We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Orchid House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Orchid House
Ranked #14 of 60 Kata Beach B&B and Inns
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We moved from a large hotel to this small, family-run guest house and were delighted with it and cannot recommend it too highly. The staff were always friendly and attentive, the place was spotlessly clean, breakfast freshly cooked and excellent. I have stayed in a lot of 4 and 5 star hotels but this was far better and much cheaper also. Although there was a 10 minute walk to the beach it is set in a peaceful cul de sac but close to the bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jandmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    26
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
27
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

This new small hotel has very clean spacious rooms with fridge, a/c, wi-fi, large lcd-tv, use of two pools and balcony or large terrace. Rooms are cleaned daily and you can rent beach towels at the reception -for free. They also organize all kind of trips, rentals, transfers cheaper than tourist agencies. Staff is truly very friendly and helpful. Beach is five minutes walk away. Food in restaurant is excellent. We stayed at Orchid House for 10 days so the only little downsize was the same same breakfast every day. Totally recommended.

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra baht go for room with large terrace. the terrace is huge with sun chairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nenad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights over Christmas. The rooms are very clean, staff very friendly and helpfully. The lady at reception booked our boat to koh lanta and it was cheaper than other places quoted. There is a choice of 2 pools to use, 1st one next door and 2nd pool in hotel opposite. 1st pool is shared with another hotel in same building. Both hotels are small, not large resorts. Food in restaurant was very nice and breakfast was served till 10.30am. We Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

This brand new hotel on the Beach Center Complex is furnished to a very high standard , is spotlessly clean and very, very comfortable. The bedrooms are quite spacious and a small lovely balcony adds to its appeal. Wifi and a public access computer available. Breakfast is a choice from the menu and is served at table. The standard of breakfast is very high and better than most nearby restaurants. This hotel was excellent value for money, nearly half the price of a nearby hotel we stayed at for 3 nights when you include breakfast and many times better in all departments. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PCRUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
#30 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Beach Boutique House
The Beach Boutique House
#40 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.0 mi away
Capannina Inn
Capannina Inn
#44 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Phuket Chaba Hotel
Phuket Chaba Hotel
#46 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Beach Heights Resort
The Beach Heights Resort
#32 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kata Country House
Kata Country House
#34 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchid House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchid House

Property: The Orchid House
Address: 98/119-120 Kata Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Orchid House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Orchid House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orchid House Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing