We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ah Yes....our favourite in Kata” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kwong Shop Seafood

Kwong Shop Seafood
Ranked #27 of 148 Restaurants in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Thai, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
636 reviews
321 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,003 helpful votes
“Ah Yes....our favourite in Kata”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

I guess we have eaten in a lot of the restaurants in Kata...I used to live in Chalong...and this for us is one of our favourites.

Mr Kwong and his family run this and run it very well. The daughter is lovely and always remembers us even if after a year. Mr Kwong is very much hands on and goes from table to table to see if everything is OK....OK??? You know what I mean if you have been there!

Fish so fresh it swam in and cooked whatever way you want. You won't be disappointed with any dish here but fish is definitely the thing to eat. You will pay 40 baht a 100gms for snapper, sea bass, etc....so a whole decent fish for two will be about 280-320 baht, or €7-8. Delicious!

Funny thing is the prices are about the best around and the food also the best around. Where all the other restaurants are putting their prices up on a yearly basis Mr Kwong has resisted. I like that.

We will always go back here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harleyclarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    126
    26
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Torrevieja, Spain
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good food, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

OKAY! This place has such a great atmosphere, always busy. Chicken satay is really good. Had steamed sea bass, prawns, spicy Thai chicken, all really good. Ate here 3 times & all wanted to spend our last evening here, can sit inside or outside through the back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank m0liner0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We recently enjoyed our third visit to Thailand and i must say one of the additional reasons we stay at Kata Beach is because we just love this little restaurant! The food is sooooooo delicious at very low prices and we have never experienced ill effects from the food as we have at other restaurants. We always enjoy a whole fish and the general atmosphere. I must admit the service was a little slow and i started to feel annoyed but it was worth the wait. Can't wait to visit this place again and meet up with Mr OOOOOOOOOKKK!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

When I read negative things about this place, I almost get personally upset, because I love this restaurant so much. They have in my mind everything a good restaurant need. Very good food, very reasonable prices, and least and most important, very, very nice family who runs it. We always had good service here, and the crab they make is out of this world. We go here almost every night. We have recommended it to to different families in our hotel, and we keep seeing them coming back too! They are the best. Thank you!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bente S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“nice, friendly, cheap (and fresh fish well cooked)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

In this tavern-like restaurant you can eat fresh fish at will and spend little, in a nice atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vale W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kwong Shop Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Kwong Shop Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing