We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing place not enough stars to rate it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Shore at Katathani
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“What an amazing place not enough stars to rate it”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here in May when we got married we couldn't fault anything the staff the service the food the accommodation it was sheer heaven they went over and above to make our stay and wedding magical nothing was too much trouble we will return one day for sure thank you so much the wickhams

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tubbies74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Manager at The Shore at Katathani, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Wickham,

Thank you very much for your magical review. It was also a pleasure to have you had here with us at The Shore.
I am also happy that you mentioned our staff, service, the food and the accommodation and that you feel like in heaven.
We wish you a good time back home, and we all hope to welcome you back "aShore" in the near future for another amazing stay!

Yours sincerely

Resort Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,002
    160
    43
    9
    8
See reviews for
69
985
18
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here and the view was probably the best we've had or ever likely to have. We stayed in 8871 in lobster Alley and the view was simply breath taking. The service was also very good and the staff very friendly.
On the not so good. I was not overly fussed on how open the resort was and how you shared facilities and restaurants with the sister resorts. Which is not a big deal I don't suppose. We ate at the Royal Thai restaurant and have to say it was pretty average. The chicken in my main was dry and cold but I got on with it because it was near closing and as it was our first night, so in a good mood.
The infinity pool in our ocean view villa was fantastic but it was a little cool for our liking. We spent a couple of days and a couple of tries with the reception team around how you heat it. First we where told put the air con on 25 then when that didn't work try 22, the third time they sent maintenance who put it on 16 ! That seemed to work but only for half an hour and even then only 'bearable' to get in.
Advice to hotel is have a separate pool switch independent to the Air con, clearly we're not the only ones who've had this problem.
Overall we also felt the resort lacked that 'luxury touch' for the price.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cavemanspaceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Manager at The Shore at Katathani, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Cavemanspaceman,

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know your experience of the last couple of days spent here at the Shore. I am really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you find the view from your Villa breathtaking, indeed it is amazing. Thank you also for your kind compliments towards our staff and the service provided. However I am really sorry about the problems you encountered with the heater system. We follow the green policy which integrates the air-conditioning and heating system in one unit. I have instructed our engineering team to check the heating system to ensure that it will work up to the guest liking. Kindly be informed that guests staying at The Shore can have access to any facilities in our sister hotel as an extra benefit. This is one of our advantages which you could not find in any other luxury resort. However, I will pass on your comment to the Executive Chef at Katathani regarding the Thai food. I wish you a good time back home, and we all hope to welcome you back "aShore" in the near future for another great stay!

Yours sincerely

Resort Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

It is my first time visiting Phuket, I planned for a 10 days holiday. During my visit, i have stayed in a 4 hotels, The Shore was the last one of them,where I have spent the most amazing 4 nights.
I don't know from where I will start and where I will end.
First of all, the hotel location is perfect, where its near for everything you want to be.
The hotel room was so much beautiful with an amazing sea view,so clean and while organized.
Also, the hotel service was unbelievably,so friendly and helpful,ones you call they will be there for you . Secondly, you have many choices of restaurant's, the food is so delicious.

In the end, I can say you don't need to leave the hotel during your stay.

Finally i would like to thank the manager and all the staff at the Shore Hotel for the job they are doing to keep the place and the visitor have their dream holiday.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank iajaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Manager at The Shore at Katathani, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear iajaji,
Thank you very much for taking your time and give us this special review.
I am really happy, that you fully enjoyed your time here at The Shore.
Thank you also for your kind compliments towards all our staff.
We wish you a good time back home, and we all hope to welcome you back "aShore" in the near future for another amazing stay!

Yours sincerely

Resort Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Staying for 4 nights at 8852
Magnificent view of the kata noi beach
Struggling everyday to get hot water due to the connection between the air con and the hot water system! One staff advised to turn the air con to 22 degrees and other advised 15 degrees! On the last day, could not get hot water at all, rang up and was told room service would be up in 15m, waited for 30 minutes nothing-rang back and was told they disconnected the interrelated system between aircon and hot water! What THE!? Shouldn't they do that already when we advised we like hot water shower?
The room is on the top part of the hillside, you need the buggy transportation almost every time! On the rainy night, after a few cocktails it is so difficult when the buggy dropped us a 2 floors of wet wooden steps in the rain as the road was too wet to get close to the room!
The private pool is lovely but it's in the shade and its always cold
The outdoor sitting area never get wiped clean after the rain
Tea was provided with 1 bag each type
No milk was provided
Friendly staffs but service level is inconsistent
Overall not great value for money considering luxury resort

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank t2lae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Manager at The Shore at Katathani, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear t2lae,

Thank you for your review. I am glad to read that you find the view from your villa magnificent and our staff friendly. However I am really sorry about the problems you encountered with the heater system. We follow the green policy which integrates the air-conditioning and heating system in one unit and we rarely experience any problem with it. Nevertheless after your comment, our engineering team has now ensured that it is working fine in every unit. Kindly be informed that guests staying at The Shore can have access to any facilities in our sister hotel as an extra benefit. This is one of our advantages which you could not find in any other luxury resort. Regarding the tea provided in the villa, we would have been more than happy to provide you immediately with more tea or coffee up on your request. In addition, let me clarify that we do provide a small pack of milk in each villa, closed to the coffee machine. Last but not least, I do apologize that you experienced an inconsistent service level; yet I can assure you this is not our standard. I hope you will give us another chance in the near future to welcome you back.

Sincerely yours
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This was part of my first wedding anniversary holiday; this was our second location in Phuket during the holiday as Bang Tao Beach was the first stop.
The hotel is just AMAZING, members of hotel staff are very thoughtful and they looked into all the details to make sure our stay was delightful
Room is very comfortable, I just have few comment to make these villas better

1.The Bathroom area needs some sort of cooling (air-condition will be difficult, so a fan will be a quick solution)
2.Controlling the pools temperature, although we were told that this system is installed; we experienced a cold pool

Room Tip: The sea view villas are the best in this property
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Manager at The Shore at Katathani, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Faris A,

Thank you very much for your review.

I am happy to read that you fully enjoyed your wedding anniversary with us.
Thank you also for your positive comments towards our staff.


Thank you for your suggestion regarding a fan in the bathroom area, we will consider it.

I am sorry to hear that your pool has not been warm enough for swimming. I have reported this problem to our Engineering team, and they will recheck the heater system.


WE wish you a good time back home, and we all hope to welcome you back "aShore" in the near future for another amazing stay!

Yours sincerely

Resort Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We have just returned from 14 wonderful nights at The Shore. The sea view villa is exactly as you see it in the pictures - your own piece of paradise! The managers & staff cannot do enough for you. We ran into Managers Sabina and Sven almost every day (Sabina even located a gift for our grandson for us). Room service was punctual and very nice - even a smile when setting up our "meal" of French fries and bread rolls! Our room was tended to every day, often with a surprise left - thank you Jantaree and Pin. The front office desk staff were absolutely delightful - nothing was ever too much trouble - from Sylvia calling with flowers to Jimmy arranging an out of hours tailor appointment! Our last afternoon was spent at a 2 hr spa appointment - wow! - a great way to finish a holiday!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Manager at The Shore at Katathani, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Cindy2707,

Greetings from the Shore.

Thank you very much for your email and your kind and thoughtful comments towards our establishment and our staff. It was also a pleasure for us, to have you had here with us, and we're happy that you had a great stay!

Thank you for your comments towards Silvia, Jimmy, Jantaree and Pin, I will let them know.

I wish you a good time at home, and we all hope to welcome you soon back "aShore"!

Yours sincerely

Resort Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed a few nights here after our wedding at the Katathani, and our only disappointment was that we didn't stay longer! They really have thought of everything here, from the eye masks by the bed, to the turtles you can put on your villa gate depending on what services you need. The rooms are beautiful, and the staff so friendly.
We had a honeymoon dinner organised for the night after our wedding which was supposed to be delivered to our room, and unfortunately it did get forgotten. However after we realised it had been, we made a phone call and within half an hour we arrived down at The Harbour restaurant expecting to just have a dinner there, but the staff had thoughtfully set up a private room complete with candles, flowers and champagne for us! Completely surpassed expectations, and the food was great.
Would most definitely stay again and highly recommend to couples wanting a beautiful retreat.

Room Tip: Absolutely worth paying extra for an ocean view pool villa - that view from your own pool at sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BecDnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Manager at The Shore at Katathani, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear BecDnz
Thank you for your kind review and congratulations on your marriage!
I am glad to hear that your overall stay with us was fantastic. Thank you also for recommend our hotel to other couples!
We are looking forward to welcome you again “aShore” in the near future!
Sincerely yours
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
15.1 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
894 reviews
24.4 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
12.2 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
5.9 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,652 reviews
16.2 mi away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 95 in Thalang District
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shore at Katathani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shore at Katathani

Property: The Shore at Katathani
Address: 14 Kata Noi Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shore at Katathani 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury beachfront pool villa resort on Kata Noi Beach in Phuket, Thailand. This adult only resort is a natural fusion of indoor and outdoor living where time has no meaning beyond the pleasure of every moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Shore at Katathani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shore At Katathani Hotel Kata Beach
The Shore At Katathani Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing