We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place - recommended”
Review of Villareal Heights

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villareal Heights
Ranked #6 of 65 Kata Beach B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We spent a week here in December. Chose it basically on the strenth of the reviews and were not dissapointed.
Great welcoming staff, lovely big room and reasonably priced.
Would suggest you book direct for best prices.
Transport from airport was arranged for 750 baht - its about 45 minutes so good value.
Phil, the owner took us on a drive round to show us where to get to beach, best restaurants etc and bought us a cold beer even - dont get that at the Hilton!
Breakfast, although not their fault, was on occasions a joke. Taken over the road by the pool of another building, could be too busy for the staff - one speed...very slow. Ate on the sunbeds on more than one occasion!
I think Phil has stopped using them and offers coffee and cake in their reception foyer area now..much better.
Do not miss Kwongs Soup Shop on the road to Kata beach, sure he will show you where, fantastic little place, very cheap and food glorious.

Room Tip: We had room 14 and were very pleased but I'm sure they are all ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brielks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 441 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

Phil & Jo make this a great place to stay. The room we were in was a little run down & in need of some minor repairs, but overall the bed was comfortable, & the room was a good size. The location was decent with a short walk to the beach & restaurants. There are a couple convenience stores close by for basics. Phil took us down to rent a scooter for our stay. That was a nice touch. Phil & Jo were quick to assist or recommend places in the area to eat, or things to do. We ate breakfast every morning at Villareal Heights. Jo makes a GREAT latte & the croissants with jelly were yummy. A stay at Villareal Heights feels more like a stay with friends instead of a hotel stay. Would I stay there again if I was in the area? Most likely as long as Phil & Jo were still running it & the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thewandererone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We booked for a suite ocean view. First of all I noticed that ocean is really far and the view is rather on the buildings in front of it (see pics uploaded). Then the rom was very dirty and we found ripped bed linen, hair and some pieces of dead skin in the bed (in the bed, not on the bed). They apologized saying it was a busy period and come to change them immediately. But then... I had a look on the toilet and it was really dirty (pics uploaded), brown inside, and it stank. After 3 days (that we payed as high season price), it was a little bit better, even the dust in the room had been removed, but it was not really clean, as the price would imply.
I don't recommend this place, it could be nice but so many little (or big) things are left out, that it get fast a place of low category.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vale W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villarealheights, Manager at Villareal Heights, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Vale,
Thank you for the time in writing your review and we apologies for the issues that have occurred on your first two days of your stay with us. We at Villareal Heights go to great efforts to maintain High standards of cleanliness and good service for which we have been in many previous reviews highly rated for and we are sorry that in your situation these standards were not met but we do believe it is important that other readers get a full picture of the situation and not just a very limited review which fails to mention all the things that were done for you and the length of time you stayed with us.

1) You arrived on the 2nd January at around 12 Noon from From Switzerland and you were still wearing heavy winter clothes. Although our check in time is 2pm we had our cleaning staff have your room finished as you were tired and Hot. The room was cleaned and you were allowed to check in early as we wanted to support you. My staff assisted with your bags and took you to your room. You did not mention in your review that you were allowed to check in early or given assistance in doing so even though the 2nd January is one the busiest day of our Year with a lot of check ins and Check outs.
2) You came down from your room around 1pm because you were hungry and we directed you to the Pad Thai shop i informed you that i would give you a Tour of the area on check in and we would do that when you came back from eating.
3) You came back from the Pad Thai Shop around 2pm and then went back to your room and came back downstairs around 2:15pm for your Tour. You mentioned that the Toilet was not clean and there was some dust in your room but it was not a problem as you knew we had checked you in early and it was a busy day but could we deal with it. We left for the tour which was for over 1hr and you were taken to the local beaches and up into the Mountains to Sabai Corner where i personally bought you a drink and we had a long chat about things that you could do here on Phuket at no point in that discussion did you further mention the room or cleanliness nor did you mention in your review about this Tour or extra service you were given!
4) We came back to the Hotel around 3:30pm and you went to your room and came back down again around 8pm, you were asked if everything was ok and you replied that the toilet was much better thank you and also the dust, My wife Jo had personally inspected the room and done the toilet herself to make sure it was good.
5) At around 10pm you came back downstairs and complained that there was hair in your bed and that you wanted all the linen changed. You never mentioned any skin nor did we see any!. Please also note that you were in the room on and off from 12 noon and at no time mentioned Hair in the bed until late in the evening. We sent staff to clean your room straight away which we took a Video of. All linen was changed and the room again was cleaned. Please note that you personally were in the room for several hours you also arrived with heavy winter clothes from Switzerland and were traveling on planes for many Hours and it is quite possible that hair or dust or skins could have been picked up from the planes or seats and when taking clothes off.
6) You were asked every day of your 10 day stay with us after this incident if everything was ok and your room was spot checked by Jo and Myself everyday for cleanliness and you told us everything was fine and much better and our spot checks confirmed this.
7) The pictures you have provided for the toilet is not dirt it is rust of the pipes at the back which has stained the tiles we appreciate this is not good but we have to re-grout the back of the toilet and replace the fixture which is something we can not do until the room is not occupied and it is peak season and is scheduled this year when we are quieter. The pictures you have shown of the view is accurate. We have never promoted ourselves as a Ocean front property or uninterrupted views of the Mountains and Sea. I think the view is very nice the room is bright and airy and many customers are very happy with it. if you wanted an Ocean front View with no other buildings then may i suggest thats what you should have booked and paid the price for that type of place which would have been a lot more than you paid with us.There are plenty of pictures both on our website and of customers through Tripadvisor showing the views of the area and the room types and you would have this information beforehand. The picture you show of the dust is of one top next to the bed and also from behind a vanity Mirror that you had moved from away from the wall and placed it somewhere else in the room and the dust was in one corner behind that mirror, we are sorry for this and it should have been cleaned but in reality to describe the room as very dirty is not fair and accurate it was isolated areas that unfortunately my staff had rushed in getting you in the room to help you,but again we apologies.


In summary you have written and rated Villareal Heights as Terrible with Cleanliness and service of Terrible with an overall as terrible. You experience was on the first day of 10 days and we reacted speedily and professionally to your requests and issues. We basically have suffered in trying to help you in getting you into your room early and for sure our mistake was not completing your room correctly. But to receive a terrible for service this i truly find hard to understand. You were given an extensive 1:15 minute tour of the area with drinks to places you may not have gone. You were assisted in getting a Scooter and taken personally to fetch it. You were arranged airport pick up and drop off both at prices better than the local market and both on time and waiting for you. Your issues and complaints were dealt with speedily and effectively and we checked daily if everything was to your satisfaction. As for the views this is out of our control and is well publicized and you could have found this out before you booked with us. I appreciate that you review is of your experience and this we accept, but it would have been nice if you had given a full account of the things that were done for you and the efforts that we went to in making your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible, the service we offer to our guests is way beyond what a lot of other Hotels do and it is something we enjoy doing as we are a family run business and we want the guest to have a nice time.

Regards,

Phil and Jo
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

- First and foremost: Phil and Jo make this place a great experience all-round. They go above and beyond making sure we were comfortable in the hotel and in town. Great recommendation, great conversations, and very friendly.
- Upon arrival, our flight got in at 2am, the staff were waiting for us at the reception to get us into the rooms quickly and were very friendly. Have staff show you how to work the hot water (in a separate tank) in shower and also electricity in some of the rooms (require key to be in holder) also show you the pool a short 50 yards to the next building.
- Breakfast: we chose to have breakfast included which tasted good, same foods everyday.
- Coffee: Jo makes a great cup of Jo!! =) excellent coffee always served with a smile and great conversation --- MUST TRY IT!
- Rooms: clean and spacious, with wi-fi, refrigerator, slightly musty smell. also, if you are a light sleeper, bring ear plugs as the traffic on nearby busy street is heard all night.
- Beach: 15-20 minute walk thru town. Very safe, never felt threatened.
- Excursions: They have great options for you to look thru. Very helpful with recommendations specific to your wants/needs. We went to TaChai and John Gray Sea Canoe.
TaChai- very beautiful once you got there, great food, excellent staff, good snorkling. From this hotel takes approx 1.5 hrs by van and 1.5 hours to island on speed boat. seas were rough when we went (not for the seasick).
John Gray- MUST DO if you can only chose 1 excursion. approx 45 minutes from hotel, very relaxed, easy going. large boat with excellent food, easy/smooth boat ride to islands. When there, guide paddles you (you do not paddle) thru the land formations and caves, views are spectacular!!!! Nothing compares. Excellent staff, great service, and we even were on the boat with the JOHN GRAY!
--overall, great bed and breakfast style hotel with great service! Phil and Jo are AMAZING! Would recommend to anyone looking for a great, safe place to stay in Phuket.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikki t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

we had an amazing stay here and we very well looked after anything we need they were happy to help the staff were amazing couldn't ask for any better so friendly
Phil and Jo have done an amazing job
the rooms were very clean and cleaned everyday
the bed were very comfy and would differently stay here again

thank you Phil and Jo for everything!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank april f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I will echo the previous travellers' comments and say that Phil and Jo are really great, very helpful, friendly, really go above and beyond what is required or expected of hotel owners/managers. Their staff are also vey friendly and pleasant. The coffee bar is excellent, with fresh croissants every morning and top-notch lattes prepared by Phil and Jo themselves! The walk to the beach is only about 15 minutes, and once you get used to the traffic flow and the traffic light cycle, it is quite manageable. I would recommend this property to anyone considering a stay in Kata beach.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bolero200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Phil and Jo go above and beyond in making sure you enjoy your Thailand vacation. I was with a group of 11 who stayed at Villareal Heights and all of us were impressed by the time and effort that both Phil and Jo put into taking care of the guests. They helped us with all our travel bookings and excursions, showed us all the right places to go for meals, and even helped us plan an incredible New Years Eve night. They make sure you are taken care of and offer great advice for how to enjoy your stay on Kata and Karon beach. If I ever return to Thailand, I will be making sure to visit Villareal Heights again. I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoganGlenn89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#16 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,017 reviews
0 mi away
Garden Home Kata
Garden Home Kata
#4 of 65 in Kata Beach
130 reviews
0 mi away
Kata Bai D
Kata Bai D
#1 of 65 in Kata Beach
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Wonderful Pool House at Kata
Wonderful Pool House at Kata
#7 of 65 in Kata Beach
38 reviews
0 mi away
Beach Breeze Guesthouse
Beach Breeze Guesthouse
#3 of 65 in Kata Beach
183 reviews
0 mi away
Jinta Andaman
Jinta Andaman
#15 of 56 in Kata Beach
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villareal Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villareal Heights

Address: 214 / 14 Patak Road | Suksan Place,Tambon Karon, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Kata Beach
Price Range: $35 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villareal Heights 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villareal Heights is a Luxury Boutique Hotel situated conveniently between Kata and Karon Beaches on the beautiful Thai island of Phuket. Surrounded by lush mountains and facing the stunning Andaman Sea, Villareal Heights provides a unique sanctuary for your next vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villareal Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villareal Heights Hotel Kata Beach
Villareal Heights Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing