We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taxi mafia is not that bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I'm not going to repeat the good things about Avista, previous reviews say it all: excellent value for money, friendly staff, spacious room and etc.

Before we arrived I was a bit concerned about the taxi mafia mentioned in many reviews. I was under the impression that they are aggressive and rude. The fact is, they didn't bother us at all. Surely Phuket taxi is expensive, but at least the mafia outside Avista doesn't charge any more than the ones on the street. We used their service a couple of times and both drivers are genuinely friendly. And if you don't want their service, simply smile and say no, they will leave you alone, this also works for the massage, suits and time share people. The mafia problem needs to be fixed by the government, but before that it shouldn't put you off for staying at Avista.

In the end I would like to mention a few minor problems:

Some wooden furnitures in the room are chipped quite badly and make the room look worn.

The music played at the pool bar are not the relaxing type but disco-like.

Gym needs better ventilation and perhaps air freshener; been there a couple of times and the smell is very unpleasant.

Spa is good but still doesn't justify it's high price.

Overall Avista is a great place to stay in Kata and we will definitely return in the future.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rayray0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Rayray0103,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination and for appreciating our staff members. We would like to assure you that your much detailed feedback has been acknowledged and discussed with our team members to initiate corrective measures. It is our constant endeavor to better our product and services with every passing year and your feedback will certainly help in improving these services further.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm Regards,

Management,
Avista, Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

984 - 990 of 2,609 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2014

The greeting from Nest was such a beautiful experience with a fresh cold juice and a cold face towel. The staff here are amazing and make the difference between a good hotel and a great hotel. My wife and I spent 10 beautiful nights here and would strongly recommend it to anybody. Our room was fantastic and kept spotless by the friendly staff. The pools are awesome and the breakfast is great. In our opinion Kata is the most ideal place to stay in Phuket. The beach is lovely, most of the restaurants are great and the night life is entertaining. The massage centre at the bottom of the hill is amazing. Make sure you try their fish spa. Free internet all over the resort was also great. The famous hill is steep but short so doesn't create much of a problem. If you have a holiday booked at Avista then get excited because you will love it.

Room Tip: We had a grand deluxe room which had a King and Queen size bed. The beds were the most comfortable h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Steve c,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sparing the time to share your valuable feedback. We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay and liked our resort’s facilities and service. We are overwhelmed by your appreciation of our team members and your feedback is shared with all. It has been our joy and privilege to serve you and we look forward to being of service to you again when you next return to our resort.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

We love this place. The staff are awesome, friendly and polite. They provided great service that I could not fault for one instance.

The resort itself is great. Apart from the hill leading into the resort, it's just in a fantastic location, 2 beautiful designed and well kept pools, nice decor and just an overall great environment.

Dinner and breakfast there are a must try. Absolutely well priced and the quality far exceeded the asking price.

We will be returning next year and further into the future.

A stunning place, be sure to stay there.

They even surprised me with a birthday cake! Wow!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Ben P,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with others and complimenting our team member’s hospitality. We are delighted to hear that we lived up to your expectations and you had a memorable holiday experience your positive comments will motivate us in delivering services to our best. Your words of appreciation have been shared with our team.

We thank you for your detailed feedback. It is our constant endeavor to better our product and services with every passing year and your feedback will certainly help in improving these services further. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phukets

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

exceptional service and room wonderfully clean. Food average at breakfast but passable . The downfall for us was the pool area too small for hotel size and did not feel comfortable sitting around it - quite cramped and impersonal. only our personal experience though. others may absolutely love it. you could not fault the staff and service though. But for us we would not return as it felt too cramped and enclosed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear jacwil,
Sawasdee Kha!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
We thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you. We are pleased to note that you had a memorable stay with us and enjoyed the resort facilities. It is indeed feedback such as yours which motivate us in delivering services to our best. Your words of appreciation have been shared with our teams.

Once again thank you for your compliment as my team and I stay committed to deliver to our guests satisfaction. We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Management,
Avista, Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Well, very first time in Phuket and choosing to stay a bit away from Patong Beach might not feel like an appealing idea to a lot of people; but we are really glad that we calculated the risk well. Right from entering the Hotel to leaving it, the stay was a delight.

I might have the same general things to say - 'great location', 'great food', 'pool', 'shuttle facilities' etc but one thing that really stood out were the Staff, they really made a difference, certainly being one of the best that I have seen so far. I also think that the associations they have for Phi Phi or James Bond Island were also quite nice and how the money can be paid directly at the Hotel only was a definite relaxation.

The only trouble; which people might feel; is that the hotel is situated at a little height (Tsunami evacuation zone) so there is a steep road of around 50 mtrs. Also, the taxi cartel is what people complain about and we saw that too, but there isn't much that the hotel could do about it.

Also, I forgot to mention the chef "Jo" (hope I remember the name correctly"), I mean the way he is there, every morning, at the egg station with such a lively touch to it - the best start to a day :) for sure.

A few niggles are always there e.g. Breakfast room could be fitted with a few ACs so that they could work out well in Humid days, otherwise it's awesome.

But in a nutshell, the stay was really really good and we would come back for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WASIL K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Wasil K,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
We thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you. We are delighted to note that we met your expectation about the hotel facilities and we are happy to know that our staff has left you with fond memories of the place. Your kind words of appreciation have been shared with the entire team and our staff at the resort remains committed to make moments special and memorable for our esteemed guests.
We would look forward to welcoming you on your next holiday with us.

Warm Regards,

Management,
Avista, Phuket.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

My stay at this hotel was simply great! The staffs are very friendly and helpful. Everything was great and my family enjoyed staying there and will highly recommend other to try it. We will definitively stay at this hotel if we visit Phuket again.
But there's only one downside in the room, the water pressure for showers are quite low and the hot water is not constant. Had a bad experience when have showers. Other than this, the rest was great!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muthu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Muthu M,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sparing the time to share your valuable feedback.

Kindly accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you regarding to water pressure problem. We would like to assure you that we have shared the same with the Chief Engineer, who has initiated corrective action.
We look forward to your next visit and assure you of our best services at all times

Warm Regards,

Management,
Avista, Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Out room wasn't ready when we checked in. No problem, they had another room for us to get ready in so we could go enjoy the beach and pool. Go back to the hotel to get our room assignment. Already done and our luggage is in the room. Need taxis, or tickets to the islands, restaurant reservations, etc. Avista has you covered.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear Bill L,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sparing the time to share your valuable feedback. We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay and liked our resort’s facilities and service.

It has been our joy and privilege to serve you and we look forward to being of service to you again when you next return to our resort.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.9 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#9 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,249 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,194 reviews
1.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#7 of 56 in Kata Beach
830 reviews
9.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.5 mi away
Sawasdee Village
Sawasdee Village
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa

Address: 4 Leam Sai Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Avista Phuket Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: $96 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in luxurious accommodations at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort & Spa at Kata Beach. Raise your vacation to a higher level and have a stunning experience in Thailand. Novotel Phuket Kata, not just any other hotels -- it stands as one of the most expressive and stylish ones in Phuket. This beautiful hotel's design itself is a splendid architectural deco-nature model of bio-regional and ecological harmony. Set against gently sloping hills, it is the perfect spot to achieve your much-needed relaxation as well as to explore the wild jungles, magnificent beaches, and exciting nightlife of Kata. The nice hotel's pool area is likewise a striking, exotic oasis of cascading royal-blue water juxtaposed against the turquoise Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Phuket Resort And Spa
Avista Phuket Hotel Kata Beach
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort And Spa Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing