We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had an enjoyable stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We had an enjoyable stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Amazing lobby area design, large room with double beds, very suitable for family stay with kids. Nice food in the restaurant with reasonable price, enjoy the evening when we had the dinner facing the pool. The slope is a bit steep to climb, but it's not that long, or if you will be picked up by day tours.

Room Tip: If you travel with your kids, please book the room with two double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Cecilia X,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
We are delighted to note that you had a wonderful stay with us and your kind words of appreciation will encourage the entire team to strive for improving the quality of service. Your compliments will definitely encourage us to continue and improve our service.
We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,431
    681
    167
    41
    18
See reviews for
662
1,095
70
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

A fantastic resort in a great location. We stayed 4 nights of our 15 day Phuket holiday and now wish we had more time at Avista. Being in such close proximatey to Kata beach is the bonus - such a beautiful beach to swim in... The staff at Avista could not do more for us, very professional and friendly. We were particularly impressed and appreciative of the assistance provided by Iren. She walked the breakfast room each morning talking with guests and noting issues - we had a small issue with our room which she went out her way to ensure was rectified - nothing was to much trouble! As for the hill - yes it is steep! For fit people, it is a chance for some exercise before relaxing at the beach or by the pool. For the not so fit, it is a chance to burn some calories after consuming the wonderful breakfast. For the lazy, it is an excuse to sit by the pool and enjoy the resort facilities. Don't be put off by the hill, adds to the experience of this resort - we would return, hopefully for longer next time.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Tony G,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
We are delighted to note that you had a wonderful stay with us and your kind words of appreciation will encourage the entire team to strive for improving the quality of service. We have shared your kind words of appreciation with our team members, who have left you with fond memories of the place. Your compliments will definitely encourage us to continue and improve our service.
We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful rooms, pools and amenities as well as an ideal location if you don't want to stay directly on the beach. Staff is great and hospitable! If you're in good health, the hill is not as bad as many people have said. It may be a bit challenging for older folks though. We enjoyed our stay very much!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Michelle L,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
Thank you for sparing the time to tell us about your holiday in detail. We are delighted to note that we met your expectation and we are happy to note that our service left you with fond memories of the place. We value your feedback and it’s our endeavor to better our product and services with each passing year. We look forward to welcoming you back again at the resort!

Warm Regards,

Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We went there on 30 July when we reached there parking plot to tight then we walk though the restaurant archetecture so nice. staff recommended us for seafood and meat buffet @ 499 baht ( not sure ) the food so nice it's very high velue for the price. service very excellent we can say that is the 5 star and the best in Kata beach with our experience especially Supoj is the best manager he groomed the staff so professional and thanks for looking us after.
i am very proud as my friend came from Chieng Mai and he made them impress.
we will be here again.

Chula

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chula_saikaew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear chula_saikaew,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
Thank you for sparing the time to share your valuable feedback. We are delighted to know that you had a memorable time in our restaurant and liked our service. We are overwhelmed by your appreciation of our team members and your feedback is shared with all. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tianjin, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed in Kata beach for 3 nights at the Avista and it was great. The rooms are clean and spacious. The beds were very comfortable. We slept very well.Everything is beautyful.I'll be back again.

Room Tip: Rooms minibar is not free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Liu P,

Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination. We are delighted to note that we met your expectation and we are happy to note that our service left you with fond memories of the place. We value your feedback and it’s our endeavor to better our product and services with each passing year. We look forward to welcoming you back again at the resort!

Warm Regards,

Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

To begin with, I am not much of a resort person. I like just a casual and easy holiday with the minimum of fuss. Which is why I was so impressed by the Avista. I had five days on my own between work meetings in Singapore and Bangkok, and chose this place for a few days to have some time in the sun. The resort is in a great location, right near Kata Beach. All the people whining in their reviews about the steep hill really need to get a life or maybe do a bit more exercise, as it was not that steep and made the hotel within easy walking distance to the sands and the surf.
The staff at this resort are excellent. Could not fault one person and everyone was so prepared to help out and do whatever they could to make the stay a good one. When I became sick one day due to dehydration (no ones fault but my own by not drinking enough water), the duty manager called in on me twice to see if I needed anything and took care of cancelling the trips I had planned that day. It was a day I just stayed inside and watched the great array of movies and TV - and drank litres of fluid.
Only thing that the Avista needs to pay attention to is the cleanliness of the rooms. I stayed in two rooms and on both times, I had to ask that the bathrooms be cleaned, as the tiles were dirty with mould in the grout. It really was the only sour note. The small gym could also do with some regular airing as I went in there twice, but had to leave due to the overwhelming smell of sweat. Keeping the door open occasionally or better venting can fix this.
I did laugh at an earlier review that complained the reception and dining areas are so open - that is what makes this place so lovely and unique. And the high location (on top of the hill) afford regular breezes, so it was always very cool and comfortable.
Would I stay here again? If in Kata, yes, more than likely. It is a very nice and well run resort with a brilliant staff. Just give the bathroom tiles a bit more of a scrub before I arrive please.

Room Tip: Higher views have great views and you get the breezes
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EasytravelSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear EasytravelSydney,

Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sparing the time to share your valuable feedback. We are happy to note that you had a satisfying holiday with us and your compliments about our team members have been shared with all.

Kindly accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us in regard to the cleanliness of the bathroom. We would like to assure you that we have shared your feedback regarding the same with our Executive Housekeeper who has initiated corrective actions.
We value your feedback in our continual endeavor to offer you better holidays with every passing year and look forward to welcome you back.

Warm Regards,

Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blerick, Limburg, Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had a very warm welcome. The service at the desk is optimal friendly and quick. the swimmingpool is beautifull as well as the loungers. the rooms are clean and nice. breakfast is amazing. we enjoyed staying in Avista.
the hotel is at the top of a small hill, a little climbing after a day swimming will do you good.

a small remark; it would have been nice if the Avista sign at the roof off the hotel entrance would have been lighted

Room Tip: room in building 1 is closer to the entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Marilyn S,

Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sparing the time to share your valuable feedback. We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay and liked our resort’s facilities and service. The light on the logo could not be rectified due to non stop rains, however the same has been repaired now. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
2.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#14 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
1.3 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa

Property: Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Address: 4 Leam Sai Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Avista Phuket Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in Luxurious Accommodations at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort & Spa at Kata Beach. Raise your vacation to a higher level and have a stunning experience in Thailand. Novotel Phuket Kata, not just any other hotels -- it stands as one of the most expressive and stylish ones in Phuket. This beautiful hotel's design itself is a splendid architectural deco-nature model of bio-regional and ecological harmony. Set against gently sloping hills, it is the perfect spot to achieve your much-needed relaxation as well as to explore the wild jungles, magnificent beaches, and exciting nightlife of Kata. The nice hotel's pool area is likewise a striking, exotic oasis of cascading royal-blue water juxtaposed against the turquoise Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Phuket Hotel Kata Beach
Avista Phuket Resort And Spa
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort And Spa Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing