We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot rooms a short walk from the beach”
Review of Phuket Chaba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phuket Chaba Hotel
Ranked #47 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Reviewed February 21, 2012

This is a budget hotel located between Kata and Karon beaches in Phuket. It is a good mid-range option in a somewhat overpriced area of Thailand. I arrived late at night and the man at the front desk didn't speak much English, so the experience might be different if I had checked in during the day.

The room itself was very clean, but very hot. And the a/c was quite poor so it took most of the night before it was cool enough for me to get a decent sleep. There is a tiny "minibar" in the room but since there is no power when you leave the room, nothing in there is very cold either. The bed was fine, if not a bit on the hard side. The wifi seems to only work in the lobby and not in the rooms (or not in my room anyway).

The included breakfast buffet was very good, and the restaurant where it is served is quite charming. The pools looked excellent and it is a short walk to the beaches. I thought Karon beach was the nicer of the two.

I booked one tour through the agency in the hotel, and it was decent enough and good value. But every other shop in town is a tour agency as well, so do shop around.

Room Tip: Pick a room near the lobby or pool and maybe the wifi will work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eobri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 287 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2012

Overall Chaba Hotel was fine. The good points are the breakfast, the pool and the staff. The breakfast is included and is quite good and the pool is beautiful and new. The staff was quite helpful- I didn't find there to be a language barrier at all. The maid was also very nice about our erratic schedule and still managed to clean our room every day. Location was fine- close to the beach and right next to food and spas. But the walk to the beach is past an open disgusting sewer. I don't get grossed out easily but that sewer was truly bad. However I suppose that's not the hotels fault. Rooms are small and very standard so value may not be the best. Overall it was quiet except for one horrible night when the bar across the street had karaoke. It was a friday and they blasted it so loud, I was very upset because I like a quiet hotel. It was a fine three star hotel but if I ever go back to Phuket I think I'd rather stay in an upscale resort where the atmosphere is less about partying and more about relaxing.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

I stayed here for a week in December 2011. I had booked a Studio Suite, which had a nice balcony (which I used a lot) and a kitchen area (which I did not use). The bathroom was a bit spartan, but everything was very clean. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast buffet in the mornings had a limited selection of western style breakfast foods, but as a nice touch they would cook eggs to order. I mainly ate the fried noodle and fried rice dishes for breakfast which were quite tasty. The breakfast restaurant is actually quite nice, with outdoor seating available. I did not try dinner or lunch at the hotel. The pool is in a nice garden area, with perhaps 20 sun beds available. I was there during peak season and at times all the sun beds would be occupied. The walk to the beach is less than 10 minutes. Also, there are plenty of dining options within walking distance. In general, the hotel seemed well maintained. The bed was somewhat hard but this seems to be the norm in Thailand. Would I return? Yes.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hakon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

The rooms are a bit small but clean and well maintained. The pool is beautiful and not used by many guests which adds to its value. Overall its a good hotel with lots of good bars and restaurants nearby. The staff is one of the most courteous ones i have ever encountered. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tribalwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Visited Kata for many years - first time in this hotel.
Rooms spacious, modern and kept very clean.
Lovely small quiet hotel. Lots of space round pool, always loungers available. Pool bar service available most of the time. Sufficient buffet breakfast with open dining room back from the road. Good food also available during day/evening if required. Excellent staff, very helpful and polite. Within 5 mins walk of Kata beach, 10 mins walk to Karon Beach. Many Restaurants and bars in surrounding area - but no noisy bars interrupting the peace at the hotel.
Free wi-fi available and internet computer available in the lobby.
Loved this hotel - our family will definately use again

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheilamcfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Great quiet location, had to ask for blanket and towels for third person in room, even though a comfortable cot was set up. Great breakfast buffet. Pool seemed small but well maintained, beautiful and private - not used by many guests. No shower curtain, but as this was my first trip to Thailand maybe this is more typical than I know. Extra requests at checkout honored without a problem - luggage stored in office and towels provided for swimming pool. Wi-fi and internet computers were not a problem. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chuck&Deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We have been in Chaba Phuket Hotel on the new year’s Eve 2012 for 5 days and enjoyed this vacation a lot. First of all I want to tell that the stuff is very friendly and they are ready to help you with taxi service, wi fi internet, can order an excursions. There are beautiful area, free American pool, free wi fi internet and we had a plasma TV in our bungalow. The hotel is rather new and interior of the room is simple but very convenient. In our bungalow we have had two rooms, one with tv and two armchairs and another with a big bedroom and wardrobe. Also there were rather large bathroom with bath not a shower cabin. The water was good. The windows of the hotel look on the road but it is rather quite road where are not many cars of motorbikes, usually people go there. The bungalow had a way to terrace where also chairs, the table and we were able to smoke there. Also in the bungalow we had a fridge, wash for dishes, and microwave Owen. The stuff come for every day to clean up the rooms. So it was good comfortable staying.
Breakfast was good, because it is rather European: bacon, rice, vegetables, fruits (watermelon, pineapple),muesli, cornflakes, milk, juice and a coffee from coffemachine (!!!) what was wonderful beginning of the day.
It takes about 10 minutes to walk from the Kata Beach.
Near the hotel are different restaurants, Italian cuisine, Pub, Thai massage and mini supermarket.
We like this hotel very much!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
#31 of 56 in Kata Beach
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capannina Inn
Capannina Inn
#46 of 56 in Kata Beach
87 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Beach Heights Resort
The Beach Heights Resort
#32 of 56 in Kata Beach
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kata Country House
Kata Country House
#36 of 56 in Kata Beach
339 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Beach Boutique House
The Beach Boutique House
#44 of 56 in Kata Beach
266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Must Sea Hotel
Must Sea Hotel
#34 of 56 in Kata Beach
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Chaba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Chaba Hotel

Address: 98/13-17, Kata Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Chaba Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: $35 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Phuket Chaba Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Phuket Chaba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phuket Chaba Hotel Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing