We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Belted down rain but still awesome.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kok Chang Safari Elephant Trekking

Kok Chang Safari Elephant Trekking
Ranked #8 of 18 things to do in Kata Beach
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kok Chang Elephant Trekking Safari in set on a beautiful ocean viewpoint where the dense tropical jungle overlooks Kata Noi Bay. We offer various jungle routes riding on these Majestic animals from 20 minutes, or to the summit on 30 minute and 1 hour treks. Fully trained and experienced guide handlers will take you and your family through the dense tropical forest along paths and trails from the southwest corner of the beautiful Phuket island stopping at scenic beauty for photographs along the way. Get lucky and sit on the elephants neck. Children and adults are encouraged to stop by the banana kiosk to observe and feed the Elephants, there is no charge. This is a great photo opportunity and you can even touch the elephants trunk.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Belted down rain but still awesome.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Took a group of 20 people to this Elephant Trekking and it was monsoonal rain but everyone had a blast. The mahouts were never cruel to their charges and were obliging to all of us. Would highly recommend this site for anyoine looking to trek in the Kata/Karon area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan2041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    669
    352
    101
    59
    124
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gotta do it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Looked at several elephant tours, this one was consistently recommended by other reviewers. Elephants were good, handlers were friendly. 50min trek went into the forest so bring bugspray! It felt kind of slow since Rainbow kept stopping to sniff around. The view at the top is quite nice, and the mahout is pretty good at taking photos of you on the way down.
Though not "thrilling", it is a must do!
My wife fed Rainbow a lot of bananas, and I even bought the souvenir t-shirt to support them (I never buy souvenir shirts!)

Make sure you insist on this camp, as our driver wanted to take us to a different one (closer to big Buddha, but also probably cost more).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank amp3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Elephants healthy and happy.

Great Experience and the guide was a pro at taking happy snaps.

Compared to some of the other tours we saw in our travels Kok Chang was the best - Number 1

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria
Level Contributor
151 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Went to Kok chang as part of a day tour with Panya. We did the 30 min trip and it was great! Elephants seem well treated, and the kids loved it, so did i! On our elephant was myself and 3 kids, very nice, wandering up the steep tracks, and to a beautiful view. Our guide took a heap of phiotos too which was nice.. Definetely recommend

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Watto77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quite a place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We Went for Kok Chang after reading good reviews on TA and having heard that the elephants are well taken care of. It is located very near to our hotel in Kata Noi so we arranged for them to pick us up. We did the 50 minutes tour and thoroughly enjoyed the trip. We fed our the elephants and got a lot of great shots sitting on the elephants. We were then taken back to the hotel. The friendly staff made it even more memorable day. They were very nice and helpful. Highly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ThomasHeid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kok Chang Safari Elephant Trekking also viewed

 
Phuket Town, Phuket
 

Been to Kok Chang Safari Elephant Trekking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing