We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

A great hotel and the service is second to none. This was our second trip to Avista and we were welcomed with a personal card and cake saying 'welcome back', a nice touch! A special mention to Angelique who provided us with fantastic service. Always asking how our day was, taking time out to chat to my children and being able to address any concerns immediately.

We stayed in the Grand Deluxe room, having two young children aged 7 and 9, it was extremely comfortable for our needs. We were on Level 4 and this afforded ocean glimpses and a nice outlook. It also has a great sized balcony with two comfortable chairs which was a nice place to relax and enjoy the ambience with a glass of wine or beer!

The pools were great. The pool on the bottom level is designed with children in mind and has a smaller shallow pool next to it. The main pool has a pool bar with happy hour between 3 and 5:00 each day. Prices are fine and the cocktail selection caters for most people!

We used the kids club for an hour whilst my wife and I had a massage and the children loved it. It is run by two great Thai ladies who were excellent.

The hill to the resort is steep, however for all of the food and drinks consumed on holidays, we thought of it as forced exercise. There is always the option of getting a Tuk Tuk for those that do not want to walk up the hill - for us though, it took 3 minutes maximum!

My only suggestion for improvement would be to place a toilet near the pool, perhaps next to the gym. The nearest toilet is at the restaurant at the entrance to the resort, which is a decent walk and involved walking through he restaurant each time. This was an issue raised by some of the other guests we spoke too whilst we were there. That is the only negative though, we have already booked our trip back! A great location and a great hotel!

Room Tip: Request a higher level if possible - Level 4 and 5 have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ozzie_NT_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Ozzie_NT_Chris,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with others and complimenting our team member’s hospitality and our resort’s facilities. We are delighted to hear that we lived up to your expectations and you had a memorable holiday experience your positive comments will motivate us in delivering services to our best. Your words of appreciation have been shared with our team members, who have left you with fond memories of the place.

It is our constant endeavor to better our product and services with every passing year and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,451
    693
    172
    44
    21
See reviews for
681
1,107
70
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Lovely hotel everything was clean and modern.rooms were very nice amazing air con, the rooms had the extra facilities of a microwave fridge iron all these extra things that were very helpful during our stay.

Nice pool are with nice comfortable sunloungers.

Breakfast was excellent with a great selection of fresh food as well as an egg chef.

The service from the staff was very good they were all very attentive and friendly.nice touches such as cold towels and chilled drink served on arrival.pillow menu in the rooms,room service.

The hotels location is close enough to the beach and kata centre itself, however the hotel is up a very very steep hill please bear this in mind if travelling with anyone with walking difficulties as it is a bit if a hike.There is a shuttle bus that runs to both kata and paying beach but it doesn't run very regularly and there are only 14 seats so there is a high chance you won't be able to be on the shuttle bus.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaCarson1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear LisaCarson1988,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
We are delighted to note that you had a wonderful stay with us and your kind words of appreciation will encourage the entire team to strive for improving the quality of service and we have shared your appreciation with our team members. Your compliments will definitely encourage us to continue and improve our service. We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

I had a wonderful stay at the Avista Resort in February. I would definitely reccommend this property. It is a perfect resort for couples looking for peaceful, modern acocmmodation near Kata beach.
Room - very clean, modern, spacious, well equipped, lovely private balcony.
Service - exceptional at all times.
Facilies - beautiful pool but there are some issues with the availability of sunbeds around main pool with all the sunbeds taken by 8am with guests 'reserving' them by leaving towels, which is quite frustrating.
Location - only 5 minute walk from the beautiful beach. Yes there is a BIG hill to walk up and a reasonable level of fitness is required, but for the privacy and quietness of the resort it is worth it!
Food Dining - good selection at buffet breakfast, restaurant/bar was pretty empty at lunch/dinner time, which was a shame. Food was cheaper and better quality out on the street.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunTraveller84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear SunTraveller84,
Sawasdee krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sparing the time to give us your detailed valuable feedback. We are delighted to hear that we lived up to your expectations and you had a memorable holiday experience. Thank you for complementing our hotel facilities and our services.
Regards to the sun bed we would like to inform that we have placed tent cards on the pool tables informing the standard policy of the resort, that we request the guest not to reserve swimming pool deck beds with towels or other belongings, to avoid inconvenience to other guests. However kindly accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us again.

We would like to thank you for your detailed feedback. It is our constant endeavor to better our product and services with every passing year and your feedback will certainly help in improving these services further.

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

Friendly and attentive staff. I injured my back from a speedboat ride and when they learned of it, they sent me complimentary fruit to my room and a card wishing me to get well. I thought it was a nice touch.

Rooms. Ours was fairly spacious. Our room had the "ocean" view, but was fairly obstructed by trees. The room was clean and the A/C worked great for the Phuket heat. Bed was rather firm. They offered choice of pillows (soft, hard, etc). Our rate included breakfast buffet, which was very good with some standard items like pastries, fruit, cereal and other items like made to order omelet, fresh eggs, and a few local items like noodles (ie, pud thai), fried rice, etc. We ate at the hotel twice for dinner and did room service once, which delivered our food promptly. Overall, it was pretty good, but not better than the local restaurants. Our rate also included 2 free beers daily, and bottled water. The hill was manageable, but not recommended for people who have walking issues. One complaint is that they do not have a ATM on hotel grounds. However, there were a few at the bottom of the hill that were attached to the bank. It would have been more convenient if they had one at the lobby.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank fooman76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear RiccardoMinora,
Sawasdee krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
Thank you for choosing Avista Phuket Resort & Spa as your holiday destination.
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sparing the time to give us your detailed valuable feedback. Kindly accept our apologies for not living up to your holiday expectations. We have made a note of your suggestions and would like to assure you that we would take corrective action on each of them.

Your feedback has given us valuable insights which will help us implement processes to ensure that we deliver a true “Avista Holiday Experience”. We look forward to your next visit and assure you of our best services at all times.

Warm Regards,

Management,
Avista, Phuket.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed here as the first part of our honeymoon in march 2014. Leading up to the trip I had email communication to change some details and nothing was too much trouble for them. Arrival was 5-star with every base covered. We stayed in the avista club room on level 5 - great views of the pool, deeper waters off kata beach, headland and sunset. Room itself was spacious, modern, quiet and with an awesome air conditioner (it was really hot in thailand when we stayed!) staff were all really lovely and helpful. services (room service, cleaning etc) were all professional and fast. Breakfast had a crazy amount of options, it was awesome! Walking into kata was about 2 minutes down the hill... Really convenient spot for restaurants, pharmacy, supermarket, shopping etc. would definitely recommend this resort!

Room Tip: If you want a sea view just ask instead of assuming then complaining like so many people do - the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EK001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear EK001,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with others and complimenting our team member’s hospitality. We are delighted to hear that we lived up to your expectations and you had a memorable holiday experience your positive comments will motivate us in delivering services to our best. Your words of appreciation have been shared with our teams .
Your feedback will give us valuable insights which will help us implement processes to ensure that we deliver a true “Avista Holiday Experience”. We look forward to your next visit and assure you of our best services at all times.
Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppbirkett
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

On arrival after midnight we were greeted by freindly and helpful people who went out of there way to make us feel welcome. The room was huge and on the top floor with great views. Breakfast was great. Coffee was decent. Spa was good but pricey compared to outside of the hotel. Nice little "library" to get books. Great pool area. Good location and 5mins walk to beach and main Kata town.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pbirkett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear pbirkett,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with others and complimenting our team member’s hospitality. We are delighted to hear that we lived up to your expectations and you had a memorable holiday experience your positive comments will motivate us in delivering services to our best. Your words of appreciation have been shared with our team.

It is our constant endeavor to better our product and services with every passing year and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed for 10 days in late March. I couldn't be happier with the hotel. We were met at check-in with drinks and cool towels and shown to our rooms very quickly. We couldn't appreciate the views until the next day but Kata beach and it's surrounds are beautiful.

A number of boozy days at the pool bar watching the footy had us on great terms with many of the super friendly staff and while the gym is basic, the hill that you have to take to town or the beach gives you the cardio that you need each day.

Great staff, a good location and amazing views, food and amenities make the Avista a perfect place to relax.

Room Tip: The higher the better. Top floor with ocean views are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brandon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Brandon G,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sparing the time to share your valuable feedback. We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay and liked our resort’s facilities and service. We are overwhelmed by your appreciation of our team members and your feedback is shared with all. It has been our joy and privilege to serve you and we look forward to being of service to you again when you next return to our resort.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
2.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
1.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
1.1 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
1.4 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa

Property: Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Address: 4 Leam Sai Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Avista Phuket Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in Luxurious Accommodations at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort & Spa at Kata Beach. Raise your vacation to a higher level and have a stunning experience in Thailand. Novotel Phuket Kata, not just any other hotels -- it stands as one of the most expressive and stylish ones in Phuket. This beautiful hotel's design itself is a splendid architectural deco-nature model of bio-regional and ecological harmony. Set against gently sloping hills, it is the perfect spot to achieve your much-needed relaxation as well as to explore the wild jungles, magnificent beaches, and exciting nightlife of Kata. The nice hotel's pool area is likewise a striking, exotic oasis of cascading royal-blue water juxtaposed against the turquoise Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Phuket Hotel Kata Beach
Avista Phuket Resort And Spa
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort And Spa Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing