We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to chill out after a busy day”
Review of Ska Bar

Ska Bar
Ranked #21 of 149 Restaurants in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great to chill out after a busy day”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This place is right on the end of the beach, you are able to literally sit over the water. It’s great to relax in the evening, have a beer and a bite to eat. Toilets are clean. Not very friendly place if you are not 100% on your feet. It has a very calm and relaxed atmosphere where people want to do the same thing....relax. Didn’t see any crime or ever felt in danger. Some advice though I would walk home using the road and not the beach where it is very busy and lit.

I miss this place!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Knot_Today
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    185
    62
    14
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chilled out evening and fabulous lunch”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

During our stay in kata we had drinks in the ska bar on a couple of evenings, they played lots of raggae music and have a great view across the beach. Ideal for watching the sun go down. They do food also and join on to kata seafood. We had lunch there thai red curry and steamed seafood in a coconut enjoyed both and increadably reasonably priced. Coming from the uk I am used to the Mediterranean resorts where owning a restaurant on the beach front is considered to be a right to comit legal extortion This was so much the opposite

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for the cost”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This places great for a beer and bite after a day spent in the surf. We popped in after a surf lesson and had a couple of large singha beers and a couple of curries. It hit the spot.

It also had a very chill vibe and provided a great place to watch the sure roll in at night.

I recommend stopping buy for a cheap meal and beer.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“fab bar right on Kata beach”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We were taken here by a freind who lives in Thailand and weren't disappointed, the atmosphere and music were great, we ate here as well and the food was very good and the view was fab, some kids were doing a fire show which was great to watch!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank suarezlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good ambiance”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This bar makes its money on the fact that it is on the beach and has a rooftop. It plays cool music and is definitely good for relaxing at night! The drinks are a little cheekily priced though. Tip: don't walk home alone. No matter which way you go, it is dark.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cassandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ska Bar also viewed

 
Kata Beach, Karon
 
Kata Beach, Karon
 

Been to Ska Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing