We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect digs for diver training”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rumblefish Adventure
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I stayed at Rumblefish for 2 nights/3 days while doing rescue diver training and had a great time. The diver training/accommodation package is a bargain and perfect for getting up early and into the water as well as staying up for studies with the DVD lounge and classroom lessons. We had the blue room with warm showers and clean sheets. We booked last minute but everything was taken care of by the time we arrived and ready to check in and start training immediately. Big thanks to instructor Chris!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lifesnorkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 72 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

Those are the three things I need when traveling. Be it budget all the way, or break the bank. Must be clean, safe and in the right location. This place was all three. The owner accommodated us very last minute in the pouring rain, in the middle of the night. We stayed in the mixed dorm, which I NEVER do. But all the people were friendly and courteous. Not a party place, fine by me. I prefer to do my partying elsewhere and have a nice quiet place to come home to. A+

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeattleOlivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

My wife and I did the PADI Open Water Diver course with Chris as our instructor and loved it so much that we did the Advance OWD as well. We did not stay in the hostel but it seemed clean and comfortable. The location is excellent: away from the crowds but close to the beach. Chris was perfect. He made us feel comfortable in the water right away and went above and beyond to make sure we had a great experience. We would dive with Rumblefish again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Nathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Nice place! Stumbled by the place during the new years. The owners managed find a bed in the hostel and a dive trip for me! The hostel is clean and off the busy streets which makes it very quiet and its nice to chill out by the side alley with the benches and table. U get a relief from the sun Since its between two buildings!

It's a little hard to find the location so do make sure u get the directions right!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b00nZe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

My teens 13 and 14 year olds have just completed their scuba diving courses with Thien (a PADI course director) and his team at ScubaTuna, Kata Beach, Phuket. They had a very good first experience to the wonders of the ocean! The instruction they received was first-rate, professional and enjoyable. Thein was hands-on and watchful over the details of their course, from the PADI academics to the practical. Prior to arriving, Thien had a watch over their on-line academic progress and that same attention to detail continued throughout their three days with him and the well-supervised and qualified team. He was quick to adapt the instruction to the differing abilities of my children. The dive equipment was of high standard and every activity was well planned for. The dive center (which is modern, very clean and organised and has accommodation options) is well-located with the pier and beaches all within close distance making logistics a breeze. Thein and team were always approachable and also accommodated for my husband to have dives both with the kids and also, separately. Thein runs the operations with a passion for the sport and the staff share the same passion and warmth. We were also given great dining recommendations along the way. This is the most professionally run dive centre in our experience of diving and would highly recommend it!

Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
Thank caramelandfrappe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

great hostel, friendly atmosphere, lovely owners and staff, incredible clean rooms, perfect location,

thank you so much for making our trip to Phuket perfect!!

book this place!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nathan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

One of the main attractions in Phuket is scuba diving and I have found no better dive center than Rumblefish. Not only are they very friendly and professional, I have found their prices very fair.

One of the most important things to look for when booking dive trips is whether or not the dive center is looking out for you and ensuring you a quality, comfortable experience or whether they are simply looking out for their own bottom line. In my experience with Rumblefish, their priority is providing a comfortable, enjoyable experience for divers.

When it comes to PADI courses, you'd be crazy to go anywhere else -- period. Thian, the managing director of Rumblefish is a PADI course director and he is always at the dive center and is easily approachable. All the instructors at Rumblefish are under his drect supervision and virtually all of them have been trained by him personally to the highest standards. I know of no other dive operation in Phuket where you have a course director on site who is actively engaged in diver education and whose wealth of experience and knowledge are at your disposal.

Almost every other course director I have seen only care about instructor education and for those taking entry-level dive courses they could usually care less. Not at Rumblefish! Personally, I wouldn't dive anyplace else in Phuket. Ever.

1  Thank gdbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Fin Hostel Co: Working
Fin Hostel Co: Working
#32 of 57 in Kata Beach
3 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Camp Hostel Kata Beach
The Camp Hostel Kata Beach
#41 of 57 in Kata Beach
25 reviews
0 mi away
Jinta Andaman
Jinta Andaman
#17 of 57 in Kata Beach
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#9 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,294 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa e Mare
Casa e Mare
#1 of 56 in Kata Beach
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Beach Boutique House
The Beach Boutique House
#40 of 56 in Kata Beach
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumblefish Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumblefish Adventure

Address: 98/79 Kata Road, The Beach Center | Mueang Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Kata Beach
Price Range: $13 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is for Reviews of the SCUBA DIVING PADI % STAR CENTER (not the hostel). Located just down the street from Phuket's beautiful Kata Beach, Rumblefish Adventure is a PADI 5 Star Instructor Development Dive Center. From our Scuba Diving Facility inside THE BEACH CENTER, you are just 1-2 minutes stroll to Kata central area (open air market, shops, pharmacies, convenient stores, laundry & many local & international restaurants), and local bus stops to Phuket Town. Kata Reef, one of Asia's best shore dive sites, is just 5 minutes walk from our Dive Center. We customize All-inclusive PADI dive training, Dive Packages, Special diving trips with highest safety standard and personal attention, with our local experienced instructors and divemasters as your guides. Accommodation, Airport & local transportation and land-based tour recommendations are available to make your trip-planning easy and fun. We speak English, German, Chinese Mandarin, Thais, Vietnamese, Korean, French and Finnish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Rumblefish Adventure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumblefish Adventure Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing