We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Shore place, its the best place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Shore at Katathani
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's a Shore place, its the best place!”
Reviewed August 18, 2011

From the moment we stepped out of the airport the service was second to none. A gentle and (very swish) taxi drove us from the airport to our resort and we were wowed. We knew we had booked something 'special' for our honeymoon but the resort and our villa was just too good to leave. So clean, so well cared for, smiles from every member of staff and they could never do enough to make sure you had a more than pleasurable day.
Our arrival at the villa was so special, a beautiful orchid sat on our gateway with a white ribbon, opening the ribbon we started our honeymoon in complete paradise.
The room layout, design and furnishings were exsquisite and just so comfortable. It was hard to leave our room!
The 'seaview pool villa' had a great position overlooking the surf on South Kata Noi and you could bath in the roll top bath and hear the sound of the ocean or bathe in the pool to cool off after sunbaking in the sunken sunlounge.
The room service was so quick! Blimey, we had no sooner ordered our ice bucket and beers and there they were. With a smile of course.
I would say they maintained your privacy more than anything, always ensuring 'romance' was key. We would return back to our room to find more rose petals, more candles and tasty treats to help us sleep or romance!
Breakfast was great. The best of condinments and pastries after chef prepared eggs. We had breakfast in our room more than once, such a good service and no extra cost allowing us to laze after our satisfying breakfast.
The grounds were well looked after. Maintenance staff were always painting or brushing, smiling all the while.
The bell boys were always cheerful and very prompt!
If we could afford to again for our 10th anniversary we have said we will return, for shore!

Room Tip: Ocean/seaview pool villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ToniaJelbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    992
    158
    42
    9
    8
See reviews for
65
976
18
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

As a discerning traveller with a taste for the finer things in life I am not easily impressed but from the minute that we arrived at The Shore I knew that these guys had created something special.

I chose The Shore as part of a multi hotel break in Phuket based on reviews and pictures of the hotel that I researched on the internet and the three days spent here surpassed all expectations in most areas.

We were taken from reception to our villa by buggy, which is on call 24 hours a day and they are never more than 5 minutes away if you call them. They are essential unless you don't mind walking the very steep hills that the complex is within.

We were shown around our villa, which are superbly appointed and will not disappoint the most discerning. The overall feel is one of complete relaxation and the views from the villa are simply awe inspiring - if you can pay the extra and get the Ocean View villas - I cannot comment on other types but the premium that these attract is obviously down to the breathtaking views.

His and her sinks, huge shower, outdoor sunken lounge area and infinity pool, lots of storage space, top of the range bed etc etc.

What sums The Shore up is when I asked at reception how busy the place was at the moment (as I never see anybody), they smiled and says that everybody just stays in the villas! ....... and we did exactly the same for three days apart fro going for breakfast at the outdoor restaurant in the morning. This was a decent offering focusing on quality rather than quantity.

The ONLY negative that I found at The Shore was that the dinner menu looked good in its conception for fine dining / bistro but it was terribly executed. Our overall experience at the hotel would still get top marks, even with this in mind as we found possibly our favourite restaurant (for food) of our whole trip 2 mins walk from the hotel. It is across the road from the Katathani Hotel (The Shores mother Hotel which you have access to all its facilities also). It is one of only two large outdoor terrace type affairs that are joined together and as you look it is the one on the left. We were very hesitant about ordering and ordered around six dished to ensure getting a couple that we liked - unfortunately they were all fantastic and we ate the lot!

I am a person who likes to be on the go and 'risked' a 3 day stay at The Shore knowing it would be peaceful. I made a great decision in staying there and if you can afford to stay here, you will not regret it either.

Room Tip: Ocean View Room is Worth The Extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FinerThingsPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

If you are seeking paradise with an amazing view, this is it. Add first class service and facilities, along with the most friendly and attentive staff, then The Shore, Phuket is a must. What a fabulous week in paradise. Thank you to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank melbournefans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Like many of the other reviewers, I'm quite used to staying in 5 star hotels around the world, so I'm not easily impressed. The Shore is certainly not cheap, but after my stay, I can say that it is truly worth every penny. We stayed in the seaview pool villa, it was incredible. The infinity pool was very classy and it offered an amazing view of Kata beach. The staff at the hotel are extremely well trained, speak excellent English, and are so friendly and helpful. Best service ever. Everything we asked for was given in meticulous detail, and we never had to ask more than once. They are happy to serve you breakfast in the villa, so you feel like a king. The only knocks I have against this place are very minor -- the bathroom is technically outdoors and is sometimes prone to bugs. Also, if you eat at this hotel, try to stick to Thai food. The Western food is not bad, but not first-rate. Other than that, I cannot say enough good things about this place. Will never consider staying elsewhere in Phuket and wish I could have been able to stay there longer.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MetalGuitarKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Dark stormy clouds in the sky - yet it did not dampen our bright and cheerful spirit.
Loud crashing waves - yet it felt like music from our own orchestra.
It's the monsoon season in Phuket. But we enjoyed every bit of it.
Actually, we hardly saw Phuket.
This is THE place for that special occasion when you just want to hole up together in your own private sanctuary and not bother to go out into the hustle and bustle of Phuket.
For the price you pay, you might as well fully enjoy the comfort and solitude of this high-end property.
Be sure to tell them what you special occassion is, and they'll look after all the small details - from customising your pillows and scents, fruits that you prefer, and special decorations to commemorate your honeymoon, anniversary, or birthday!

I wouldn't recommend this place if you want to sight-see around Phuket - only go if you want to run away from it all and discover sheer bliss.

Room Tip: For the best mix of privacy and relative easy access to the beach/pool - go for 8871
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Azran1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed at The Shore for 3 nights, and having read so many good reviews of it, expectations were high.

The good:
- Rooms were spacious and ours had a very good view of the sea. Furnishings were pretty good as well.
- Guest service was impeccable. As the villas were situated on top of a hill, we had to call for a buggy each time we went to/from our rooms. The buggy always arrived minutes after calling for it.
- Located at Kata-noi beach, which was definitely more peaceful that the main Patong beaches.
- For us, the clincher was the area around main pool. You could practically laze for hours on the deck chairs or in the infinity pool, which overlooks the Andaman Sea. Incredibly therapeutic!

The not so good:
- Our room, being close to the dense vegetation, had a whole army of mosquitoes buzzing around the outdoor area. This meant that we were unable to use the sofa or sunbeds, which was a real shame.
- Service at the restaurant was rather inconsistent. While it wasn't bad, it could be better given the "luxury" class of this hotel. For example, one morning, the waitress would ask if I would like a latte, cappuccino or expresso for my morning coffee, whereas the next morning, another waitress would just bring me an expresso.

Conclusion:
A very good stay at an excellent hotel. Its pricey, but the rooms, the location and the overall service does justice to the price you pay. Just remember to bring more insect repellent in addition to your sunscreen!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tuffies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I stayed here for four nights in July in an ocean view pool villa. The room, view, pool, staff were all excellent. We had no troubles to speak of with our visit and even the weather, despite July being the rainy season, was generally cooperative with 2 of the 4 days being quite sunny and the other days cloudy with an occasional shower. The room was very large, especially the indoor/outdoor bathroom and we really enjoyed having an outdoor sitting area and, of course, the small but private pool. No complaints whatsoever about the facilities.

The only area that was slightly disappointing was the food. The in-room breakfast the first morning was great with plenty of variety and volume. Every day after that it seemed the quantity and variety went down a lot. Not enough to make me want to trek down to the main restaurant for breakfast but still noticeable. It seems like someone just kind of throws together something each morning based on the order but with little attention to consistency. We also had dinner at the The Harbour. The presentation was very nice and quality good, but for the price it was nothing special in the taste or quantity category. It was the most expensive meal of the trip (and we didn't have wine) yet was just not that special. I would recommend having dinner at Mom Tri's Kitchen which is at the opposite end of the beach. The hotel can arrange transportation and it has far, far better food and overall value.

Another point to note, and this is not at all the hotel's fault, is that the beach does sometimes getting fairly dirty. The hotel staff go out several times a day to clean up but the ocean seems to wash in a fair amount of trash. Wasn't a big bother but still noticeable. Also the hotel could do a bit better job of cleaning up by the stairs giving direct access to the beach from the main pool area.

In summary The Shore has a great location on Kata Noi beach, the room, facilities and staff are excellent but the food service was (for the price) a let down. For the off-season rates we booked this at I would definitely recommend The Shore.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesjustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
24.4 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
15.1 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
878 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
5.9 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,518 reviews
16.2 mi away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 96 in Thalang District
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shore at Katathani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shore at Katathani

Property: The Shore at Katathani
Address: 14 Kata Noi Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shore at Katathani 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury beachfront pool villa resort on Kata Noi Beach in Phuket, Thailand. This adult only resort is a natural fusion of indoor and outdoor living where time has no meaning beyond the pleasure of every moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Shore at Katathani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shore At Katathani Hotel Kata Beach
The Shore At Katathani Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing