We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A fabulous hotel, you'll love staying here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The BluEco Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The BluEco Hotel
Ranked #19 of 58 Kata Beach B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“A fabulous hotel, you'll love staying here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is a very good hotel, made great by the excellent rates.
The location is fabulous, just on the edge of town so very quiet but also a short, flat walk to both the beach and all of the nightlife. Many hotels here are on billygoat hillsides but this one isn't.
Rooms are large and our kingsize bed was huge! (It was also very hard but we still slept well) There are nice little extras like a towel rail on the balcony and they provide a nice clean towel to take to the pool or beach each day. It's a really well managed hotel and it shows. All of the staff are fabulous and friendly and English is spoken quite well by reception.
Breakfast could have a little more variety, two cereals instead of one, more fruit variety but that's getting quite picky. There's very little that you can say against this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    17
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We much preferred staying in Kata as opposed to Patong, it was MUCH quieter but still lots or restaurants, massage places, shops. We also preferred the beach at Kata/Karon as it was quieter and therefore much easier to relax.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms were spotlessly clean.
The cons were exactly what we read from the previous reviews so we knew what to expect - the beds were VERY hard, there is no WIFI in the rooms but there is downstairs in the lobby, the breakfast is very basic and the pool doesn’t get much direct sunlight.
We hired a scooter for the duration of our trip which gave us the freedom to leave for Patong, Central Festival, Big Buddha and so on.
Beach is 10 mins walk, 711i s 4 mins walk, restaurants 5 mins walk, local market 4 mins walk.
Overall we were extremely pleased with the staff and accommodation and would recommend as a low cost option.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sf
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

i really loved my stay here. the staff was super friendly and made breakfast from scratch starting late at night which included thai foods and regular eggs breakfast. the room and bathroom were very clean. there's not a lot of amenities so don't come here thinking it's a resort. i really liked that it was closer to the locals area in kata vs. the touristy areas near the beach, although that was a really short walk.

Room Tip: deluxe with balcony was great. well built hotel so it was super quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dougfromnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I stayed at the Blueco Hotel in February 2012. My best friend chose and booked the hotel for me. In summary, the service was fantastic! My airport transfers and other services booked through the hotel always came on time. The hotel was brand new and very clean. It is on a main road and only 10 mins walk to Kata beach, 15 mins to Karong (which is a lil bit nicer). There are heaps of great restaurants within a thirty second walk. Some downfalls were that the pool was fully shaded, no sun. Also I got a room next to the rooster farm on level 1 at the top of the stairs....needless to say they left the door open a lot and it didn't smell very good. Other than that I loved it and I'd stay there again :-)

Room Tip: If you are staying in Kata it is a great option instead of overly busy Patong. Everything is so clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

New hotel near the beach, friendly staff and good room.. But, didn't like their bed at all... Sooo haaarrrddd!!!
Maybe they think good for body from chinese method. Lol...
Right in front of they hotel there's excellent and perfecto massage!! Cheap, clean, nice staff and amazing finger.
For me its balancing between hard rock bed and relaxing massage :))

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SitiHajar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

This is a new hotel, pretty near from the beach, walk about 10 minutes. Service was excellent. The room itself was average, the bed was very firm! No kidding. The bathroom was small with shower only, but hot water was available. Breakfast just ok, buffet table for toast, cereal and fruit. We had to wait they prepared first if we want bacon and egg. Free internet is a good deal! Overall it's pretty good hotel and recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cecil83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

My partner and I stayed in a standard room with balcony on the 4 - 14th February 2012. The room and bathroom were very clean. Furnishings were modern and the room was quite spacious. There was a DVD player so we could buy videos from Kata and watch in our room. I was 17 weeks pregnant and did find the bed quite hard - Thai's like their beds hard which I was expecting but I did ask reception for something to put under the sheet to make it a bit softer and it was fine. Staff were very friendly and the woman who own's and runs the hotel is lovely and very helpful. We had read through trip advisor regarding this hotel before coming and had seen a review saying ask for a room with a balcony otherwise you might end up with a view of the neighbouring building which is very close and consequently makes the room feel a little bit prison like. We asked for a balcony but we still ended up facing the opposite buiding. It wasn't a big deal for us though as we didn't spend much time in the room during the day. I'm sure we would have been accommodated if we had asked to move but we couldn't be bothered really. I thought the hotel swimming pool was great - very clean and I didn't find it too cold as has been mentioned in other reviews. It was a refreshing break from the heat. There are free towels to use and to take to the beach. The breakfast wasn't brilliant - western style scrambled eggs, toast, jam, sausages and beans sometimes. We discovered a brilliant freshfood market just near the hotel where we bought fresh fruit (dragon fruit, bananas, pineapple, mango and watermelon) and made a huge fruit salad for breakfast in the mornings then topped up with a bit of toast from the hotel. To find the market, go out of the hotel and turn left and cross the main road in front of you. Just up on the left you'll find the market. If you cross the road back again you'll find another sort of shack like shop which sells cutting boards, knives, bowls and cuttlery etc. The fruit is excellent. There are electronic safes in the rooms and free internet for use in reception area. The hotel is really well located in that there are restaurants, 7-11's, atms all just a couple of minutes away. It's a 10 minute walk to the beach and at night there's a great atmosphere walking down through to the main Kata area. Kata beach is very busy and not really our cup of tea so we would get a tuk tuk to the southern end of Kata Noi beach (next beach south of Kata) about 200 baht. We really liked Kata Noi as it wasn't as busy and you can do a bit of snorkelling off the beach. Grab a beach chair and an umbrella for 100 baht each for the day - sooooooooooooooooooooooo relaxing! Just find a chair and a guy will come up and collect the money from you. I would definately recommend the BluEco Hotel - just remember its not a luxury resort but for a three star hotel its really clean, comfortable, friendly and really well positioned for shops, restaurants and beach. Also, we did get an airport pick up when we arrived. Our driver was lovely and waiting for us when we arrived a bit late. A great stay. Oh and you get two bottles of water everyday.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room that doesn't face the building opposite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank See_Zebra_say_Horse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.2 mi away
The Melody Phuket
The Melody Phuket
#19 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Beach Boutique House
The Beach Boutique House
#37 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
#39 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
ibis Phuket Kata
ibis Phuket Kata
#28 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phuket Chaba Hotel
Phuket Chaba Hotel
#41 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Honey Resort
Honey Resort
#88 of 129 in Karon
4.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The BluEco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The BluEco Hotel

Property: The BluEco Hotel
Address: 100 / 75 Kata New Rd, Karon | Muang, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The BluEco Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The BluEco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The BluEco Hotel Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing