We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms and excellent service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2010

Had a fantastic stay in this hotel in March, 2010. Visited Phuket with my wife, parents and aunty. This is a new and excellent property. I would in summary say the following:

Pros: Excellent rooms. Very very new. Attention to detail in the room is great.LCD TVs etc. etc. Great bathrooms with tub and shower both. Lots of towels. Very good breakfast spread. Lots to choose from. Nice 2 level pool. Exellent service. All the staff are well trained and are extremely courteous.They never fail to help or greet any of the guests. ALways smiling, they try to make everyone comfortable. All phone calls (to house keeping, reception etc.) were promptly answered to. Requests for extra tea/coffee sachets were cheerfully attended to. Very good and competent General Manager. Took personal care of us.

Cons: None. Only con that I could think of is that it is located on a steep hill. Bit of a climb but not a big deal, the climb is manageable. If someone has mobility problems, he/she can take the shuttle.

Overall: One of the best holidays I have ever had. Service wise, probably the best service I have got in my life (believe me, I have stayed in a lot of hotels across Asia and this one would rate on top in service). A small metion on the service levels-We had 2 rooms. We retained one room for a late checkout and checked out from the other one as per stipulated time. Unfortunately we forgot the printouts of our air tickets and my wife's pregnancy certificiate (needed for flying) and some other important papers in the room we checked out from. We realised this only in the night when we were checking out. We called the reception and they promptly despatced someone to look for the papers. The papers were probably thrown away by the housekeeping who cleaned the room. We thought we had lost them. However when we were checking out (paying our bills) we see that one of the hotel staff has retrieved the papers (from the dustbin or wherever they were thrown) and was running to the reception to hand them over to us!!! Man we were relieved and blown away by the stupendous service. Hats off to the staff and the management to train their staff in such a manner!

Overall it is an excellent hotel and strongly recommended!

Special Mention:

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indian2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGESH-IYER, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2010

Dear Guest,

It gives my team and myself immense pleasure to learn you had a memorable experience with us.

We thank you and look forward to your continued valuable patronage.

Warm Regards

Magesh Iyer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,978 - 1,984 of 2,609 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2010

Except for the steep climb up to the hotel, everything else was far above par! The rooms were much larger than expected, very clean, and with a contemporary modern design. The room area was very well furnished with a movable dining table, a couch area, LCD TV and built-in DVD player as well! The toilet was pristine - very well stocked with toiletries and amendities. It even came with a separate shower room and bathtub. The room far beat our expectations for a hotel priced this competitively!

Kata beach was a mere 10 min walk away from the hotel, which is located just at the edge of Kata town. Once you manage to get down from the hill, a whole slew of shops, restaurants and convenience stores are just at your doorstep - Albeit Kata town is not as heppening as Patong, the slightly quieter atmosphere there makes the area all the more relaxed and slow paced.

The hotel staff were friendly, helpful and always willing to assist with any requests promptly. Our stay was thoroughly enjoyable and we would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Phuket but want to be slightly further away from all the hustle and bustle!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicholasyuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGESH-IYER, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2010

Dear Guest,

It gives my team and myself immense pleasure to learn you had a memorable experience with us.

We thank you and look forward to your continued valuable patronage.

Warm Regards

Magesh Iyer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

u are perfect .we are not come to phuket with tour , and i think for people that not have a leader ur hotel is perfect place because your hotel can help us any where we like to go in any time , we hope that we could come back soon in avista hotel because we all miss you all .

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anooshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGESH-IYER, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2010

Dear Guest,

It gives my team and myself immense pleasure to learn you had a memorable experience with us.

We thank you and look forward to your continued valuable patronage.

Warm Regards

Magesh Iyer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2010

We really like the Avista. A big steep hill up to it insured it was in a quiet location. We booked directly with the hotel and requested a higher floor and sea view room. We could have had a cheaper rate through Agoda (saved AU$110 for our stay) but decided to book direct and hopefully get the view. Our wishes were granted! Stunning views out over Kata and to the hill with the Big Buddha on it. Check in was great, hand towels, a cold drink and efficiency were all there! Friendly staff too. The rooms could not be faulted we had the family room (deluxe?) with a king bed and a double bed in the room. Every amenity was there. Rooms were huge and clean and the service was good every day. We also had our own verandah which had comfortable chairs and a table.
It is a short stroll into Kata where you can find eateries etc. We enjoyed the lime fruit smoothies at Dukes bar in town. Cannot recommend the lovlely lady (Phuket vacation travel I think it is called, opposite the large show shop in town) who sits outside and organised our tours (private) to Phi Phi island (own speedboat) and around Phuket (private minivan) She was so efficient, courteous, spoke good english and was always the best price. She also organised laundry servicertourtrouo sitvo which was done very well and cheaply.
Back to the Avista....the pool looked good, not enough lounges for the number of people and the pool bar was closing when we went down for an early evening aperitif. The breakfast buffet was very good but it is extremely hot sitting in the restaurant so we only went for breakfast at the hotel. The price we secured for 6 nights including breakfast for 2 adults was about AU$720 which was an absolute bargain for the quality we enjoyed.
The only thing we were disappointed in was the Kid's Club, a tiny room at the end of the hotel. We were originally going to Krabi but didn't like the look of the kids clubs i the hotels we could afford. Avista's sounded great but in reality was just another x box spot....so we didn't use it in the end. Ther eis a 7 eleven in kata and we stocked up on beers etc here as it is much cheaper than buying from the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ossitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGESH-IYER, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2010

Dear Guest,

It gives my team and myself immense pleasure to learn you had a memorable experience with us.

We thank you and look forward to your continued valuable patronage.

Warm Regards

Magesh Iyer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2010

Pretty and stylish hotel. Fell that it's new (was built in 2009). Hotel is located on the hill. And it's not so small, but for guests it is bus bу schedule several times a day to Patong and Kata beach.
There are a lot of restrants, massage, cafe around Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AfricaRussia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGESH-IYER, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2010

Dear Guest,

At the outset we would like to thank you for your valuable patronage. It is a pleasure to know you had a pleasant stay with us. Team Avista looks forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards
Magesh Iyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

I spent a week with my wife in this new and beautiful hotel.

We were wery satisfied with very friendly personal in the hotel, especially in reception.

Our grand de luxe room was spaceful and very good equipped - the only thing which was missing was the wiev from our balcony from 2nd floor. There were no traffic noise but some music from Kata or other rooms reached the roon in the evening.

The breakfast was diverse and tasty. The young man who fried eggs was extra nice!

The weather was very hot during our trip and therefore the walk to the hill was sweaty, but it's not a problem to use taxi or tuktuk instead of walking.

We didn't use the pools so much, but they were ok. There are already big palms and other trees planted in the garden even if it's so newly grounded.

The Spa was a bit expensive related to massage services in the beach or down in Kata, but my wife was very satisfied with the massage in Sukko Spa.

I honestly can recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gusu68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGESH-IYER, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2010

Dear Guest, At the outset we would like to thank you for your valuable patronage. It is a pleasure to know you had a pleasant stay with us. Team Avista looks forward to your next visit. Warm Regards Magesh Iyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

excellent room, fantastic buffet spread for breakfast, good location if you like the peace of quiet from Patong but still very accessible being 8min drive from Patong

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PebblesSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGESH-IYER, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2010

Dear Guest,

At the outset we would like to thank you for your valuable patronage. It is a pleasure to know you had a pleasant stay with us. Team Avista looks forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards
Magesh Iyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.9 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#9 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,249 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,194 reviews
1.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#7 of 56 in Kata Beach
830 reviews
9.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.5 mi away
Sawasdee Village
Sawasdee Village
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa

Address: 4 Leam Sai Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Avista Phuket Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: $96 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in luxurious accommodations at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort & Spa at Kata Beach. Raise your vacation to a higher level and have a stunning experience in Thailand. Novotel Phuket Kata, not just any other hotels -- it stands as one of the most expressive and stylish ones in Phuket. This beautiful hotel's design itself is a splendid architectural deco-nature model of bio-regional and ecological harmony. Set against gently sloping hills, it is the perfect spot to achieve your much-needed relaxation as well as to explore the wild jungles, magnificent beaches, and exciting nightlife of Kata. The nice hotel's pool area is likewise a striking, exotic oasis of cascading royal-blue water juxtaposed against the turquoise Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Phuket Resort And Spa
Avista Phuket Hotel Kata Beach
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort And Spa Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing