We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal Service excellent, accommodation very basic”
Review of Villareal Heights

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villareal Heights
Ranked #6 of 67 Kata Beach B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have very mixed feelings about our stay at Villareal Heights. Jo and Philip were extremely helpful and friendly however we found the standard of our "deluxe" room very basic. When we finally checked into our room (after a power outage that lasted the whole afternoon) we were quite dismayed to find how small or room was. When we drew back the curtains all we could see was a grey concrete wall of the building next door. The tap was vey loose in the bathroom and there was no exhaust fan or window for ventilation. On showering the smell which came up from the drain was simply nauseating and the floor tiles in the shower/bathroom were extremely slippery. Philip mentioned in passing that we could possibly move to a room with a "view" but this offer was never followed up. Every time we turned in the bed it squeaked terribly. To Philip's credit he fixed the loose tap and changed our light globe upon our request and we could not fault their friendliness as hosts. Unfortunately we were were not informed about access to the pool, if one existed and we found the beach too far away and crowded to attempt a swim. We experienced a far superior standard of accommodation (and free breakfast ) in both Vientiane and Bangkok for less than what we paid here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pechfoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villarealheights, Owner at Villareal Heights, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Guests
Thank you for your review.

1.You checked in when there was a power cut in the area as the government was changing posts on the main road. This is beyond our control. We then offered to take you for a drive and tour of the area and drop you off to THE COFFEE CLUB as you were hungry and wanted a massage which we personally booked for you at Kata Day spa at the same hour. You forgot to bring the map which we gave you in case you can’t find your way back and I personally got in the car again to go to you at the coffee club to make sure you have the map.
Even after that, you still could not find your way back and called the hotel to pick you up FOR FREE as you are getting very tired and lost.

2. You booked the cheapest room through AGODA. “SUPERIOR NO VIEW”. We have 20 rooms. We have rooms that has proper washing kitchen area (no cooking), a room that has a kitchenette no dish washing area but complete with cutlery and utensils and a dining table. Also provides a relaxing spacious room that has a big L shape sofa in front of the tv/dvd for your convenience and relaxation to lounge about. Choices of room sizes ranges from 40 sq mtrs, 30 sq. meters, 37 sq meters, 45 sq meters, studio room 55 sq meters but you chose the smallest cheapest room that stated in AGODA NO VIEW but still provides you the exact amenities ie mattress pocket sprung individually $1,600, dvd, kettle,shampoo, body wash, liquid hand wash and room size indicated in Agoda VERY CLEARLY as you booked. It even indicates on your booking print out copy. Free use of the common Microwave/ dining/ cutlery etc provided for free to those who are on budget booking cheaper options.

We do not understand why you were “DISMAYED” as you know exactly what you booked for as it is stated in AGODA - in sq meters. You could have chosen a room that is Ocean view, Mt View or Kata Town view. Bigger than the room you chose that got you “dismayed” if size matters to you. There are other options than the cheapest room you chose with size indicated clearly.

3.You mentioned “Very basic”. In most B&B at the price you paid (please note you were in phuket on a Chinese new year month-PEAK season), do not provide swimming pool, DVD players, a mattress that costs 1,600$ , body wash, shampoo, hand wash, kettle, drinking water, beach towel no charge or deposit, free wifi, free dvd movies, free books, free use of microwave and dining common area, free use of cutlery and utensils -plates, glasses etc free of charge.
We never had any complains about our bathroom being very slippery otherwise, is it is very easy to have provided you a non slip MATT ASAP if you had informed us of this concern.

4.We do not wish to mention about the squeaking of the bed, but it do depends on how much a person weighs and how big they are- as per consideration. I believe if you are of a normal size - a bed wont “squeaked terribly when you move around”. We do have a lot of comments how comfortable our beds are.

5. You booked through agoda, the first picture is of the pool. You are an agoda and tripadvisor user, I believed you have browsed and looked at photos and reviews and read them as to how far we are to the beach. We never lie or mislead anyone. Also, you can find the pool listed on the hotel features in Agoda when making the booking. I don’t think people will missed the first picture which is of the swimming pool which you said we “failed” to mention to you.

6.You personally mentioned to us that you are not the beach type couple, prefer historical places which you mentioned to us also that you wished you have chosen to stay in Phuket Town instead after you came back from the local day tour that we booked for you with our recommended private guide as your husband hated the sand and the beach and you are not bothered about the beach location at all. You have booked several spas with free pick ups and drop offs. You also have used our common area where there is a dish washing sink and complete cutlery, plates and glasses free of charge. You have also availed free pick up and drop off to Sabai Corner which costs 900THB taxi if you go by yourself as a compliment transport (when available -booked in advance) for staying at Villareal Heights.
It is not fair to compare us to Vientiane where everything is cheaper, rent, transport, real estate, not beach location, and cheaper labor. Pls note that Kata area is one if not the most expensive prime real estate in Phuket thus higher rent and higher cost of running a business. Bangkok is a city with hundreds of hotels and noted to be the cheapest city for hotels in ASIA for it’s quality. So please "justify" comparing us to both cities. Why is Maldives expensive? Why is Bora Bora expensive? Why is BURMA, Laos and Cambodia very cheap? Why is SHANGRILA CHANG MAI way cheaper than SHANGRILA Bangkok and HongKong? They are all Shangrila group so why the price difference? It is all about LOCATION and RENTAL COSTS. Called Economics.
Please if you wish a bigger room, your own dining area and kitchenette, a sofa to lounge and a view of the ocean, mountain or kata town, we have these options. Please do not book the cheapest room and complain that you do not have a view and dismayed of its size. CHEAPEST room has no view and not the same size of the suite which costs more.

7.As for the smell, if you have brought this to our attention, we could have fixed this by filling up a special powder designed for drainage. this is a very common problem in Phuket especially on peak season when it has not rained and the drainage doesn’t get washed up. It is not only us but entire Phuket suffering with drainage smell problem which can be corrected individually per room if was brought to our attention. I will be surprised if there is one hotel in phuket who have not had headaches about this problem.

Lastly and most importantly, as for the possibility mentioned that you will be moved to a room with a view- we apologized but we do get booked up and there are people who do pay for the “views” therefore we have to prioritized those who paid for it.

Thank you.

Johanna Villareal Benares and Philip Hubbard
Owner
Villareal Heights Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 441 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed for two nights in Feb. 2013. Phil and Jo were awesome! When we first arrived, Jo offered to drive my wife and I around for a few minutes to show us the area and recommend restaurants, etc.
The room itself was very up-to-date - everything was clean, new, and nice.
I'm not much of a review writer. Although other places we stayed at on our trip were very nice, this is the only review I'll be leaving, and this is why: Upon leaving Phuket we went to Phi Phi for a couple of nights. Upon arrival, I realized I had left my passport in the safe in the room in Phuket. I emailed Phil and he replied right away. He even found the number for the hotel I was staying at on his own and called the front desk to speak to me. We arranged a way for me to get my passport the next day without me having to go back to Phuket. He was very diligent in making sure I got it and confirmed with me the next day that everything had gone smoothly. This is going above and beyond to me. They will do everything they can to make your stay as comfortable as possible. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

On first meeting Phil and Jo, you'll be struck by their willingness to help get you settled. Firstly we met Jo, who may be small in stature but don't be fooled. I’ve seen her sling a 16kg case over her shoulders and easily navigate 2 flights of stairs.

After a few minutes of introductions, we were heartily welcomed and instantly made to feel at home. In the reception area for Villareal Heights, no-one will fail to notice the Tripadvisor awards for service excellence.

Jo had already provided us with the Wi-Fi password the previous night - we arrived late evening. Incidentally the download speed ranges from sub 2 M/bits to 4.4 M/bits per sec - depending on load. You MAY be reminded to use the service with discretion - no downloading films and heavy-duty files.

So, after the preamble of the introductions and signing agreements, we were given a synopsis of what was ahead.

"Got your camera ?" says Jo, as we set off on a mini-tour of the area in Phil's car. Beaches Kata (about 600-700 metres long) and Karon about 3 km in length) are about a 15min walk from the hotel - 3 mins on a bike; local restaurants (Lucky Tom's in Taina road), Pad Thai shop (just a few metres left out of the entrance to VR), a local massage place - which will pick you up and drop you back to the hotel.

Further out, beyond Karon viewpoint, is 'Sabai corner restaurant'. Here, Phil treated us to a cooling drink.

The room we had was the Ocean view suite, which considering Villareal's position (set back from the very busy Patak road) - IS quiet. A microwave, fridge, crockery and storage cupboards and sofa (L-shaped) are at your disposal. The balcony with the ‘ocean view’ outlook, is a bit tight though.

A handy breakfast bar with two cushioned stools - for those times when you choose to eat in. A TV with stereo speakers. On one speaker are slots for CD/DVD of your choice, although if you ask - you'll have access to around "300 DVDs". There's also a USB slot if you have your personal collection for viewing on the big screen.

The bathroom has the usual, but the water pressure is less than I would have liked. Was the room cleaned daily?? Yes it was, by a trio of cleaners, but not as thoroughly as we had expected. Picky?? I don't think so. Its the sort of thing that needs mentioning - at these prices!!!

There is a 1.5m deep pool in the next building along towards the mountains, which guests from Villareal are allowed to use.

We needed a scooter and Phil was the right man for contacts - he'll get you a good deal. You'll be introduced to a local bike rental/travel place ('Ice Family tour' - north of Villareal) offering reasonable rates - the longer you require the scooter, the lower the rate. Never leave your passport, of course - a copy is sufficient!!

Overall our stay at Villareal Heights was comfortable, the 'dynamic duo' will see your needs are catered for and help with arranging your trips. They also offer an airport pick-up service.

The hotel's position allows easy access to shops and restaurants, so most things are practically on the doorstep. We didn't see anything we wanted at Karon night market which is a 5 minute bike ride away. The noisier - if thats what you want - (we didn't) Patong beach and Bangla road is roughly 20mins away - again on the bike.

If we were to re-visit Phuket.......

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank veganise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Phil & Jo were wonderful hosts. We did the custom trip of all the sites with Phil and as we were in Phuket for wedding Phil did a shuttle service to the Kata Beach which took him 2 trips. Room was spacious very clean.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Wonderful place for relaxing and enjoying of time every moment.
Five girls are living here 1 week and I should inform you that it's nice hotel for different trips. Good comfortable room, best service, friendly staff and owners of this hotel.
Thanks for all!! Hope to visit Cata Beach again :)
Liked this amazing island and nature.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank liga_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We are a mature couple who visited Kata Beach to attend a family wedding. Phil and Jo were so helpful. Phil showed us around when we arrived, recommended places to eat and organised a taxi tour for us. Villareal Heights is up a fairly steep slope so we had to take it easy walking back but it is away from the noise so was ideal for us. We thoroughly enjoyed our trip thanks to Phil and Jo. We booked a suite which was really spacious so we could spread out when we wanted to relax. The pool next door was an added bonus.

Room Tip: Book a suite if you can afford it, it is worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JandT60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Well we checked in to Phil's establishment out of desperation but boy are we glad we did.
We were literally chased out of our 2 previous accommodations by giant cockroaches after trying some budget places along the budget. Let me tell you it is not worth saving your money. Especially after staying here you realize Phil's room are still priced really well.

We only stayed one night but Phil treated us as if we were staying for many. Him and his staff were so accommodating and nice. Always there to help us with things and give advice on things in the area. It's only about a 7-10 min walk to the beach but it is worth it to stay someplace quiet, clean, and relaxing.

The rooms are comfortable and very clean. Not a single bug or mosquito to be found! The pool that they share with the hotel next door is wonderful.

I really wish we had stayed at this place the whole time we were in Kata.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bryan19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0 mi away
Kata Bai D
Kata Bai D
#1 of 67 in Kata Beach
280 reviews
0 mi away
Garden Home Kata
Garden Home Kata
#4 of 67 in Kata Beach
133 reviews
0 mi away
Southern Fried Rice
Southern Fried Rice
#2 of 67 in Kata Beach
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Corsica Guesthouse
Corsica Guesthouse
#5 of 67 in Kata Beach
83 reviews
0 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#9 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,294 reviews
0 mi away
Jinta Andaman
Jinta Andaman
#17 of 57 in Kata Beach
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villareal Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villareal Heights

Address: 214 / 14 Patak Road | Suksan Place,Tambon Karon, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Kata Beach
Price Range: $35 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villareal Heights 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villareal Heights is a Luxury Boutique Hotel situated conveniently between Kata and Karon Beaches on the beautiful Thai island of Phuket. Surrounded by lush mountains and facing the stunning Andaman Sea, Villareal Heights provides a unique sanctuary for your next vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villareal Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villareal Heights Hotel Kata Beach
Villareal Heights Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing