We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“heaven in phuket, Sue, Melbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Shore at Katathani
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“heaven in phuket, Sue, Melbourne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Just recently spent 3 nights at the Shore Katathani and then 4 nights at the sister resort Katathani Phuket Resort next door. Where do I start. The Shore was amazing! We were in Turtle Alley Room 8835 in a sea view villa. What a view, lying on the bed after a restful nights sleep in the biggest bed I have ever slept (extra large king size) in waking up to that view was breathtaking. First mornings breakfast was amazing, huge amount of food (must think we eat like giants). The room itself was just beautiful, so well thought out with a beautiful bathroom, outdoor day beds and glorious pool. Noted that some people mentioned it was a little cold. I can assure you for the temperatures we had 34 and very humid everyday is was just right. Refreshing but not too cold! The service and security from the time we arrived was fantastic. Buggy's to get you up and down the steep hill which was great as I had a swollen and sore ankle and didnt fancy those flights of stairs. The Harbur restaurant for afternoon tea was fab (included in price with breakky) didnt need lunch. Then later on from 5.30 cocktail hour. We ate 3 times at the restaurant for tea, beautiful fresh seafood accompained by tasty and unusual flavours which only enhanced the overall meal. Reasonably priced considering the quality. We did eat at Mom Tri's one night which does have a fabulous outlook, food was excellent but very pricey so value for money couldnt go past the Harbur. Smart (head waiter I think) looked after our every need and is such a lovely young man. All the staff were great but he stood out.
Enjoyed our 4 nights at next doors resort, obviously not of this standard and took a while to settle after such luxury but still enjoyed adults only pool, massages, pedicures etc by the team of lovely ladies around the pool. Overall what a fabulous place on a lovely beach which basically both the resorts overlook the whole beach so was well taken care of. A bit further to go but well worth it. After going into Patong a couple of nights to see Fantasea and Simon caberet overridden by obnoxious drunk people with a disgusting and dirty beach, I was glad of decision and beach (Kata Noi) is brilliant. Five minutes by cab into Kata which has the usual markets and cheap shops, food places etc.if you like the hustle and bustle.
I cant praise the Shore enough and if I ever see anymore specials I will be there!!
Hope to be back one day!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank suzy_que231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    966
    152
    41
    9
    7
See reviews for
65
949
18
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

AMAZING stay! Go for the hill side sea view pool villa and it will be worth every penny spent on it. We would highly recommend it to any couple, especially on a special anniversary or a romantic honeymoon. If the weather is too hot and you do not want to walk up the hill to your Villa, the Shore will offer complimentary buggy rides to your door. Even if the weather is not the perfect beach weather, The Shore is the one place I can say that staying inside your room would feel divine. Service is quick and we found there was hardly any wait for any item of our choice even when the resort seemed to be at full occupancy. The toiletries smell so heavenly and the room is decorated with so many thoughtful little touches that it shows the effort that the Shore puts to make the guest’s experience memorable. The Sea view pool villa pictures on the resort’s website are true to what you could expect. Rooms were extremely spacious. Although the service at the Shore’s restaurants which we dined at was very attentive, the food and breakfast varieties could use some improvement. Certain staff were more friendly and helpful than others but overall, we were very impressed and would highly recommend The Shore to anyone looking to spend some quiet time and feel like royalty!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OnTheRoadRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

I cannot praise the service and this place enough! We stayed for 3 nights after a 4 night stay at the sister hotel (Katathani Phuket) with a special online deal. This place is a whole leap above any of the hotels we've ever been to!
The check in was very personal and smooth. Sylvia was amazing! She helped us with checking on tours and doing anything possible to make our stay extra special. She was so personal and her service was just excellent! The staff on the whole we're fantastic! Everyone was smiling and always there to be of any help without any of the guests even asking.
The room!!!! Oh my!!! Just stunning!! Everything was spotless and perfect. We had the ocean view villa with a private infinity pool. Words are unable to describe it. You'll just have to book this place and experience it!
Breakfast and afternoon tea is included which were great. Free wifi was included too. The hotel's infinity pool overlooked the beach and the ocean. We felt no real need to go to the beach. Plus you had to pay for a beach chair which was pointless as the hotel was a stone's throw away. Kata Noi beach is the best beach in phuket though- fewer people cleaner beach and not many people hassling you! There was really nothing to fault the place!
The only real thing (if anything) was that you would have to walk over a hill to get into Kata town which would be a 15-20min walk in sweltering heat. You could get the hotel shuttle to drive you a short way but you would have to walk the difficult part. Tuk Tuks cost 200baht to get into kata town (a 3-5mim drive) which we thought was daylight robbery and we would take early evening walks into town instead.
Thank you for a fantastic holiday! It was so hard to leave and return to reality.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leeshatlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

- our room wasn't ready when we checked in, it was quickly remedied with a free lunch at The Harbor restaurant
- hotel is located at the end of Kata Noi beach, quiet, private, a cove with a great stretch of beach. There was litter on the beach during our stay.
- Well-guarded property, with security at the entrances ensuring only guests are allowed into The Shore
- DVD rentals at the library is a plus point
- It was great to have the option to use Katathani's (sister hotel) facilities
- We enjoyed having breakfast delivered to the room during our stay (complimentary), but this can be improved if the meals arrived warmer.
- 3:30-5:30pm complimentary tea at The Harbor is a welcome treat after spending the afternoon lounging at the infinity pool or beach
- very easy to switch between the beach & pool at this property
- friendly staff, but some were poor in English
- layout and design of villa is modern, spacious with Thai decor elements, fresh flowers and scent burner is a nice touch
- private pool is much bigger & deeper than the pictures shared so far
- the property never feels crowded, hardly saw any guest
- plenty of bugs being amongst trees, recommend using the mosquito spray provided
- humidity in the room gets uncomfortable after opening the sliding doors after a night of air-condition, ever thing seems to be sweating/damp
- Thai dishes served for the room service menu is delicious and fairly priced

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleSueMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here for 1 week and i have nothing but positive things to say. Our villa was amazing with beautiful views of the sea and beach. The service was impeccable and the staff were just so lovely. Always approaching us with a smile and nothing was never too much. We stayed in room 8831 and it was just simply amazing. We are looking forward to visiting again soon. Thank you again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelWonderWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Where does one start here? This place has to be without doubt the best place we've ever had the good fortune to stay in. From the moment we walked into our villa unit we were almost lost for words, even the Princess was unusually quiet. The views are as everyone else here has said - amazing. I think all we could both mutter was "wow" or some other totally understated adjective.

The pictures on their website are pretty much exactly what you get, although that might vary ever so slightly depending on which villa you end up with. We asked for a villa higher up the hill based on what others have said here. I think we may have ended up with one that is featured on their website.

Villa 8843 is about as good as it gets if you can't get that one ask for anything on the 4th level "Turtle Alley". But having said that I'd think any of the villas would still be fantastic. The main difference is the higher up the hill the more privacy you have which is great for those who wish to take advantage of their Infinity pool.

The room itself is furnished beautifully, the shower is probably big enough to fit 5 people.

All the staff are absolutely lovely, all were respectful, courteous, professional and friendly. Special mention must go to Sylvia at the lobby and Ya and Mee our lovely buggy drivers. You made us feel like royalty and helped make our first holiday in Thailand perfect.

I find it hard to understand how anyone could find fault with this place. I think some people are just too hard to please and would likely find fault with everything in life.

We count our holiday in Phuket as the best beach holiday we've ever had.

Thank you all so much we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a villa further up the hill on the 4th level "Turtle Alley"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruby_2893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

we stayed at the shore for one week and had room 8892 with stunning views over the bay, the room was simply beautiful and had every think you could ever want for a relaxing quiet and pampered holiday.

during our stay we had a romantic candle lit meal that was superb, we ate at the hotel most evenings whilst we were here, we did venture down the road to the orchid restaurant on a couple of evenings and the food was very good and very well priced however to sit and eat a meal in the Harbor restaurant offered a relaxed and sumptuous evening of beautiful food with views over the sea that were just simply breathtaking.

we went on two trips booked via the hotel reception to phi phi island and the elephant trip with siam safaris both trips were excellent with door to door transfers.

In summery the hotel is in a beautiful location built on the hill side at the end of a stunning beach, the room was fantastic the best we have ever stayed in and the service from the hotel team was perfect from start to finish.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
12.2 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
15.1 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
16.2 mi away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 95 in Thalang District
5.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shore at Katathani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shore at Katathani

Property: The Shore at Katathani
Address: 14 Kata Noi Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shore at Katathani 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury beachfront pool villa resort on Kata Noi Beach in Phuket, Thailand. This adult only resort is a natural fusion of indoor and outdoor living where time has no meaning beyond the pleasure of every moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Shore at Katathani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shore At Katathani Hotel Kata Beach
The Shore At Katathani Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing