We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value Hotel in Low Season”
Review of Phuket Kata Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phuket Kata Resort
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed here last October (yes its taken me a little while to write my review). We got a pool access room for 1100 baht a night which was an absolute bargain! The room was lovely, large and roomy bathroom with a little balcony straight into the pool. Breakfast was included and great (just stay away from the bain marie items). The only thing my boyfriend and I ate different on the trip was the breakfast buffet (I forgot to warn him about Thai breakfast buffets). I stuck to the fruit, cereal, toast etc but he got stuck into the noodles etc that had been sitting there all morning.. 24 hours later he was violently ill from both ends! No criticism on the resort as a whole as this can happen anywhere!

Positives: bargain hotel, swim up bar, pool access rooms, tucked away from main road
Negatives: not the best customer service, avoid the bain marie food at breakfast

Would I stay there again? Yes if I wanted to be in Kata area and it was low season ABSOLUTELY... Would I pay high season price for this resort? No....

Room Tip: Pool access definitely the best!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wanderlust_Tarrants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
There are newer reviews for Phuket Kata Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 201 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2012

After a big disappointment in Merlin, Khao Lak, we moved to Phuket Kata Reort, which turned out to be a wonderful resort. We chose a room with a direct access to the pool, which can be highly recommended. The room was big, nice, bright, clean and had a double bed and 2 single beds. Nice bathroom. Perfect for a family of 4. There is a small terrace with table, chairs and sun beds.

The resort is only 5 min. away from the beach, and 2 min. from shopping and the main street, but still tucked away, so there is no noice or hassle from the night life.

The staff/receptionist were so nice, helpful, and smiled all the time.

The breakfast was good with their own egg station.

The pools were nice, there are sun beds all way around, and was never over-crowded.

A wonderful place for a family!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jeremy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Common 3-star hotell, a little dated. Booked a room with direct pool access. It also had a direct view on the neighbours a few meters across the pool. The pool water was quite cold. Breakfast ok. Two extra beds in the room: a sofa/bed with an extra mattrass under! Good if you travel with kids. Fridge. Bathroom ok with spacious shower. New Years Eve dinner rather disappointing with strange food. We grabbed our taxfree champagne and a couple of beers and went down to the beach instead. Reception asked when we were going to leave the room, because we had a very early departure. When we then opened the door one from the staff waited there and took our bags to the bus! We became very happy, because otherwise the service was limping at restaurants and other places.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RunningAround42195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Three positives are great location (near everything and short stroll to beach), fabulous pool that is not overcrowded, nice reception building in grand traditional Thai architectural style.

Now the negatives. The rooms are tired and appear to have been renovated some 30 years ago (they are bungalow style with entry from the garden). It felt as if we were on a camping holiday, with basic facilities. The room was not particularly dirty, but the sheet was stained, as were the floors and shower. The shower drain outlet was at a high point, so the water on the floor never drains, which I felt was unhygienic and the worst aspect of the room. The shower head had basically two thin water streams and it was almost impossible to rinse yourself. There were many cockroaches around the hotel and room, but I guess that is a feature of Phuket. The aircon could only run one speed, but I managed to turn the airflow away from the bed, to allow some shut-eye. The room safe did not work, but they fixed it, after working on it for three days. It is one of those hotels with lack of toilet privacy, with no door to close.

It appears that the hotel is popular with Scandinavians. Taxi drivers do not know the hotel, but you can say it is opposite the Khata Phuket Resort (sounds the same, but is not!). There is also a major taxi rank in front, which is convenient for getting around.

Room cleanliness and bathroom facilities are most important to me, so I gave it a low overall score. I won't be back at the Phuket Kata Resort, but my impression is that Phuket lacks fresh, clean accommodation, at least under 7000 Baht a night.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank magentamask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Was not very happy about the staff - arrived late at night, instead of a double room was given a twin, was moved to a twin room only after a bit of arguing with them. The double room was spacious, clean and nice. Breakfast was plentiful, fresh and tasty. Despite the positives I think that the hotel is quite overprised.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LamLha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

If you're looking for a Clean,Quiet and affordable place to stay at while in Phuket, look no further. Taxi from the airport costs 500 baht including the airport surcharge. The hotel is just 150 meters away from the beach and I highly recommend it. It is ideal for families with children as well as couples. We stayed here in a superior room last November and we loved it. The room was spacious with a king sized bed, an extra day bed and bathroom with two showers (indoor/outdoor). The huge pool was just a few steps outside our room and it was very clean. Breakfast buffet was sufficient providing continental as well as local cuisine. The hotel staff were very kind. Shopping area and restaurants just outside and around the hotel. You can also book tours right outside the hotel, Phuket1 tour, which i found to be the cheapest among the tour shops in the area (under the sign that says "TO THE BEACH" you wont miss it) look for Mor'n. Great Thai massage available at Phu which is just on the adjacent street to the left of the hotel. The Shuttle bus terminal going to old Phuket town where cheap souvenirs can be bought is 100 meters away.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BinoMetroManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

During August we spent a few nights at Phuket Kata Resort in a deluxe pool access room with breakfast for 1100baht ($35), we booked this hotel through booking.com - great rates during low season! The only reason we stayed here was so we could have a couple of nights out with friends from Phuket Scuba Club, it was cheaper staying in a hotel than travelling there & back by tuk tuk!!

(Do not confuse this hotel with Kata Resort, I think the review by norman is for that hotel as Phuket Kata Resort is NOT on the beach!!)

All of the rooms around the huge green tiled pool are deluxe pool access rooms. The rooms are nice & big, very clean, bathroom is also big, staff are helpful & friendly& there is access to the pool from your balcony. I would class this as a very good 3 star hotel.

It was also good to see 2 lots of info in the hotel folder with warnings re swimming at the beach during low season due to strong currents etc. There is also another huge swimming pool with little spa areas and sun beds set in the water plus a pool bar! The buffet breakfast was a nice surprise, lots of choices and everything was hot.

The hotel has secure parking and is in a fantastic location. Straight out of reception is Capanninis restaurant and lots of shopping. The beach is a 5 minute walk away.

We really enjoyed our stay at Phuket Kata Resort & will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cathy&Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Kata Poolside Resort
Kata Poolside Resort
#41 of 56 in Kata Beach
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#15 of 56 in Kata Beach
994 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rico's Bungalows
Rico's Bungalows
#44 of 56 in Kata Beach
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
#22 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
#27 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Flora Resort
Chanalai Flora Resort
#14 of 56 in Kata Beach
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Kata Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Kata Resort

Address: 30/9 Kata Road | Karon, Muang, Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: $18 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Phuket Kata Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phuket Kata Resort presents a very comfortable, quiet and clean resort just 300 meters from the famous Kata beach. The comfort Phuket Kata Resort offers 104 rooms, and one pool side view suite. Central to our resort is a beautiful swimming pool. Phuket Kata Resort Quiet, Clean & Very Reasonable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Phuket Kata Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phuket Kata Resort Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing