We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious resort away from the hustle and bustle” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxurious resort away from the hustle and bustle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

This place had everything we needed and just about everything we expected.

The deluxe room we stayed in was big, clean, luxurious and had a view of the pools and ocean. There was a 40" LCD TV, huge bathroom, balcony and in-room WiFi (available all over the resort including poolside).

The buffet breakfast included in our package was very good, with food to suit most people. I especially enjoyed the fresh eggs and omelettes that were prepared on the spot for you within a minute!

The beauty of this resort isn't just in all of the above, but in the smiles, politeness and pleasantries of all the staff (including those working behind the scenes). They welcomed us daily and was always professional to deal with.

And in regards to the location, the resort is about 200m from the beach or shops, and yes it is set up on a small hillside. Go down the hill, turn left for the shops/restaurants, or turn right for the beach. I'm in my mid 30's with bad knees and the hill did not cause any problems whatsoever. I actually loved the fact that the resort is away from the street stalls or shopfronts. There is a mini bus shuttle service that runs down to the beach for those who don't want to walk, but it was on a set schedule, and on a first-come, first-served basis.

Overall, a great place to stay.

Note: there is what looks to be some cleared land next door (up the hill, and mostly out of sight) that looks primed to be developed into a new resort - no work was being done or started whilst we were there in late August 2010.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorrytron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGESH-IYER, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving the privilege to host you.
We are happy to know you had a pleasant stay with us.
We look forward to your continued valuable patronage.
Best Regards
Magesh Iyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,431
    681
    167
    41
    18
See reviews for
662
1,095
70
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

This is the 3rd time myself & my partner have been in Phuket, but the first time we've stayed in this hotel. We were very pleasantly surprised for what we got at this price point (booked though Latestays.com). The standard room is large & very modern with nice lighting, a good bath, large LCD screen, DVD player & free wifi internet access in the rooms - very handy! (Many hotels in the area charge for internet access & have smaller TVs & no DVD players). Most of the review comments here are spot on but I'll just echo a few:
Staff were *very* helpful & promptly resolved any issues (ie: safe-box in the room didn't close properly at first & was replaced entirely in just a few minutes. All questions (such as details about car rental) were answered very fast via reception). Staff seemed to have a strong grasp of English, so there were no communication difficulties (unlike many other hotels in the area), & were always very friendly & accomodating (we were given free heavy baggage storage when we went to PhiPhi for 3 nights & when we returned were greeted with a "welcome back" cake & more fresh fruit! We had a late return flight & there was no problem (& no charge) for more baggage storage & the use of a room for a shower before the flight (many hours after check out).
We really loved the extra facilities as well, such as the gym & the small games room (with pingpong & pool table) & appreciated that the (well lit) pool stayed open until 9:00PM (quite a lot later than other hotels). We found the buffet breakfast very satisfying, (especially the fruit selection).
Basically, we were very impressed with our stay & would happily return. This hotel is probably the very best balance between cost/quality in Phuket.
One minor niggle would be that hill. We found it short & no problem at all, & the beach is very close - but possibly some older people might find it a bit annoying.
Overall, this is a really nice hotel with helpful, friendly staff, nice food & great facilities.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrell_Flood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGESH-IYER, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving the privilege to host you.
We are happy to know you had a pleasant stay with us.
We look forward to your continued valuable patronage.
Best Regards
Magesh Iyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanathur, India
Level Contributor
226 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

Just a 5 minute walk to the beach, but the return walk a good expedition, since a small hill climb.
Walkable to the shopping area and to another beach front. The hotel has various food option but walkable distance, you have various restaurant option.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RTBMamallapuram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGESH-IYER, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving the privilege to host you.
We are happy to know you had a pleasant stay with us.
We look forward to your continued valuable patronage.
Best Regards
Magesh Iyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

Both myself and hubby stayed at Room 318 from 23rd to 26th August. Totally surprised with their warm welcome with the wrist flowers, cold towel and welcome drink! When we went into the room, we were totally surprised with the welcome decoration stating, "Happy HoneyMoon" on the bed with 2 lovely swans made from the bath towels!
There was even a welcome cake and fruits too.
Lovely and friendly staff over there. Great to know many of the staff there can speak English. Matilda was very prompt and friendly too.
However, the only thing was that the bath water switch was not working, when we called for servicing, the staff was at our room within 3 to 5 mins! I'm impressed with their promptness in their service! But it broke down again the next day, but we alright with it as we always use the shower instead.
Breakfast was good too, many choices to choose from.
Overall conclusion. Both my husband and I loved the resort, will definitely return on our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mich_liu82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGESH-IYER, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving the privilege to host you.
We are happy to know you had a pleasant stay with us.
We look forward to your continued valuable patronage.
Best Regards
Magesh Iyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

You would not be making mistake booking Avista for your Phuket trip, as long as you do not have any fitness issues which would prevent you from walking up a steep slope (5-minute walk).

The deluxe room we had was modern and comfortable. One small inconvenience was that the air-cond was a bit too cold at times, and it was rather difficult to adjust it to a more comfortable setting. The staff of the hotel were some of the friendliest we have ever met and the quality of service is equivalent to any luxury hotel. The staff in the hotel are the biggest assets and not only are they incredibly hospitable, but they were willing to provide almost any information/ help you requested. To the Avista team, well done and keep this up!

We truly enjoyed our stay at Avista. However, bear in mind that if you are going to stay in the Kata-Karon area, be prepared to have to pay about 400 baht for a one way trip to/ from Patong. We stayed in Phuket for 3 nights and went to Patong on two of the nights. Both times we managed to catch the shuttle bus to Patong, but a tuk-tuk ride back to the hotel cost us 350 baht both times.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffreyYSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGESH-IYER, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2010
Dear Guest,
It gives my team and myself immense pleasure to learn you had a memorable experience with us.
We thank you and look forward to your continued valuable patronage.
Warm Regards
Magesh Iyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

Our family stayed here and had a very nice time. It was cosy and pleasant hotel.
We had 10 days staying here. For us, our rooms was absolute great: big size, nice LCD TV and even a cd player. We like the bathroom as it is big and comfortable.
Bad thing was that the breakfast was not great. It provided lots of choice but what we love is good coffee and they don't have a good one. Also it seems that Asian hotel can never provide good bread and this happened from this hotel as well.
However, apart from those, there is a good gym.
Overall, few bad points but will come back, i am sure they will be better.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esamaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGESH-IYER, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2010
Dear Guest,
It gives my team and myself immense pleasure to learn you had a memorable experience with us. We have noted your valuable feedback and assure you of remedial action where required. We thank you and look forward to your continued valuable patronage.
Warm Regards
Magesh Iyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

We loved everything about our stay at Avista, we even got to like the hill, it became a challenge! We had small children and they were looked after by all the staff, from the pool bar men(they gave them floaties and balls to play with!) to the restaurant staff where the children were doted on and cared for by all. We changed hotels, three times during our stay as we travelled to different places and Avista was always our favourite!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hughlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGESH-IYER, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2010
Dear Guest,
It gives my team and myself immense pleasure to learn you had a memorable experience with us.
We thank you and look forward to your continued valuable patronage.
Warm Regards
Magesh Iyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
2.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#14 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
1.3 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa

Property: Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Address: 4 Leam Sai Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Avista Phuket Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in Luxurious Accommodations at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort & Spa at Kata Beach. Raise your vacation to a higher level and have a stunning experience in Thailand. Novotel Phuket Kata, not just any other hotels -- it stands as one of the most expressive and stylish ones in Phuket. This beautiful hotel's design itself is a splendid architectural deco-nature model of bio-regional and ecological harmony. Set against gently sloping hills, it is the perfect spot to achieve your much-needed relaxation as well as to explore the wild jungles, magnificent beaches, and exciting nightlife of Kata. The nice hotel's pool area is likewise a striking, exotic oasis of cascading royal-blue water juxtaposed against the turquoise Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Phuket Hotel Kata Beach
Avista Phuket Resort And Spa
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort And Spa Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing