff is pleasant and management very helpful. I changed my stay for various reasons and yet they were very flexible with me and patient too. Very clean ! Will defiantly be back there soon . And so convenient for local shops and beach. Even though i was there for business only.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

There is one thing you won’t find in this hotel – dust. The rooms are kept spotlessly clean and the cleaning staff meticulously wipe all the furniture and floors in the restaurant and the lobby each and every day.

I have stayed in The Orchid House on four occasions over the last three years (usually staying for three weeks at a time) and the high standards have been maintained over that period. The hotel is located in a quieter part of Kata, well away from the main road. For the beach-goers, it is located only a ten-minute walk from the beach via a shortcut from the main road (although you may not be impressed by the view and state of the ‘canal’ adjacent to the shortcut). A swimming pool in the complex next door is available for use by guests staying at The Orchid House.

The building construction across the soi is almost complete so the slight noise distraction during the day will soon cease, not that this was a big issue in the first place.

I normally do not eat meals at the places I stay, preferring instead to discover new and different venues. However, the restaurant at The Orchid House is certainly worth trying. They have an extensive menu of both European and Thai cuisine from which to choose and the meal prices are reasonable and comparable with other similar quality restaurants in the area. Breakfast, which is included in the tariff, is served in the same restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hazh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed in Orchid House for 10 nights in the end of January and it was a good choice. As this was our second time in Phuket, we chose Kata Beach for the more relaxed atmosphere comparing to Patong, and the beach is so much better. Choosing accommodation wasn't easy as there are so many similar hotels in the area, but finally we chose Orchid house for the location, price and good reviews.
We were met by the hotels driver upon arrival and got to Kata just in time for a quick dip in a pool before dinner. And this was probably the only disappointment (and the reason for 4*), as the hotel does not actually have its own pool. It seemed that the area where Orchid House is located is newly built and consists only of hotels, and there is one swimmingpool on each block, for all hotels to use. It really was not THAT big of a deal, as there was always space by the pool available, but looking at the website you get an impression that Orchid house has it own pool, when in reality you have to go out on the street and then enter another hotels grounds and there is the pool. So we ended up going to the beach everyday, but sometimes it would be nice to just lounge by a pool.
Other than that, the hotel was great value. We had one of the standard rooms on the ground floor and the room was really spacious and very clean. I really was very impressed with the cleanliness! There was a small covered balcony and a spacious bathroom, small fridge with 2 water bottles replenished daily, free of charge. Our rate included breakfast, which was good, but there could be a little more of variety, as it didn't change once in the 10 days. You get a choice of some toast with butter/jam/honey, eggs, yoghurt, cereal and some fruit. Would have been great to have some cheese and ham at least once in a while, as I don't want eggs every morning, but the rest of choices were all sweet. Breakfast staff were all a little bit sleepy and there is one lady which always looked grumpy and we felt that we are bothering her when asking for some coffee. We also had dinner in the restaurant a couple of times, when we were too tired/lazy to search for another dinner place and it was quite good. Nothing to write home about, but it was decent food for good prices.
All in all, this was a good simple hotel which is great value if you plan to spend your days outside the hotel. As we had a scooter for the whole time, we were gone throughout the day and the facilities of Orchid House were enough. But if we had planned to spend more time in the hotel room or on the hotel grounds, then Orchid might be a little too basic.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daphne85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.0 mi away
The Beach Boutique House
The Beach Boutique House
#43 of 55 in Kata Beach
268 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Beach Heights Resort
The Beach Heights Resort
#30 of 55 in Kata Beach
232 reviews
0.0 mi away
The BluEco Hotel
The BluEco Hotel
#19 of 65 in Kata Beach
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Karon Living Room
Karon Living Room
#11 of 156 in Karon
206 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kata Blue Sea Resort
Kata Blue Sea Resort
#18 of 156 in Karon
117 reviews
1.8 mi away
Karon Whale Resort Phuket
Karon Whale Resort Phuket
#110 of 136 in Karon
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchid House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchid House

Address: 98/119-120 Kata Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Kata Beach
Price Range: $23 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Orchid House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Orchid House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orchid House Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing