We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelievably good!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unbelievably good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Avista Phuket Resort for 11 days in January 2010 during our first ever trip to Thailand. The hotel was relatively new and had very little reviews at that time, but we decided to give it a try and boy, was that a wonderful experience! In fact, it was so great that we're going back there again for the New Year. Nothing we found on the web could measure up to Avista.

The best things about this hotel are:
- Rooms: spacious, modern yet with a touch of traditional Thai design, filled with amenities (among others are a big LCD TV with loads of English-language channels, a large comfortable bathroom with big shower gel and shampoo dispensers on the shower wall). Ours was the Grand Deluxe room, complete with a fridge and a microwave oven.
- Infinity pool: it's huge, crystal clean, and features a pool bar. You can have a drink there or just make an order and have the drinks delivered to your sunbed. They even make things that are not on the menu (try a mix of espresso and fresh orange juice on ice -- very refreshing!). Sunbeds are very comfortable and they even have king-size ones that are great for a mother and a baby.
- Quality of service and staff attitude: everyone we met were helpful, polite, and gentle, albeit a bit slow moving, but this is how many Thai people come across if you're used to the hectic life of a big city :)). They have ringers near each sunbed so you can summon a waiter and order a drink or a snack.
- Breakfast menu: a big choice of Thai, general Asian, and European food that will satisfy any taste. I loved the noodles, shrimp dumplings, and fresh fruit selection.
- Nighttime lights: the hotel looks fabulous at night, what with the pool and palm tree lighting.
- Location: the hotel sits atop a hill between Karon and Kata beaches and it's cool that you can easily choose between the two. Karon has squeaky yellow sand and is much cleaner than Kata. Kata, however, has beautiful soft white sand and is a real pleasure to walk down at dusk. It's also cool that the hotel is so high on the hill because it's the evacuation area in case of tsunami and you're protected against any natural disaster of this kind.
- Recreation and library: you can play pool or fussball or chess and checkers at the recreation room, and there's a huge selection of paperbacks in many languages (mostly in English) in the library. I myself left a few books behind for the next guests to read.

What I would like to see improved:
- Lunch and dinner cooking: the selection was wide, but the cooking was bad. Thai noodles were lumpy, pizza was inedible, soup was tasteless... When it rains at night and you're stuck in the hotel, you have no choice but to eat there. And when there's a crowd of people stuck with you the kitchen is overflooded with orders and you have to wait for up to 40 minutes to get your order. When it gets there, it's tepid at best.

Tips:
- Fresh towels are handed out daily behind the pool bar, down the stairs from the fitness center.
- If you have a room facing the garden, don't worry - it means you'll have a quiet room and will sleep tight at night.
- Be an early bird and you will enjoy the restaurant to yourself before the crowds hit the place for breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kupava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2010
Dear Guest,

At the outset we would like to thank you for your patronage. We consider your suggestions are valuable in our constant search to further enhance guest experience. We are in process of the remedial steps and hope the same will be resolved before your next visit.

Warm Regards
Management Avista Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,432
    681
    167
    41
    18
See reviews for
662
1,096
70
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2010

We just returned after a week staying at Avista with two small children (4 year old and 10 month old) and can strongly recommend the hotel. Great and efficient service from the moment we booked.

Things we appreciated:

- prompt replies to e-mails (within 24 hours). We booked from a website and we emailed the hotel directly a few weeks beforehand asking for a baby cot, airport pick up and cost of a baby sitter and was impressed to receive a reply within 24 hours.

- welcome. Nice welcome drink, cold towel and flowers.

- Hotel Manager (and Head Chef) always present in the mornings. The Hotel Manager was always greeting all the guests and ready to answer questions and solve issues first thing in the morning. I think this helped to resolve any minor issues before they developed into major problems.

- free wireless internet (smart phone addicts will love it although it does mean that some fellow guests are forever fondling their phones which is not necessarily a good thing :)

- amenities were refillable. Loved that there were no more wasted little plastic bottles.

- controllable air conditioning. Loved being able to control the room temperature and even switch off the air conditioner and open the balcony door.

- being within walking distance to Kata beach. The weather was quite unpredictable when we were there so it was really nice to enjoy the beach but when the weather turned, being able to jump into a tuk tuk (easier than walking up the hill with the kids and sand toys in tow) and head back to the hotel within minutes for a hot shower and some lunch.

- location - with young children, it was nice to be able to walk to Kata beach and enjoy the peace and quiet of Kata and still being able to have the option of taking a 20 minute tuk tuk or shuttle into Patong to enjoy the hustle and bustle of Patong.

- generous sized and extremely clean room that was big enough for all four of us. We stayed in the Grand Triple Deluxe Room. We enjoyed the King-sized bed, our 4 year old had Queen size bed (!) to herself and our 10 month old had a baby cot.

- friendly staff. The staff were genuinely friendly with the children and the staff always greeted us with a friendly “Sawadee Ka/Krap” when we walked past.

Minor issue which we think need improving.

High chairs.

The high chairs at the hotel were unsuitable for our 10 month old as they were more suited for a one year old plus. Most people would get around it by strapping their child into their stroller, however we didn’t bring our stroller as we found it easier to get around with a baby carrier so a more secure and suitable baby chair would have been nice.

Overall, we found Avista to be a lovely hotel and we really enjoyed our stay. Yes, if you read all the reviews, the hill is a little bit of a hike but it’s manageable and if you don’t feel like walking up it, there are plenty of tuk tuks to take you back up to the hotel. We found the hotel to be great value and suitable for families with young children. Good price, great location and service. It was all that we wished for.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goannie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
Dear Guest,

It gives our team immense pleasure to know you had a memorable experience with us. We consider your suggestions are valuable in our constant search to further enhance guest experience. We are in process of the remedial steps and hope the same will be resolved before your next visit.

Warm Regards
Management
Avista, Phuket.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashmore, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

I stayed at Avista for a fortnight recovering after having cosmetic surgery in Phuket. All the staff were very obliging and could not do anything more for me. They carried my bags, continually enquired about my healing and did everything possible to make my stay as confortable as possible. The food was devine and the buffet breakfast was great. I was actually up earlier just to get in a great feed of everything from salads, noodle dishes, freash fruit and juices, vegetables, omelettes to order and pasteries just to name a few. The pool and bar is just paradise and the rooms are very spacious and all you need to a comfortable, affordable holiday. I also found it handy to have the tuk tuk stand right outside the hotel, no waiting for transport, they were there waiting for me when I wanted to go somewhere. The reception staff were willing to answer any questions I had at any time. This resort has anything you need from babysitters, kids room, games room, free internet services, great food, great rooms with exceptional views and beds. I highly recommend this to all travellers.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caspergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
Dear Guest,

It gives our team immense pleasure to know you had a memorable experience with us.
We thank you and look forward to your continued valuable patronage.

Warm Regards
Management
Avista, Phuket.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2010

I and my friends went to Thailand early this year. It was actually our first time to be there and we really had a great time spending a vacation in this place. We opted to choose Avista, as recommended by my friend’s officemate. I must say that his suggestion is absolutely brilliant; we had a wonderful stay in the hotel. But before anything else, in order to reach the place, you need to make sure that you already made an arrangement to somebody for your transportation. It’s because the management don’t offer this kind of service. Guests can get what they want because of different variety of food that they served to us. We also enjoyed swimming in the pool, but they need to do a bit more arrangement in the pool side in order to accommodate more guests who just want to sit there, etc, most especially to people who want to spend more time under the sun without direct heat from it. We were able to talk few minutes of walk going to the beach. Well, the beach is very beautiful. Overall, I do recommend you guys to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lk0ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2010
Dear Guest,

At the outset we would like to thank you for your patronage. We consider your suggestions valuable in our constant search to further enhance our guest experience. We are in process of the remedial steps and hope the same will be resolved before your next visit.

Warm Regards
Management Avista Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

Myself and wife spent 8nights in the Avista hotel and it was the best holiday we have ever had and the best hotel weve stayed in!! and we are cabin crew and travel the world with our job. The hotel staff are so nice, warm and welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are massive with a bath/shower, huge tv, the hotel is so quiet. Breakfast there is plenty of choice - bread, cereal, salads, hotel food. juices all very tasty. Large swimming very freshing with a swim up bar.

The hotel is on a slight hill but no problems... walk down the hill turn right to kata beach only 2 mins walk or turn left to the shops, restaurants, bar.

We went to kata centre, karon, patong and we felt Avista was the best location on the island for us.

Take a trip to James Bond Island the most incredible trip so of the most breaktaking islands you will ever get to see. I felt like I was in paradise.

Shopping is cheap but perhaps not as cheap as in Bangkok.
We went to the weekend market in Phuket city but wasnt as cheap as we expected and it cost us 500baht each way in a taxi.

Experience a thai massage from only 200baht.

Fantastic place and I cant wait to go back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thank you Avista

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crewfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving the privilege to host you.
We are happy to know you had a pleasant stay with us.
We look forward to your continued valuable patronage.

Warm Regards

Management
Avista Phuket.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

My wife and I just returned from a 7 night stay at Avista resort. We had a very relaxing holiday and the staff at Avista were very friendly, welcoming and helpful (special mention to Matilda who really looked after us and made sure our stay was very comfortable throughout, particularly when we requested a room change during our stay so as to get a better view from our balcony). Whilst we visited during the rainy season, we only experienced one day of bad weather (this time of year is almost perfect as the resort is very quiet and the crowds in and around Kata were small in number). The rest of the time we spent lazing by the pool, walking by the beach, shopping around the island, enjoying lots of restaurants close to the resort and enjoying our daily foot massages. Breakfast at the resort is more than adequate, with plenty of choice to cater for all taste buds. The rooms are very tidy and clean, as are the grounds and facilities. The resort is close to Kata beach (only seven minutes), and while there is a steep hill to negotiate upon your return, it's not a big deal! The advantage of being on the hill is that the resort is sheltered from some of Kata's nightlife, particularly the side of the resort facing Karon beach (which is where you should stay if you like very quiet surroundings with no noise). The pool is great, but may get crowded during peak season if the resort is packed to capacity (but the beach is so close anyway). Overall, we had a great time and would recommend the resort, its staff, the service and location to others seeking a quiet, relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidG40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2010
Dear Guest,

At the outset we would like to thank you for your valuable patronage. It is a pleasure to know you had a pleasant stay with us. Team Avista looks forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards
Management
Avista Phuket.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

A great resort in which to stay. Very close to shops, beach, taxis and other beaches up and down the coast.
Very friendly staff that couldn't do enough for us. The resort is clinically clean and the pool conplex is superb.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BLACKCAT12369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving the privilege to host you.
We are happy to know you had an excellent stay with us.
We look forward to your continued valuable patronage.

Warm Regards

Management
Avista Phuket.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
2.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#14 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
1.3 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa

Property: Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Address: 4 Leam Sai Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Avista Phuket Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in Luxurious Accommodations at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort & Spa at Kata Beach. Raise your vacation to a higher level and have a stunning experience in Thailand. Novotel Phuket Kata, not just any other hotels -- it stands as one of the most expressive and stylish ones in Phuket. This beautiful hotel's design itself is a splendid architectural deco-nature model of bio-regional and ecological harmony. Set against gently sloping hills, it is the perfect spot to achieve your much-needed relaxation as well as to explore the wild jungles, magnificent beaches, and exciting nightlife of Kata. The nice hotel's pool area is likewise a striking, exotic oasis of cascading royal-blue water juxtaposed against the turquoise Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Phuket Hotel Kata Beach
Avista Phuket Resort And Spa
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort And Spa Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing