We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST Hotel in Kata....and Maybe Phuket Island!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Shore at Katathani
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We have just returned from 8 magnificent nights at this hotel.

What a truly amazing place!

The hotel staff, grounds, bedrooms, bathrooms, plunge pools and cabana, main pool, breakfast in-room service etc etc are all perfect. I really can't find any faults.

My picture really don't do this hotel justice. Its 'wonderful!!'

Just one very small area of improvement, with the exception of the breakfast which was first class, the lunch and dinner menus were limited, over priced and nowhere re nice as the food in the many restaurants around Kata.

Don't wait people, just go ahead and book this hotel. Your gonna love it.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money and ensure you get a plunge pool for yourself. Don't get a shared one. Do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gmoney71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

941 - 947 of 1,276 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2011

Not only does this place look like the photos featured on the website, the service is excellent. I had a slight reaction to the perfume in the soap and asked them for an alternative. Not only did they, housekeeping checked to make sure the replacement soap was acceptable on day 2&3 of our stay. The breakfast buffet is one of the best I have ever seen. Our villa was near the top of the hill so we always took advantage of the buggy ride to the top - very steep! Our pool was surrounded by orchid walls which gave us privacy and looked fantastic. We drove around Phuket today and were so pleased we opted for the shore.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank desktopdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

My girlfriend and I recently speak a week here as part of our holiday, and absolutely loved the place. The service was impeccable, the rooms are fantastic and the day spa, bars and pools are excellent. The restaurants are perhaps the only thing that could be improved upon, but the breakfast is spectacular - so you can just head out of the resort for dinner if you desire. We had a fantastic trip and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

This hotel was amazing exactly the same as in the pictures. The staff would bend over backwards to ensure that you every need is meet at any time. The breakfast has a huge range of delicious food that even suited my vegetarian tastes. The attention to detail was amazing i was staying in a vogue shoot.. Loved it Absolutley incredible. There were even a few small waves so sufers could go out and get wet and have fun.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Madeleine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in mid-September and chose this place mainly based on the great reviews on Tripadvisor. Pretty much everything you read is true: the pool villas are amazing, the staff is fantastic and the location is beautiful. However in my opinion there were a few tiny flaws as well.

The villas are spacious, very nicely designed and have pretty much everything that you wish for, including a quality coffee machine, dvd player (free rentals in the library), stocked minibar, lots of towels, fresh fruit etc. Even though the villas are relatively close to each other they are all build with minimal views from the outside and great views when you're inside. The bed is amazing and air-conditioning quiet and effective. The pool is quite large and there is an area inside the pool as well as next to it to lounge - definitely the best part of the villa.

The Shore part of the Katathani resort is relatively small and quiet (which is great!) but you can make full use of all the other parts of the resort, including a wide-range of restaurants, a large number of pools, several pool bars and a whole lot more. To get around the resort the staff drives you around in golf carts - the service is quick and friendly.

Breakfast can be ordered in the room or eaten next to the sea downstairs. The selection was pretty good as can be expected of a 5 start restaurant. On the 3rd day it was getting a bit repetitive but I guess that goes for most places.

There were a number of activities that could be booked such as Thai cooking class, yoga, thai language class and a few other things. Unfortunately most of these activities were only twice a week so you really have to plan around them. Perhaps this is different in high-season but I would have liked to see a few more things to do. The library has free book and dvd rentals and the gym is small but has all the right equipment for a good hour workout with water and mint scented towels ready during the workout.

One of the best things of the whole stay are the staff, always going out of their way to make your stay even better. Always smiling, never giving the feeling that they are working for a tip. The welcome is very personal and since we got upgraded as we got there (thank you again!) the start couldn't have been better.

Personally there were a few things that took away from a truly flawless 5-star experience. First of all the beach is not that clean with quite a bit of trash around. I realize that it is a public beach as all beaches in Thailand are public, but it would have been nice if things were a bit cleaner. Again, this might be slightly different during the high season, but still. Also there was some construction going on the resort premises and very little was done to hide this. Walking from one part of the resort to the other meant that you had to pass and walk around the parts under construction. Not a big deal, but not what I would expect of a 5-star resort either.

Second of all the car that drove us to the airport on our return had terrible suspension and a terrible driver which resulted in both my wife and I getting carsick after about 10 minutes which made the 1 hour drive excruciating. The driver also did not say a word when we left the car and just took our bag out of the car and dropped it on the sidewalk and walked away. Since this 'service' was more than twice as expensive as our ride to the hotel with a public taxi it wasn't a great ending to a good stay.

Lastly, and has nothing to do with the quality of the resort, the area surrounding the resort is far from great. Except for Mom Tri's kitchen which is a few minutes drive away, there is nothing worth mentioning or restaurants that are worth visiting outside of the hotel. I understand that this shouldn't reflect on how I rate the resort but nevertheless it changes the overall experience, especially compared to other luxury resorts.

All-in-all a very romantic and relaxing stay!

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank warlicht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

There is no other word to describe this amazing place. From our arrival until our departure all was just paradise. The staff is very nice and always make sure that you're enjoining holiday. Thank you and we will be back :-)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NaP_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We spend the best 4 night from our honeymoon in this hotel. From the first moment we arrived to The shore we felt this is the place we want to spend our honeymoon in and we made the right choice. as soon as we get into reception we got a welcome drink and hot towels for refreshing, everybody is smiling for you and they want to make sure that you are happy. the room is amazing, piece of art i couldn't believe this is our room the view was so relaxing that you don't want to leave the room you just want to relax on your private pool and enjoy the view. in the morning we got our breakfast in the room in our balcony everything was more than perfect. we also tried the food in the hotel and i really recommend eating in the hotel you can order food to your room anytime you want. anytime you want to go out you just call the reception and they send us the golf car to take us even if you want to go the the sister hotel (Katathani hotel) which is the close to our hotel. Me and my wife would like to thank every person in this hotel for making our honeymoon more than perfect and will definitely come to the shore..

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AkramBorno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.7 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,198 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#2 of 55 in Kata Beach
937 reviews
24.4 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Kata Noi Beach
4,332 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
#32 of 55 in Kata Beach
831 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fullmoon Beach Resort
Fullmoon Beach Resort
#13 of 65 in Kata Beach
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shore at Katathani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shore at Katathani

Address: 14 Kata Noi Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: $470 - $1,526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shore at Katathani 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury beachfront pool villa resort on Kata Noi Beach in Phuket, Thailand. This adult only resort is a natural fusion of indoor and outdoor living where time has no meaning beyond the pleasure of every moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Shore at Katathani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shore At Katathani Hotel Kata Beach
The Shore At Katathani Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing