We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Shore at Katathani
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Honeymoon heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

My wife and i stayed here for 6 nights and we absolutely loved it, from the moment we walked into the room we where speechless with the view and the room itself! The beach is pristine and the snorkeling was great and if you get a chance try the pad thai from the little beach cafe on the rocks its a fantastic place to have lunch and its directly down stairs from the villas.
Breakfast was wonderful and the lighthouse restaurant had amazing food for dinner. On our last night i booked the table by the pool and they set it up with personalized menus and candles it was really cool.
So if your thinking about booking do it this is paradise!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nathan e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    967
    153
    41
    9
    7
See reviews for
65
951
18
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

Not much more to add to all the great reviews this hotel has already received. The Manager and staff work very hard to ensure everyone has a good experience. Its pricey by Phuket standards but you get what you pay for.
The views are superb. I would highly recommend a room on the second level, not too far up to be exhausted from the climb, but just far enough from any noise intrusions.
The only real negative I could give is that they allow smoking at mealtimes which, although is outdoors, still had a negative impact on some guests, ourselves included.

Room Tip: second level is best if you dont want to be exhausetd by the climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanchaiSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
118 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

The Shore is an amazing place. We stayed there in Sept 11 for our 20th wedding anniversary and it was very special. There are so many good things written about this resort, and rather than just repeat the same sentiments I thought I would share some additional observations to assist people who are thinking of staying there.

I spent a great deal of time when booking trying to work out what room would be best to stay in, given I had read reports of different villas having a shaded pool all day, or no view, or too close to trees etc. I wanted it to be special given the occasion however in reality it was overkill. Our observation was that anywhere from the second level up is fantastic. We were on the second level and were probably 30-50 metres above the beach level, so having a feeling of seclusion and privacy was not an issue.

Just on that point, I think there are some rooms where people could probably see into your room and certainly into your pool if they tried. You do have to wonder though why would anyone bother? It is predominantly frequented by couples looking for privacy, so in hindsight this should not have been a concern, which I did note was a point of question for a number of reviewers. Do not be concerned, there shouldn't be an issue based on our experience.

My recommendation would be to request a villa that is the second or third level up. Whilst the highest level sounds attractive, the climb up the steps from breakfast or the beach is a killer in the humidity. You can call a buggy to come and collect you, however this does limit your freedom unless you are prepared to do the mountain climb if you are on a high level! And do not think this is an issue for elderly people - we are in our early 40's and it was hard work for us!

A couple of other observations. The private pool is fantastic, however be careful of the steps which were not clearly marked. As you are moving around the pool be careful not to knock into the corner of the sunbed as the tiles are quite sharp as I found out from experience!

The pools from what we could see nearly all had sunlight for most of the day, so not sure why there are comments that some pools are shaded, unless they are villas embedded further back into the resort. One side of the pool has no privacy screen (the left side as you look out over the pool), and the right side is cement blocks with holes in them. Unless someone was actually up close and looking through the holes (which I assume are for air flow), then really you don't have a lot to be concerned about in relation to privacy. And as noted above, given the exclusivity of this resort, and the fact it is mainly couples, why would anyone bother?

Breakfast the first morning in your room is excellent. Many people are not aware that you can have the breakfast from the standard menu in your room other mornings if you wish at no extra charge. We also found that you could ask for a special coffee (cappuccino etc vs a brewed coffee) when you went down for breakfast. Room service was also very good and quite reasonable. Happy Hour was great, with cocktails half price, so you can make your way through the menu quite nicely! The sunset view is best from the terrace at the restaurant during happy hour.

There is a little bar at the end of the beach directly below The Shore, where Singhas set you back 70 baht. There are grocery stores outside of The Shore along the main road adjoining Katathani beach resort which have a good range of supplies. We found however that there was also a little open stall at the start of the shops, just opposite the entrance to The Shore, where a nice lady became our soft drink supplier on a daily basis :)

The staff at The Shore are also fantastic. Nothing is too much trouble, and they are very professional and courteous. All in all a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank willywonka09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

We received an upgrade to The Shore from their sister Katathani for 2 nights on our honeymoon. We were surprised but accepted the upgrade thankfully. The villa we received at The Shore was incredible! The view, phenomenal. We overlooked our own infinity pool to Kata Noi beach and out over the water. Everything we could dream of was taken care of by the amazing staff, even when it came to walking down to breakfast - they offered a buggy ride. We also had breakfast in our villa and we could find no fault. We really can not praise this hotel enough, we will (hopefully!!!) be back to enjoy more time at this amazing resort. We didn't want to leave! Definitely recommend this resort to anyone willing to listen! Thank you so much!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljbish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

For 6 months I searched and reviewed every luxury hotel in Phuket to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. The Shore ticked all the boxes for us, private pool, seaview, beach access and luxury.
I can save you time and tell you if you have any doubts about staying at The Shore erase them now and book this hotel.
I can clarify that all the rave reviews you have already read are true. I will not go on about all the wonderful things about The Shore, you'll need to go for yourself to experience it.
I do how ever want to touch on some of the negatives from other reviewers that may have dampened your decision to say at The Shore.
The private pool is a little cold when you first get in but once in it is absolutely beautiful. The hotel is built on a hill but you can always get a buggy, we thought of it as a good way of working off all the beautiful food and alcohol.
Make sure you spray with insect repellent before going out in the evening.
If any negative reviews are stopping you from going then you are missing out on a magical holiday. We stayed for 10 days and we could have stayed for another 10 days. We have decided to go every year.
We would like to thank all the brilliant staff at The Shore (especially Golf) for making our 20th wedding anniversary and valentines day very special.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mustgoashore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

Service was excellent and attentive , the villa was great with a stunning view over looking kata noi beach.

During our honeymoon stay it was also my birthday and they prepared a surprise birthday cake for me at breakfast time. Amazing !!!

We stayed there for 2 nights and it's def worth coming here again !!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candice213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

Check-in was very efficient/friendly - I was given a cold welcome drink + hot towel which is a nice touch - I was escorted to my seafront villa (#8881 on 'Lobster Alley' - Mid level on hillside) with the check-in attendant via buggy + shown room features - The room itself is brilliant - large/spacious - beautifully decorated - sliding doors fully open - large plunge pool was refreshing (= a little cold) + the 2 day beds/seats nxt to the pool very comfortable with awesome views over Kata beach/ocean - big sitting/entertaining area - the bathroom is amazing with freestanding bathtub + huge shower - the bed is a huge comfy king with lots of pillows resulting in quality slumber! The breakfast buffet was fantastic - the best thing about it was eating while overlooking the picture postcard like beach/ocean scenery! The staff + service = 1st class - Note that the resort is built onto a hillside so quite steep in some sections with lots of steps but dont let this deter you - you simply call reception + they will send you a buggy to pick you up + take you anywhere or you can catch one from reception - I was transferred to/fro The Shore + Katathani Resort - even took to me to the mini mart + waited while I got supplies then drove me back to my villa! Everything was perfect - I will definitely be returning!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzBoy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
12.2 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
15.1 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
16.2 mi away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 95 in Thalang District
5.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shore at Katathani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shore at Katathani

Property: The Shore at Katathani
Address: 14 Kata Noi Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shore at Katathani 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury beachfront pool villa resort on Kata Noi Beach in Phuket, Thailand. This adult only resort is a natural fusion of indoor and outdoor living where time has no meaning beyond the pleasure of every moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Shore at Katathani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shore At Katathani Hotel Kata Beach
The Shore At Katathani Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing