We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room are spacious but smelly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Macau
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Room are spacious but smelly”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Nice hotel, room are spacious & comfort but smelly, the pool is small and crowded of guests. So many stairs that you have to go up & down. There are many restaurants if you walk down to the hill, location is good but a little bit far away the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank Carlalci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Carlalci,

Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sparing the time to share your valuable feedback. Kindly accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us in regard room smell problem. We would like to assure you that we have shared your feedback regarding the same with our Executive Housekeeper who has initiated corrective actions. We have also briefed our housekeeping supervisors to check the room thoroughly before allocating it to our guests.

It is our constant endeavor to better our product and services with every passing year and your feedback will certainly help in improving these services further. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Warm Regards,

Management,
Avista, Phuket.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,503
    706
    178
    45
    25
See reviews for
709
1,134
72
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sveg, Jämtlands Län, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I was staying at Avista for 2 weeks. I really loved the way I was welcomed! The staff was REALLY nice! Some of them couldn't speak very good english though. But they was always willing to help. The rooms was big, nice, smart and the beds was comfortable. The one thing I didn't like was the down pillows. We had a child bed in our room and it was not comfortable at all. The materess was only about 3-5 cm thin and the planks under it was crooked. We told the staff that but they couldn't do something about it...
The pool area was really nice with a lot of flowers and butterflies. The only bad thing about it was the litter on the bottom of the pool. The restaurant was nice, had many foods to choose between and acceptable prices.
The hill was not ''deadly'' as many writes. It wasn't hard to walk up and down... If you want to you can order a bus to and from the beach, for free!
I will remember this trip for sure! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zuzia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Zuzia C,

Sawasdee krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
Thank you for choosing Avista Phuket Resort & Spa as your holiday destination.

It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sparing the time to give us your detailed valuable feedback. We have made a note of your suggestions and would like to assure you that we would take corrective action on each of them.

Your feedback has given us valuable insights which will help us implement processes to ensure that we deliver a true “Avista Holiday Experience”. We look forward to your next visit and assure you of our best services at all times


Warm Regards,

Management,
Avista, Phuket.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Just got back from a week here, we had a fantastic time. The roomd are lovely, clean and quite large.
The only downfall would have to be distance from Patong, it will cost you 400 b in a TAXI. although the hotel offers a shuttle service it has very limited service and is not very convenient. the bus leaves the hotel at 12, pick up at 5, which is way too long to be in the heat for, they should have more frequent buses.
The hotel restaurant is great for breakfast, but dinner was pretty average and very expensive, much nicer restaurants on the street.
Overall I had a great stay, the pool is great and the resort is superb.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Kristy M,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sparing the time to share your valuable feedback. We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay and liked our resort’s facilities and service. We have shared your feedback with our Food and Beverage Team who will initiate corrective actions to improve the overall dinner experience.
It is our constant endeavor to better our product and services with every passing year and your feedback will certainly help in improving these services further.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

beautifully locared and tadtefully done up . the rooms are big clean and enduring .. makes u want to come back . the beach which is 3 minutes away is great
the breakfast buffet is compact but has all that u want
the pool bar is good , there is kids corner , gym , library and games room .
... njoy phuket wth avista

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pinakiray2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear pinakiray2003,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
We are delighted to note that you had a wonderful stay with us and your kind words of appreciation will encourage the entire team to strive for improving the quality of service.
We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My family were treated like royalty here, what a Fantastic hotel! We hired a car, so we never experienced the hotel's only fault 'the steep hill'. They catered to our family with interconnecting rooms, very modern and clean, the trendy decor blew us away, credit to the housekeeping staff for keeping our rooms spic and span, right to the very last day of our stay the Avista did not disappoint us, as our flight was at 10pm we were given a freshup room a few hours before. The Recreation room and pools were a Godsend for my teenagers when we returned from a long day out. The beaches and shopping are close. We stayed here because we didn't want to be amongst the hussle and bussle of Patong, and thanks to TripAdvisor we chose Avista amongst the 20 or so other contenders. The hotel staff are attentive, kind and very hospitable. Krysline from Reception treated my 4 year old like her own. Fred from the PoolBar has a big heart, so accomodating to our every need - the cheap cocktails are spot on, a great refresher while the kids splash around. Breakfast is plentiful and tasty. Thank you to Ms Iren ( Hotel Mngr) for your kindness and great service. Your staff are perfect. Will definately stay again! Can't wait to tell my friends about this hotel especially the one's in the Travel industry, The Avista Spa Resort deserve's more publicity!

Room Tip: We were on Level 4 - I think Level 5 has great ocean views, but we didn't care because this hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelWifeHappyLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Leena U,

Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
We thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you. We are pleased to note that you had a memorable stay with us and enjoyed the resort facilities. It is indeed feedback such as yours which motivate us in delivering services to our best. Your words of appreciation have been shared with our team, who have left you with fond memories of the place.

Once again thank you for your compliment as my team and I stay committed to deliver to our guests’ satisfaction. We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Very nice hotel in a quiet area but not too far from attractions. Premises are up a hill and about a 5 minute walk to town and less than 10 to the beach. If you don't want walk there are cabs/tuk tuks right outside the hotel. However if you want to take a cab outside of Kata (like to the airport) use the ones down the hill as they are cheaper. The hotel itself is very nice and the rooms are spacious and comfortable with cold drinks and fruit plate on arrival. Free wifi and daily bottles of water, soda, and beer were provided daily. Also, the free breakfast buffet was very good with a wide selection. This is the low season and the hotel had a decent deal for 4 nights. There were a good amount of tourists there during our stay. So during high season I can imagine that Kata gets very crowded and more expensive. The staff are all very nice and we never had any problems. Thanks to Marc and Abigail from the reception desk who were great and very helpful with questions about town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twinblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear twinblues,

Sawasdee krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
Thank you for choosing Avista Phuket Resort & Spa as your holiday destination.

It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sparing the time to give us your detailed valuable feedback. We have shared your kind words of appreciation with our team members, who have left you with fond memories of the place.

We value your feedback and it’s our endeavor to better our product and services with each passing year. We look forward to welcoming you back again at the resort!

Warm Regards,

Management,
Avista, Phuket.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Very friendly staff & clean hotel. We had a very enjoyable stay. We stayed for 7 nights and loved this hotel. Close to beach, shops and many restaurants just a short walk. We would stay here again :) Thank-you to all the staff for a memorable holiday :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Sarah K,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination. We are delighted to note that we met your expectation and we are happy to note that our service left you with fond memories of the place. We value your feedback and it’s our endeavor to better our product and services with each passing year. We look forward to welcoming you back again at the resort!

Warm Regards,
Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.9 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,047 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,934 reviews
1.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
1.4 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa

Property: Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Address: 4 Leam Sai Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Avista Phuket Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in luxurious accommodations at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort & Spa at Kata Beach. Raise your vacation to a higher level and have a stunning experience in Thailand. Novotel Phuket Kata, not just any other hotels -- it stands as one of the most expressive and stylish ones in Phuket. This beautiful hotel's design itself is a splendid architectural deco-nature model of bio-regional and ecological harmony. Set against gently sloping hills, it is the perfect spot to achieve your much-needed relaxation as well as to explore the wild jungles, magnificent beaches, and exciting nightlife of Kata. The nice hotel's pool area is likewise a striking, exotic oasis of cascading royal-blue water juxtaposed against the turquoise Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Phuket Resort And Spa
Avista Phuket Hotel Kata Beach
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort And Spa Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing