We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steak!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Horn Grill Steakhouse

Horn Grill Steakhouse
Ranked #10 of 148 Restaurants in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great steak!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

We enjoyed our dinner thoroughly. My friend's steak was fantastic - I had a beef curry (can't remember the name) and was scraping the bowl towards the end it was so good. The red wine was served chilled though, which seemed strange. But yummy once it was warmed up in the humidity ;) Do keep in mind that this is a pricier restaurant, but it's nice to class it up sometimes :)

The live jazz band was lovely, and service was professional.

To be fair, it did seem like the servers were distracted - so we had several different staff, and it was hard to get there attention if they weren't already on their way to us. But still, delicious food!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kouklata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    644
    240
    86
    28
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
CUMBRIA
Level Contributor
647 reviews
447 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,492 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Enjoyed an evening here with a fab live jazz band. The music was great but the food was just ok. The starters we had were amazing but my wife's steak was well cooked but cold and the signature dish I had - was intact a fancy burger!! In all fairness it is a well decorated and loverly atmosphere but it just misses the spot. Won't return on this trip anyway. Also a little expensive compared to surrounding restaurants, but much more professional.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MULCASTER2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food, very bad customer service/policy.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

We were exited to go to the Horn Grill after reading the good reviews on TA, but we left there quite a bit disappointed. The food was good, not excellent, but okay. It was the service and the policy on the restaurant we didn't like.
Our waiter had to leave in the middle of taken our food order, to serve another table, and returning to us thereafter !!! She was constantly talking loud out in hear microphone ( sitting on her chest ) annoying and irritating. The service was allover very indifferent, automatic and not personal. And last but not least, they closed down 22.00 in the whole restaurant while we still were sitting there, asking us to clear the bill 22.30, because they had to close. A very bad customer police, and not a place we will return to on our next visit to Kata Beach !!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stausland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horngrill, Manager at Horn Grill Steakhouse, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thank you for your feedback Mr.Stausland. We felt sorry that you didn’t have a wonderful dining experience because of our service and restaurant policy. But at least you did enjoy the food though it was just good not excellent.
We would like to take this opportunity to give an explanation for your dissatisfaction.
First: The food was good, not excellent, but okay.
-For food taste and quality wise every waitress has to make sure the diners are happy with their food and the waitress has checked with you on the taste and quality of all the dishes you’ve ordered and the answer she got was “VERY GOOD” and finished up everything.
Second: Our waiter had to leave in the middle of taken our food order, to serve another table, and returning to us thereafter !!!
-It’s true she did that but it is an absolutely common practice in any restaurant that the waitress may excuse herself and serve food or drink to customers under her care that certain evening. Our waitress did that she politely excused herself and quickly return to continue taking the remaining orders.
Third: She was constantly talking loud out in hear microphone ( sitting on her chest ) annoying and irritating. The service was allover very indifferent, automatic and not personal
-To ensure the best customer service and a smooth operation, the little microphone attached on every staff is our system to communicate among one another which are beverage bar, kitchen and service team.(of course we will communicate only when necessary) If it made you felt irritated we do sorry. On many occasions our customers complemented that they love the idea of this hi-tech gadget. And for the service, customers mostly rated us as friendly, genuine, efficient and polite.
Fourth: they closed down 22.00 in the whole restaurant while we still were sitting there, asking us to clear the bill 22.30, because they had to close.
-As our closing time is at 23.00, we will inform every customer the last food order and closing time beforehand. From 22.30 onward, the staff will start to clear only the cutlery from the non-occupied table and will ask the remaining customers to settle the bill at 22.45 or later. Our captain brought the bill to your table at 22.47 and you said it was too early to pay so he calmly stepped back, finally at 22.55 the bill was settled on your own accord. (with a dispute that we overcharged on the price of the wine which indeed it’s was your misunderstanding)
Fifth: A very bad customer policy, and not a place we will return to on our next visit to Kata Beach !!
-We have our policy to follow as any business does and that made you unhappy, we do apologize. Any way we hope to serve you again if you return to Kata Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
222 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Awesome steaks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

We were craving for some steaks and decided to come here! It was a really great meal! The portions are so big that it took us a while to finish them, but everything was so delicious that we couldn't resist! Great dinner in a beautiful garden!

Helpful?
1 Thank Vonkhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Steakhouse Ever!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

The steaks here were perfect and very flavoursome. Although my favourite food is Thai, some in our party wanted something different, but not disappointing. Would definitely go there again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helaina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horn Grill Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Horn Grill Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing