We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2010

excellent room, fantastic buffet spread for breakfast, good location if you like the peace of quiet from Patong but still very accessible being 8min drive from Patong

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PebblesSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGESH-IYER, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 30, 2010
Dear Guest,

At the outset we would like to thank you for your valuable patronage. It is a pleasure to know you had a pleasant stay with us. Team Avista looks forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards
Magesh Iyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,451
    693
    172
    44
    21
See reviews for
681
1,107
70
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2010

Avista Resort & Spa is a gem in the middle of Kata Beach - nestled into the hillside - it felt as if we were miles away from the hustle and bustle of the streets just down the way. It was quiet, clean and extremely relaxing. We stayed in the One Bedroom Suite and it was outstanding - large, spacious overlooking the pool and ocean with two balconies. Unfortunately never tried the large tub overlooking the sky-line but the showers were large enough to make you feel like a millionaire.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jrf202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGESH-IYER, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 30, 2010
Dear Guest,

At the outset we would like to thank you for your valuable patronage. It is a pleasure to know you had a pleasant stay with us. Team Avista looks forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards
Magesh Iyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krasnoyarsk
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2010

"Avista hotel" is an incredible hotel I had ever been to. Perfect staff, plush accommodation, delicious cuisine at the breakfast, welcoming atmosphere. The location of the hotel is good for them who is fond of sport exercises, especially for training foot muscles, because the hotel is situated on the hill. For those who doesn't like to stump to the beach there is a hotel bus. I advise all tourists to stay here. You will not regret!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliasik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGESH-IYER, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 30, 2010
Dear Guest,

At the outset we would like to thank you for your valuable patronage. It is a pleasure to know you had a pleasant stay with us. Team Avista looks forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards
Magesh Iyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2010

Beautiful new hotel situated near both Kata and Karon beach. Great service and facilities. Breakfast served in the reataurant was very good. One of the best breakfast experiences in Thailand actually. (have stayed in many hotels in Thailand]. Would definitively consider to stay at this hotel again another time.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Experiencechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGESH-IYER, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 30, 2010
Dear Guest,

At the outset we would like to thank you for your valuable patronage. It is a pleasure to know you had a pleasant stay with us. Team Avista looks forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards
Magesh Iyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2010

Hotel was opened at the end of 2009 and there is still minor work to do. Located 7 min walk to Kata beach on a hill so there is a huge exercises for the legs. No sunbeds owned by the hotel on the beach - be ready to pay 3 bucks for each.
Avista club room was pretty nice but with one defect of design - pot is seen through glass that separates living room and bathroom
There are insects even of fifth floor - cockroaches, lizards etc
Air condition is automatically set to 23 C each time you enter the room - beware of the cold
Staff is dumb and speak english badly.
Beware to break or mess anything in room - You will be charged at 1000% of price.
Restaurant is overpriced. Do not eat sour fruits on breakfast
There is building site right over the hedge for March 2010

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenissFromRiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGESH-IYER, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 30, 2010
Dear Guest,

At the outset we thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We have noted your feed back and assure of remedial action where required.

Looking forward to your continued patronage.

Warm Regards
Magesh Iyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2010

We spent 5 nights at Avista. We booked an Avista Club Room which was an excellent choice. The room was on the top floor and had a spectacular view over the ocean and Kata Beach. Big balcony with comfortable chairs. The room had all necessary amenities including bathrobes. I do not know other type of rooms and how they differ from the Club Room.

The buffet breakfast at the hotel was great, juices, fruits, eggs&bacon, bread, cheeses, pancakes, asian dishes etc. Good coffee. A little noisy but otherwise very good.

The pool area was nice. Nothing fancy, but ok to spend a few days. Separate 0.4 m deep pool for toddlers. They had construction work going on next door and that caused some noise.

We payed about THB 4000 for the Club room per night and I think that was a bargain taking into account the brand-new hotel, nice service, good breakfast. However, the restaurant and bar (lunch and drinks) were a little pricy and the special Chinese New Year dinner (THB 990 + taxes) a robbery.

The hotel is situated on top of a hill. Great view, but a climb or two every day. Very very very steep climb of 150-200 metres. No problem for a healthy person and ok even with strollers, however some extra effort needed.

Otherwise the location is quite good for Kata. If you consider Kata, book a hotel either in north side of Kata or in south Kata. I do not recommend a hotel in between, since Club Med (a huge hotel by the beach) blocks the beach. The beach is accessible only from both ends of the beach, not in the middle. The north (like Avista) allows you to visit Karon as well. The best in Kata is the beach: it was the best beach for children I have ever visited. Shallow, clean, calm waters, white sand like powder. Otherwise we were disapptointed in Kata. Narrow, noisy streets, remote sea and beach due to the Club Med.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matkustaja13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGESH-IYER, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 9, 2010
Dear Guest, At the outset we would like to thank you for your valuable patronage. It is a pleasure to know you had a pleasant stay with us. Team Avista looks forward to your next visit. Warm Regards Magesh Iyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2010

My girlfriends and I stayed at the Avista for a girl's trip. The resort is new and very modern. We were greeted after a 1 hr long shuttle ride with fresh juice and the most fragrant flower leis. Our room was clean and the beds were really comfortable! The bathroom was a bit odd in that the wall separating the bathroom and the bedroom was glass, but at least there was a blind that you can draw. The bathroom was huge with a shower and tub. The products provided were abundant.

The breakfast at the resort is one of the best breakfasts we've ever had. There was the usual bacon, sausage and made-to-order stations. But then they also had fresh exotic fruit, and dim sum! The coffee was EXCELLENT.

We stayed at the resort pool for 1 day, just lounging on the plush lounge chairs (make sure you get one early!). The pool bar was great - the california roll is really good!

We also had a massage and facial at the resort spa. It is quite a bit more expensive than what you can get in Thailand, but the service is top notch.

Something to note: the hotel is located on top of a very steep hill - be prepared for a walk. Kata beach and Karon beach are both very close walks away. We liked Karon beach better ourselves.

Make sure you eat at one of the restaurants on the seafood shack row! We ate at the Best Friend's seafood shack every night - the deep fried fresh fish with panang curry and the fresh lobster are DELICIOUS!

And also make sure you sample the banana pancake made at one of the pancake stands!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vacat!on
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGESH-IYER, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2010
Dear Guest,

At the outset we would like to thank you for your valuable patronage. It is a pleasure to know you had a pleasant stay with us.
Team Avista looks forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards

Magesh Iyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
2.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
1.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
1.1 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
1.4 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa

Property: Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Address: 4 Leam Sai Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Avista Phuket Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in Luxurious Accommodations at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort & Spa at Kata Beach. Raise your vacation to a higher level and have a stunning experience in Thailand. Novotel Phuket Kata, not just any other hotels -- it stands as one of the most expressive and stylish ones in Phuket. This beautiful hotel's design itself is a splendid architectural deco-nature model of bio-regional and ecological harmony. Set against gently sloping hills, it is the perfect spot to achieve your much-needed relaxation as well as to explore the wild jungles, magnificent beaches, and exciting nightlife of Kata. The nice hotel's pool area is likewise a striking, exotic oasis of cascading royal-blue water juxtaposed against the turquoise Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Phuket Hotel Kata Beach
Avista Phuket Resort And Spa
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort And Spa Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing