We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stellar stay right near the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phuket Kata Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phuket Kata Resort
Ranked #32 of 57 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Stellar stay right near the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My friend and I stayed here in May 2013, the beginning of "low season" we got a great rate ($47/night) on a nice room by the pool. The room was clean and comfy and the bathroom was great with an indoor and outdoor shower, the only problem was mosquitos were coming in thru a crack under the outdoor shower door:( TV, fridge and nice decor and the maid service was good. The hotel staff were mostly friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffett (included) was over the top, with fruit, and several different types of hot food etc and decent coffee. There were several resident cats that roamed the place, including some kittens, which I really enjoyed. The location of the hotel can't be beat, right on the main street but set way back so you avoid the noise. They have some games and books, and an internet room which was 100bhat per hour to use the net. This place was high quality and I thought the price and location were great.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back will have less people walking by at night etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    66
    25
    5
    4
See reviews for
43
53
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sesto Fiorentino, Italy
Level Contributor
128 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Hotel has all comforts! Very large and very clean room! A breathtaking view from the windows to the sea! A very rich and varied buffet!! All good! All nice! All comfortable!! At only two step by the beach!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Dott_Pk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Well, the hotel was great - the highlight for me was the bacon! Delicious (as was the whole breakfast)
The room (pool access) was fairly big, and was capable of sleeping 4 people in comfort, via pull-out beds. The pool was long and interestingly shaped, although it was narrow, so it was difficult to open the curtains and maintain privacy.
It's fairly close to Kata beach, which is clean, has lovely fine golden sand and plenty of waves to surf/jump into/be washed away by.
While most of the staff were fairly friendly, many of them didn't understand English or Thai (and, my wife is Thai, she had to speak to some of them in English!) We also had to take all of our luggage to the room ourselves - there's no porter service at all!
I have been coming to Phuket for over 10 years, and I have noticed in the last 2-3 that the majority of people are now Russian, Chinese and "non-Thai workers"
Unfortunately the "local" people aren't friendly on the whole - service is quite poor across the board and some of the people who work on the beach are downright aggressive.
It's still possible to buy great, authentic cheap food from places like Rawai, but for the most part Phuket is now vastly overpriced and has been ruined by foreign businesses and employees with no skill or interest in providing service. You can get a nice cheap hotel, but to enjoy a good cheap authentic meal, be provided good service, travel around the island for a reasonable price - good luck with that!

Nice hotel, but go to Khao Lak instead!!!

Room Tip: The pool access rooms are a good size, but you may lose a bit of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Γλυφάδα, Ελλάδα
Level Contributor
120 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Kata beach was a fantastic hotel. I had a huge room and a huge balcony that looked directly to the hotel's pool. A/c was strong (it had to be) and the hotel food was just amazing! Breakfast was unforgettable!!!
People very friendly and it looked very clean.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foskla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The hotel is located in an amazing beach, the restaurant is nice, good breakfast but the rooms are a little bit dated.
Lots of action close to the hotel, if you are searching for a calm place without too many people, this could be a deception, otherwise I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Funfunfun13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed about a week.

The reception staff were a little unfriendly when I arrived, spoke very little English and seemed a bit stiff. Nobody offered to help carry my luggage, I was simply led to my room, handed the keys, and left alone.

The room was reasonably spacious, as was the bathroom except for the broken handwash tap. Air conditioner was ok, a remote control would have been nice though. The main light seemed to be connected in series with the AC so had to sleep at night with a light on. No bed bugs but tons of Mosquitos and a little cockroach or two. Spacious cupboard with working safe. Disappointing CRT TV; flat panels should be standard in this day and age. Wifi is not free but the hotel next door has some signal on the left side of the hotel (kata poolside resort) which is totally free and not password protected, but rather slow.

Huge pool, clean, nice swim-up pool and loads of poolside beds. The swim-up pool is the single best feature of the hotel. The bar man Mathawee was quite friendly. The restaurant manager a little surly though.

Well-situated close to the beach and shops. The raw sewerage smell sometimes wafts over the hotel though.

Pricing was not particularly good for a 3 star hotel (THB 4200/n).

Overall, not a bad experience. I might have recommended it if it was cheaper.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZATrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

it my 1st time to phuket: m glad to choose phuket kata resort after plenty of research. Beside the norms when travel in Thailand: mosquitoes & poor English, the location is great! nice restaurents,cafes,cheap street food and spa nearby: 5min walk to beautiful kata beach.only disappointment is non-thai staff working at shops,most of them are rude and it really spoilt mood of shopping spirit.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Kata Country House
Kata Country House
#33 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 262 reviews
0.1 mi away
PGS Casa Del Sol Hotel
PGS Casa Del Sol Hotel
#30 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
#22 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
#19 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#16 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 648 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#14 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Kata Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Kata Resort

Property: Phuket Kata Resort
Address: 30/9 Kata Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Phuket Kata Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phuket Kata Resort presents a very comfortable, quiet and clean resort just 300 meters from the famous Kata beach. The comfort Phuket Kata Resort offers 104 rooms, and one pool side view suite. Central to our resort is a beautiful swimming pool. Phuket Kata Resort Quiet, Clean & Very Reasonable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, ETB and Odigeo so you can book your Phuket Kata Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phuket Kata Resort Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing