We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good hotel. Great breakfast. Nice beach. Horrible "locals"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phuket Kata Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Phuket Kata Resort
Ranked #30 of 57 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good hotel. Great breakfast. Nice beach. Horrible "locals"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Well, the hotel was great - the highlight for me was the bacon! Delicious (as was the whole breakfast)
The room (pool access) was fairly big, and was capable of sleeping 4 people in comfort, via pull-out beds. The pool was long and interestingly shaped, although it was narrow, so it was difficult to open the curtains and maintain privacy.
It's fairly close to Kata beach, which is clean, has lovely fine golden sand and plenty of waves to surf/jump into/be washed away by.
While most of the staff were fairly friendly, many of them didn't understand English or Thai (and, my wife is Thai, she had to speak to some of them in English!) We also had to take all of our luggage to the room ourselves - there's no porter service at all!
I have been coming to Phuket for over 10 years, and I have noticed in the last 2-3 that the majority of people are now Russian, Chinese and "non-Thai workers"
Unfortunately the "local" people aren't friendly on the whole - service is quite poor across the board and some of the people who work on the beach are downright aggressive.
It's still possible to buy great, authentic cheap food from places like Rawai, but for the most part Phuket is now vastly overpriced and has been ruined by foreign businesses and employees with no skill or interest in providing service. You can get a nice cheap hotel, but to enjoy a good cheap authentic meal, be provided good service, travel around the island for a reasonable price - good luck with that!

Nice hotel, but go to Khao Lak instead!!!

Room Tip: The pool access rooms are a good size, but you may lose a bit of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    74
    26
    5
    5
See reviews for
52
61
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Γλυφάδα, Ελλάδα
Level Contributor
123 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Kata beach was a fantastic hotel. I had a huge room and a huge balcony that looked directly to the hotel's pool. A/c was strong (it had to be) and the hotel food was just amazing! Breakfast was unforgettable!!!
People very friendly and it looked very clean.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foskla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

The hotel is located in an amazing beach, the restaurant is nice, good breakfast but the rooms are a little bit dated.
Lots of action close to the hotel, if you are searching for a calm place without too many people, this could be a deception, otherwise I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Funfunfun13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed about a week.

The reception staff were a little unfriendly when I arrived, spoke very little English and seemed a bit stiff. Nobody offered to help carry my luggage, I was simply led to my room, handed the keys, and left alone.

The room was reasonably spacious, as was the bathroom except for the broken handwash tap. Air conditioner was ok, a remote control would have been nice though. The main light seemed to be connected in series with the AC so had to sleep at night with a light on. No bed bugs but tons of Mosquitos and a little cockroach or two. Spacious cupboard with working safe. Disappointing CRT TV; flat panels should be standard in this day and age. Wifi is not free but the hotel next door has some signal on the left side of the hotel (kata poolside resort) which is totally free and not password protected, but rather slow.

Huge pool, clean, nice swim-up pool and loads of poolside beds. The swim-up pool is the single best feature of the hotel. The bar man Mathawee was quite friendly. The restaurant manager a little surly though.

Well-situated close to the beach and shops. The raw sewerage smell sometimes wafts over the hotel though.

Pricing was not particularly good for a 3 star hotel (THB 4200/n).

Overall, not a bad experience. I might have recommended it if it was cheaper.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZATrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

it my 1st time to phuket: m glad to choose phuket kata resort after plenty of research. Beside the norms when travel in Thailand: mosquitoes & poor English, the location is great! nice restaurents,cafes,cheap street food and spa nearby: 5min walk to beautiful kata beach.only disappointment is non-thai staff working at shops,most of them are rude and it really spoilt mood of shopping spirit.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We really enjoyd this hotel and its very nice pool area. We had a pool access from our room, but althought it was nice, our room was located so that the terass was in the shadow all day long and therefore we didint really enjoy this option as much as we would have been wanted. Nevertheless, Phuket Kata Resort is a lovely, peacefull place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miamariamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We visited Phuket in october and the weather pleasant the hotel is bit away from the town but the Kata beach is really nice, much better than the croweded ones in Phuket.
The Pool Bar is quite a treat, The hotel has decent rooms but the room serrvice is bit sluggish, The food is good and they have activities planned out for kids which really means a lot to family like ours with a small kid (Son is 4)

Room Tip: Try take a room with a direct pool access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nidhijena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
PGS Casa Del Sol Hotel
PGS Casa Del Sol Hotel
#36 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
#24 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#10 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#11 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#16 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
#26 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Kata Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Kata Resort

Property: Phuket Kata Resort
Address: 30/9 Kata Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Phuket Kata Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phuket Kata Resort presents a very comfortable, quiet and clean resort just 300 meters from the famous Kata beach. The comfort Phuket Kata Resort offers 104 rooms, and one pool side view suite. Central to our resort is a beautiful swimming pool. Phuket Kata Resort Quiet, Clean & Very Reasonable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, HRS and Booking.com so you can book your Phuket Kata Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phuket Kata Resort Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing