We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice experience”
Review of Capannina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Capannina Inn
Ranked #45 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Kfar Tavor, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“a nice experience”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

we spent two weeks in the hotel an are very happy with the experience
Nice room in the second floor with balcony,
Very good breakfast with italian cofee, fruits, eggs and bacon and very good croissant.
EXCELENT service, also at the reception with two girls trying to help you all the time .
Rooms where clean early in the morning while having breakfast.
there is a small swimming pool on the 3rd floor with a jacuzzi next to it.
in conclusion we are for sure going back to the place.

Room Tip: they are bilding a new group of rooms better than the old ones, if not I recomend the rooms with a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    36
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
14
51
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We have stayed here 5 times now. It's a good location and quiet as away from the main road but walking distance to the beach.
The rooms are clean (though avoid the internal rooms without windows) and the staff have always been very helpful and good.
The restaurant opened last week (they have another restaurant in Kata Beach too) and the food is terrific. The pizza - well my best since being in Italy and the freshly made pasta teeming with filling and such high quality ingredients. The chef is 'mein host' and is keen to ensure that everything is up to his high standards.
We're going back again on our next trip... so suffice to say we recommend the hotel and the restaurant.
Breakfast is simple and the coffee - well it's Illy coffee, so very good.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony rather than the 'inside' rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed for just one night at Capannina Inn after doing some of the islands surrounding it before heading back to Bangkok. The hotel was clean, air conditioning worked well, and the room was a decent size. We did not go down for breakfast so I cannot speak about that. Overall the hotel was perfectly fine, nothing special. Although they have a tuk tuk that can take you to the beach, it is not super close to the hotel, and our taxi driver had a very difficult time finding it as I think it is relatively new and is tucked away. I think there are probably cheaper options with the same amenities that can be found in Phuket.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winnipeg1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We travel regularly, and decided to come to Thailand, Phuket for a 10 day break. After lots of Thai flavours- we craved something clean and simple! What better than Italian food. We asked our phenomenal hotel for a recommendation- The Shore at Katathani, and was recommended this restaurant. What an awesome lunch experience. The staff were friendly, welcoming and knowledgable. Fabio, a true Italian recommended great wines. Mario the owner and chef was happy to adjust menu choices slightly to suite out needs. The focaccia was a lovely flavour and crisp, salad fresh. Main of Vongole and Ragu Penne was amazing. Clean Italian flavours- excellent al dente pasta. Great wine. Highly recommended restaurant for anyone visiting this Beautiful Island!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jacquiandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slap, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

FACTS
Positive:
* quiet location
* free tuk tuk service to the beach
* big and well equiped room
* free wi fi
* rooftop swimingpool

Negative:
* breakfast is not good for a four star hotel
* breakfast is served in unfinished restaurant
* no elevator (hotel has three floors)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tincek_757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Originally booked a family room on booking.com for a very reasonable price. Upon arriving at the hotel and checking into our room, we found the room to be huge. So big in fact that we could've lived in it for a month. We spoke to the check in lady and she helped us downgrade our room to a smaller one without a view for a cheaper price too, now thats a deal.

The rooms were very clean, bed sheets were perfect, A/C worked great, bathrooms were large, bath towels and beach towels were supplied. And to top things off our own expresso maker in the room. Television with approximately 80 channels, 5-10 english channels.

The hotel is about a 10-15 minute walk to Kata Beach which we did one day. We felt like a break from the crowds and sand and used the roof top pool for three days. Perfect size pool and nobody but us were up there for 3 days. Pool was very convenient as well, as it was only a 15 second walk back to our room to use the bathroom or to get drinks from our fridge. An amazing three days were spent sunbathing and relaxing on the roof.

The hotel has a newer section and an older section. The large room we originally saw was very nice with brand new furniture and fixtures. But even the older room we stayed in was very modern and well maintained.

Only complaint while there was because the hallways and rooms are all ceramic flooring, noise in the hallways travels long distances and echoes. If you plan on sleeping in, in the mornings get ear plugs if you arent a heavy sleeper. Other then that the place is a steal for the price we paid.

They offer a free tuk tuk service to the beach and to their restaurant which is located about 5 minutes away or a 20 minute walk south along Kata Beach.

We had dinner at their restaurant the first night which is tucked away from the street and noise. The food was authentic and fresh and the portions were large. Service and atmosphere were also very good.

Breakfast in the morning was quite good. A selection of fresh baked goods, fruit and yogurt are available as well as the best lattes we've had pretty much anywhere.

I could see us coming back here and staying with the family for 2 weeks in the future.

Previous negative reviews are not indicative of what this place is. Well worth the price.

Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We saw more than one room in this hotel and all appeared amazing inside. Some have views others don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brady M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I am very surprised by the past negative reviews, which seem to be in 2011. My wish is to write a current review, to spread the word of what a treasure the Capannina Hotel is! My husband and I arrived in Phuket in mid-June after having dental work in Chiang Mai. We first stayed at another Kata beach hotel that we found on Asia Rooms, just down the road from this Hotel. After spending 2 weeks there, the owner's rates went up and he was not willing to negotiate for a long stay. So, we wandered down the road and asked to look at rooms here. We were thrilled at the facilities: beautiful roof-top pool with jacuzzi with new chaise lounge chairs and tables with umbrellas. It's very peaceful and private, overlooks the local hills and you can hear the surf at night. Our room is immaculate and a good size with a large bathroom and walk in shower. Air-conditioned, it has lots of closet and storage space, shelves, free wifi, flat screen TV with lots of channels (English, Thai, German, French, Russian) and Illy cappuccino/expresso maker in the room. Also a balcony with table and 2 chairs. The perk we enjoy the most is the breakfast that is included. The owner is Italian and has a restaurant in town (which we have not gone to yet). His care for quality shows in the food he serves for breakfast: freshly squeezed orange juice, more Illy cappuccinos, yourghurt, toasted ham and cheese sandwiches, fresh croissants plus fresh fruit, usually watermelon. There is so much food, enough to keep us going until dinner! Rooms are efficiently cleaned while you are enjoying breakfast. Beach towels are given for either the pool and/or beach. Most of the staff speak English well and are very friendly and helpful. The young woman behind the front desk who seems to be the day manager and handles reservations is so welcoming and proficient in English. We were last in Kata Beach 4 years ago and this hotel is located in a new neighborhood that was not here before. It is on a quiet road, just steps away from cafes and a great open market across the road on Mondays and Thursdays, late afternoons until evening. We stock up on fresh fruit, at about half the price of what is offered by the local shops. The beach is about a 10 minute walk. While we are here off-season, it is still a bit crowded but yet this neighborhood is still quiet a night, yet close enough to walk and get a bite to eat. It's at the northern end of Kata Beach area, which is great because every night we walk 30 minutes from here to the end of Karon Beach and back for fitness. Yet, we are close enough to main Kata Beach...so you can really choose either beach and easily walk. The local bus that takes you to Phuket Town stops at the end of the street, and every Wednesday we take it to Central Festival to stock up on provisions and also see a movie (only 90 baht on Weds). So, we are thrilled to have found this wonderful hotel, as we did our research when we first arrived and found many other places to be overpriced, noisy or not clean at all. After 2 weeks at the first place, we were considering relocating to Bang Tao beach area, but so happy we were able to get a great rate and stay here. Check it out, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Hotel is expanding into another wing and installing an elevator, but staff seem happy to show you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jungatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.2 mi away
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
#30 of 56 in Kata Beach
162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kata Country House
Kata Country House
#33 of 56 in Kata Beach
330 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Color Kata
The Color Kata
#49 of 56 in Kata Beach
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rico's Bungalows
Rico's Bungalows
#46 of 56 in Kata Beach
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phuket Chaba Hotel
Phuket Chaba Hotel
#48 of 56 in Kata Beach
284 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kata Resort
The Kata Resort
#7 of 8 in Karon Beach
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capannina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capannina Inn

Property: Capannina Inn
Address: 98/84-85 Kata Rd. | Karon, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Capannina Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Capannina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capannina Inn Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing