We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A safe choice at Kata Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A safe choice at Kata Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

The hotel is probably one of the best at Kata Beach, although it will not be my first choice next time. I would prefer the southern part of Kata Beach and a more child-friendly hotel.
Travelling with a 5 -year old I would rather choose a hotel with a bit more to offer.
The kids-club is just a tiny room with some toys and two tv's. The kid-club staff is good, but the space is just tiny.
The rooms are all very nice and we had a great Deluxe towards the pool. There is really no need for a Clublevel...Just the same room at double the price, with a limited sea view.

The pros:
- safe and good location on a hilltop
- good selection at breakfast
- clean and well maintained grounds
- good customerservice and friendly staff, especially Iren the customer relations manager(?) and at breakfast.
- The hotel is very good at handling complaints! So if you have something you are not happy about they will try to amend.
- safe to leave your belongings in the room, tried to leave a tip on the table, and the money was never taken..

The cons:
- this area of Kata Beach is in my opinion a bit to sleazy...to many ladybars and not enough good restaurants
- the pools are small and they were freezing cold
- very slippery around the pools, you need to have slippers on
- poor service at the restaurant...everything took ages to order.
- there is only one restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner
- travelling during the rainy season the offers at the hotel are just to limited

Rearding the taxi-mafia outside, there is really nothing to worry about. They charge you an extra 100 bath compared to other taxis, but seriously what is 100 bath...??
We used them for a daytrip around to the Big Buddha/Butterfly Park, Central Festival and Wat Chalong and found the driver to be excellent, so no worries!

So final verdict: Good hotel, good customerservice ( apart from the restaurant) and good rooms. But no WOW factor for me. This hotel is best for couples and families with older children.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the pool, and from the 2n floor and up! Some 1st floor rooms are "below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MimiOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear MimiOslo,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sparing the time to give us your detailed valuable feedback and complimenting the customer centricity and honesty of our team members.
Kindly accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us. We have taken corrective action to most of your observations. We have placed artificial grass on the slippery area next to the pool and for the pool size we would like to inform that many of our guests compliment us for our pool size and layout and also that it looks same as the photos posted in our website. We advise our guests to take a shower from the pool side shower before getting into the pool to acclimatize to the temperature of the pool water.
We have made a note of your feedback regarding the restaurant service and would like to assure you that we have shared the same with the team for corrective actions.
Regarding the availability of only one restaurant, we would like to inform that we are presently in planning stage to open an additional restaurant very soon.
Your feedback will give us valuable insights which will help us implement processes to ensure that we deliver a true “Avista Holiday Experience”.
We look forward to your next visit.
Warm Regards,

Management,
Avista, Phuket.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,451
    693
    172
    44
    21
See reviews for
681
1,107
70
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

The hotel's location is very nice, Kata beach was a bit further away, but the area was less noisy. Our room was spacious and clean, with small balcony overlooking the blue beach in the distance. The pool area look amazing. Breakfast was good with lots of choices. Looking forward to coming back and stay longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anneluntungan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear anneluntungan,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sparing the time to share your valuable feedback. We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay and liked our resort’s facilities and service. We are overwhelmed by your appreciation of our team members and your feedback is shared with all.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

A great hotel with a fantastic buffet breakfast. Very friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms, although the beds are firm, nice balcony off all the rooms, free shuttle to Patong 2 x a day, close walk to Kata beach and village, you certainly can't go wrong with this hotel. The staff were very good to us, and upgraded our room without charge due to a misunderstanding with our booking. Great pools too!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view, facing the afternoon sun! Any floor is OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Jane H,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa! Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
We are delighted to note that you had a wonderful stay with us and your kind words of appreciation will encourage the entire team to strive for improving the quality of service. Your compliments will definitely encourage us to continue and improve our service.
We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

I stayed in Kata beach for 3 nights at the Avista hotel and it was a great experience. The hotel is by far one of the newest in the area. The rooms are clean and spacious. We stayed on the 2nd floor and the room was a bit damp but nothing drastic, the AC worked great. We had a garden view with a nice balcony but not so great view. I would definitely upgrade if view is important to you, also ask for a high floor. The beds were excellent great pillows, I had a fantastic nights sleep which is always very important to me:) Free WI FI, great shower and bathrooms. The free breakfast every morning is superb! Everything from cereal and pastries, fresh fruits and juices to pancakes and Thai food. The location is perfect. Kata beach can be busy and quite noisy so if you want to be off the main street the Avista is not beach front but I thought it was perfect. Its located a short 7 minute walk from the beach up on the mountain side. The hill is quite steep and you do have to walk up and down it so prepare yourself or take a taxi! I loved the location it was up on the hill and quite away from the massage, tuk tuks and markets, but still so close to the beach and restaurants and shopping. The only thing i was a little disappointed in was the concierge. It was very difficult to get help from the hotel for booking ours or boats etc...The staff was very kind and pleasant just not very knowledgeable. If you do stay here book excursions through an agent there is a great lady who is located just at the foot of the hill to the left next to the tattoo parlor she is very helpful and will get you great prices. Enjoy Kata beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and pool or sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovelyDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear LovelyDK,

Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
We thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you. We are pleased to note that you had a memorable stay with us and enjoyed the resort facilities. It is indeed feedback such as yours which motivate us in delivering services to our best. Your words of appreciation have been shared with our team.
We apologies for the disinterest shown by our concierge to assist you. We would like to assure you that we have briefed our staff, to be more sensitive to guest requests in the future. We are also conducting a series of training program to achieve better service standards.

We value your feedback in our continual endeavor to offer you better holidays with every passing year and look forward to welcome you back.
Warm Regards,

Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at Avista Phuket for 8 nights in March-2013, in a Deluxe room. This hotel was recommended by one of our friends, and we were very happy with our choice. The whole experience was trouble free, from the moment we checked in until we left. The staff was great, and the Thai food, what can I say - magnifique! We ate all our meals at the hotel's restaurant, the food was so great that we didn't want to try anything else. Drinks were also very well priced, in generall, Thailand as a holiday destination is great value for money. Every second night, they had a themed buffet (e.g. "The Taste of Siam", "Surf and Turf BBQ"), with very fresh food (some cooked to order) and high quality ingredients. The restaurant and bar manager, Rin and his team are doing a fantastic job and everything was faultless. The hotel is well maintained, with a large pool and nice pool bar. The location is great, very close to everything. We really enjoyed our holiday at Avista in Kata Beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieTouristSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear AussieTouristSydney,

Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
We are delighted to note that you had a wonderful stay with us and your kind words of appreciation will encourage the entire team to strive for improving the quality of service. We have shared your kind words of appreciation with our team members, who have left you with fond memories of the place. Your compliments will definitely encourage us to continue and improve our service.
We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Spent an incredible 8 nights at Avista in a Deluxe room. The room itself was faultless, and the staff were incredibly helpful, going out of their way to ensure we had a comfortable stay. I looked forward to breakfast each morning - there was an extensive range of great food to choose from, and a lovely man who cooks eggs to your liking.

There were numerous sun lounges around the pool (so comfortable!), meaning even when the pool was busy it was easy to find one to lounge on. We also loved the pool bar (3pm-5pm: 20% off), and the pingpong and billiards tables in the games room.

The two free bottles of water left in our room each day was also much appreciated. Overall, one of the best resorts I've stayed in (maybe the best!). Looking forward to another stay here in the future.

A few tips:

- The taxis out the front of the resort are over priced and don't really barter much, we found it cheaper to walk down the hill into the town (2 minute walk) and get a taxi from there.

- If booking tours or tickets, book in town at one of the agents instead of in the hotel. With some hard bartering we got a tour to Phi Phi for 1300 baht from 3200 baht.

- Don't ask for 'spicy' if you order room service in the resort. My partner and I love spicy food and eat a lot of hot dishes, however, the Pad Thai we received was so spicy that we had extreme stomach cramps for the rest of the night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LH93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear LH93,

Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
We are delighted to note that you had a wonderful stay with us and your kind words of appreciation will encourage the entire team to strive for improving the quality of service. We have shared your kind words of appreciation with our team members, who have left you with fond memories of the place. Your compliments will definitely encourage us to continue and improve our service.
We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Thought the official check - in time was 2pm, we were able to check - in around 10am. There was absolutely no fuss from the hotel. Avista's buffet breakfast is definitely a highlight, the spread was excellent and had sufficient options for vegetarians.
The room was big, very well appointed, bathroom was big, clean and the water pressure was good as well. The pool was pretty good and big enough.
The climb to the hill might be difficult for some, however for us, it was a part of our experience. Even my 3 yr old son was able to make it to the top without a problem. The location is definitely convenient, once you get down the hill, turn right for the beach and turn left for the town. All close by, 5 mins walk.
We did not use the hotel taxi service or the so called "taxi mafia" for any of our trips. I

Tips : If you plan to do day trips to James bond Island or Phi-Phi etc, please shop around in the town, the rates are at least 50% lower than the agents associated with the hotel.

Room Tip: Though this is not a room related trip, this could save you thousands of bhat. If you plan to do da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArunNarayanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear ArunNarayanan

Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
Thank you for choosing Avista Phuket Resort & Spa as your holiday destination.
We are delighted to hear that we lived up to your expectations and you had a memorable holiday experience. Your words of appreciation have been shared with our team.
Once again thank you for your compliment as my team and I stay committed to deliver to our guests satisfaction. We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Management,
Avista,Phuket.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
2.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
1.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
1.1 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
1.4 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa

Property: Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Address: 4 Leam Sai Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Avista Phuket Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in Luxurious Accommodations at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort & Spa at Kata Beach. Raise your vacation to a higher level and have a stunning experience in Thailand. Novotel Phuket Kata, not just any other hotels -- it stands as one of the most expressive and stylish ones in Phuket. This beautiful hotel's design itself is a splendid architectural deco-nature model of bio-regional and ecological harmony. Set against gently sloping hills, it is the perfect spot to achieve your much-needed relaxation as well as to explore the wild jungles, magnificent beaches, and exciting nightlife of Kata. The nice hotel's pool area is likewise a striking, exotic oasis of cascading royal-blue water juxtaposed against the turquoise Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Phuket Hotel Kata Beach
Avista Phuket Resort And Spa
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort And Spa Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing