We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for me” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Shore at Katathani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Shore at Katathani
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Not for me”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is the second time I have written this review - as the first was mysteriously not published.

I'll keep it brief.

Beautiful rooms located hillside facing the ocean. The beach is a public beach and was fairly busy. The sister hotel next door is a vast development and has a variety of restaurants and pools that you can use. We walked through the complex and this was not the experience we wanted , so we didnt use any of the facilities.

The staff at The Shore were a mixed bag. Some were very attentive whilst others were disinterested and appeared as though everything was a drag. This was especially true in the restaurant.

I unfortunately had a severe case of food poisoning. I was violently sick for 2 days. Due to further travel arrangements I was given a shot in my backside and was allowed to travel. The breakfast items were covered in flies and the hot food was kept 'warm' only the eggs were cooked to order.

I must say this was a disappointing hotel for me and there are far better hotels in Phuket. I was after a luxury hotel with superb service and food. The Shore failed to deliver for me.

The fact that all the paths were made of concrete gave the place a sterile feel and I only wished they had used more natural materials to soften it up. The rooms were clean but failed to get any sunshine for the majority of the day. This is dependent on the time of year you travel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank neshinoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Manager at The Shore at Katathani, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear neshinoodle,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

I am sorry to hear that you have been sick for 2 days during your stay. Immediately after being made aware of your sickness, we did an investigation and found no records of other guests having similar symptom in the hotel. Please also be informed that our fruits are now covered and we also provide a la carte breakfast for the guests to order in case they do not wish to take any items from the buffet line. Regarding the sunshine, each villa external layout is uniquely positioned; therefore the sun will reach your villa at different times of the day and season. I am sorry that our facilities and service didn’t meet your expectation.
Sincerely yours
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    948
    150
    41
    8
    6
See reviews for
64
928
18
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Loved our stay! When we arrived we were treated to a cocktail and a beautiful traditional (not sure what they are called) wrist flowers.. We were brought to our room by golf cart, which was a little scary because the grounds of this property are pretty steep and it happened to rain the night we arrived. We were brought to the wrong room at first but once we got to our room it was so so beautiful it didn't even matter! The room was beautiful and so so clean. I loved the fact that you could opt for free breakfast served to your room instead of eating in the main pool area!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We have recently returned from The Shore at Katathani and had an amazing time. Our daughter's wedding Reception was held at Seacrets Restaurant during our stay and the whole day was just flawless from start to finish.The location is wonderful, Kata Noi Beach is beautiful and unspoiled and the villas at the Shore are the best accommodation we have ever experienced!We returned to our rooms most evenings to find they had been decorated with flower petals, candles etc - such a lovely touch. This was our first trip to Thailand and will be a very memorable experience for years to come. The staff at both the Shore and Katathani are simply first class- always smiling and so very helpful. We would like to say a special thank you to Pitta for all her help with the wedding and the "golf buggy boys" who transported us up and down to our beautiful villas throughout our stay and were so pleasant with us all. We would also like to mention Nadia and the hairdressing/beauty team for doing such a great job for some of the ladies from the bridal party - we all felt a million dollars on the wedding day!!The food and drinks package we arranged for the wedding reception was first class.Do try Cafe Opera, The Horn Steakhouse and The Fork and Spoon in nearby Kata Beach all are excellent and catered for our large party of 20 without any problem.Will will definitely be returning to Thailand and can't wait to go back to The Shore!

Room Tip: Pool villas at The Shore are fantastic -even better than the brochures Garden rooms facing the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nevgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

After having been to Phuket for the each of the last 4 years,we were looking for a very relaxing holiday this time and having booked the Top advised hotel on tripadvisor and elsewhere our expectation were high. The Shore met and exceeded those expectations.Me and Wife stayed here for 4 nights at the Pool Villa- also called as the Lobster Alley.The villa itself was huge and brilliantly done.The place is so romantic and quite good for honeymooners or romantic couples. The villas are totally private and you wake up every morning to the sight of the ocean. There are some really nice touches, like the little wooden turtle you put outside your villa if you want your room cleaned. The staff are very friendly, helpful and courteous.The pool in-villa is quite nice and you can relax and laze around all day here doing nothing.Only piece of advise, if you get one of the villas at the top of the hill, be ready to sweat as its a good climb if you decide not to take the golf cart....It is quite a walk and kind of drains you out. But then when you do arrive at the villa, the site within and outside makes it worth it. kata beach is probably the best in phuket and the area adjoining the hotel was even better. Very private,clean and secluded.
The only thing if we could complain about is that the breakfast is quite similar every day. There are very few variables and it gets monotonous after 2 days.

Overall the stay was wonderful and we were well taken care off.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are the best as there are no obstructions between the villa and the sea it self. Tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IamWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

The Shore gives you the best view of the beach. We had a Villa same exactly as they show in picture. The place is so romantic best for honeymooners. It is so private and good security, Room service and food are great must try their pasta, pizza and stake. Tried La Scala i like the romantic ambiance and oh they give you a red rose. The staff are enthusiastically friendly, happy, courteous and very helpful. 24/7 buggy service. Breakfast in your own room and also in The Harbour. Breakfast food are all the same everyday bacon, roast beef, eggs, pork, sausage etc. The bed was so comfy they give you a choice of your pillows, they have insect repellants. The beach is clean even though its public and oh be ready to pay 200 bhats for the chairs (sun loungers). Everyday was a wedding day when we stayed there theres always a wedding at the beach. And by the way you don't need to go couple of miles to view point for sunset. You will get the best view of sunset in your room and in the beach with a wine or cocktail in your hands while sitting, relaxing and listening to the waves. over all stay was Great!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanethMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We spent our honeymoon here and I couldn't have wished for a better place. Everything about this place is amazing and we can't wait to go back.

The staff are super friendly and they will even drive you to your room in a golf cart if you don't feel like walking.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

From a 24 hour journey from NYC; the shore made was the best decision my husband and I made. The best beach ever! Private with security gives you comfort of safe. The room we stayed was the sea view villa which is worth every penny.

The breakfast they serve at the harbor or even in your room they deliver. The golf buggy to dive you around always waiting in the lobby for guests. I would not recommend the half or full board options.

The restaurants on the property is outstanding; especially La Scala!

The staff is superb!!!!!
Don't stay in patong or Phuket its dirty and away from the beach!

Stay at kathathani
Michael and Emma

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.6 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
15.1 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
16.2 mi away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 94 in Thalang District
5.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shore at Katathani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shore at Katathani

Property: The Shore at Katathani
Address: 14 Kata Noi Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shore at Katathani 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury beachfront pool villa resort on Kata Noi Beach in Phuket, Thailand. This adult only resort is a natural fusion of indoor and outdoor living where time has no meaning beyond the pleasure of every moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Shore at Katathani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shore At Katathani Hotel Kata Beach
The Shore At Katathani Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing