We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice Views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kok Chang Safari Elephant Trekking

Kok Chang Safari Elephant Trekking
287 Moo 2 Sai Yuan Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
+66 89 59 19413
Website
Name/address in local language
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 18 things to do in Kata Beach
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kok Chang Elephant Trekking Safari in set on a beautiful ocean viewpoint where the dense tropical jungle overlooks Kata Noi Bay. We offer various jungle routes riding on these Majestic animals from 20 minutes, or to the summit on 30 minute and 1 hour treks. Fully trained and experienced guide handlers will take you and your family through the dense tropical forest along paths and trails from the southwest corner of the beautiful Phuket island stopping at scenic beauty for photographs along the way. Get lucky and sit on the elephants neck. Children and adults are encouraged to stop by the banana kiosk to observe and feed the Elephants, there is no charge. This is a great photo opportunity and you can even touch the elephants trunk.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Stroller parking
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We did the 50 minute trek for 1000 baht each. The people were very friendly and we felt the elephants were treated well. It was our first time doing this and just like swimming with dolphins, once is enough.
There is a bar with beer and soda you can take with you on the ride.

The view from the top of the hill overlooking the ocean is fantastic and scenic.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hairbykev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    573
    298
    91
    45
    101
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Location is great, but ride and service just so-so. Free bananas excellent!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Kok Chang is very close to the downtown, so it's much easier to go there and ride elephants than going up to the National Park for a full day. Price is ok (kindof expensive, but I'm ok with a premium for convenience). The venue is ok - I was worried it would be like fake since it's right near Kata, but it was quite natural and the terrain is mountainous, which makes for an interesting ride.

They let you feed the elephants bananas for free. Of course, there's a donation box which we contributed to, but it's nice that it's optional. The elephants look a little underfed, but beggars can't be choosers.

Two bad things:
Midway through our trek (30-minute trek), the guides stopped us and tried to sell us trinkets made of elephant tusks or whatever. They said we had to buy there, since they weren't allowed to sell back at the main launch area. We didn't want to be sold to - you know? We were just enjoying our elephant ride and then had to be made to feel like we were back on Patong beach fighting off hawkers. Not to mention that they were selling us stuff made of the very animals we were riding on. That seemed quite wrong to us and was disappointing. Even more disappointing was when we politely said "no thank you", our two (we had two elephants for the family group of 6) previously jovial guides became sortof unhappy pricks. Why do we need to be made to feel like bad guys because we just want to enjoy the elephant ride and not fight off hawkers?!

The other bad thing: one of the elephants (my elephant) was a little poorly behaved - - wandering off slightly - - and the handler started whacking the elephant on the head with his steel hammer/hook. The elephant suffered a cut and was bleeding a little bit. I recognize that they're wild animals and, yes, I'd prefer the elephant get a cut then run off with me and my son on his back...but...a little bit scary for my boy and my wife on the other elephant was saddened.

Anyway, aside from the above issues, it was a decent experience and something you can fit into your schedule quite easily.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick_in_China
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
385 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 525 helpful votes
“Still The Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Kok Chang Safari would have to be one of the best elephant trek's we have been to during all of our travels to Phuket. All the animals seem well cared for, the staff are very helpful and friendly and the setting is beautiful. We have lost count of the number of times we have been here over the years and Kok Chang just keeps getting better!

There are bananas available at the center to feed the elephants while taking some great photos and you just leave a donation in the box for them.

One of the highlights of the elephant trek, besides the fantastic views is once you are at the top of the hill you can ride down sitting on the elephants head if you want. It was so exciting sitting on her head, feet hooked behind her ears for balance and enjoying the ride back down.
Your mahout will also take lots of photos of your trek, so just hand him your camera.

There is also a great bar at the centre, so after your trek you can buy water, fruit shakes, beer etc at very cheap prices. This is also a perfect spot to sit and watch a beautiful Phuket Sunset!

Prices for the 50 minute elephant trek to the summit are 1000baht per adult. This is the one we would highly recommend! There is also a 30 minute trek for 800baht, 20 minute trek for 600baht, with 50% off for children 4 - 11 years of age and children under 4 are free. Money for the elephant trek is paid directly to the centre.

Kok Chang Safari also have complimentary pickups from Karon, Kata, Nai Harn or Rawai and 400baht for return transfers from Patong (per car not per person).
Contact details are:
Chaini +66 (0) 84 841 9794
 chainikokchang@gmail.com

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Cathy&Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely morning here last week. Elephants are well cared for. They do a range of 20min, 30min and 50mins. We did 50min but 20 or 30 would have been more than enough. And the views you see on the 50 min one you see a lot anyway if your travelling around Phuket.

Our naughty elephant seemed a bit Hungry so didn't want to walk too much but we had a lovely experience and one never to forget.

The other riders go to ride bare backed. Our guide tried to sell a bracelet his mother had made as a memory for 500 baht. How extortionate! Trying to earn a little extra money but that's greedy!

Overall a fab experience. Elephant trekking is everywhere.. But these clearer look after the elephants and were not over charging.

Helpful?
Thank Connie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A must do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

The staff at kok Chang safari were excellent! Elephants are well looked after. The views are outstanding! Our rider took lots of photos of us whilst trekking! An unforgettable experience.

Helpful?
2 Thank Love2Travel254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kok Chang Safari Elephant Trekking also viewed

 
Phuket Town, Phuket
 

Been to Kok Chang Safari Elephant Trekking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing