We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is ok, but the steep hill is not.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Hotel is ok, i would say 4+ not 5 star. Pool is not very clean, looks a bit murky, especially the kids pool, very dirty. a general lack of attention to detail, not enaugh matresses for the sunbeds, some of them with tears. Not spotlessly clean as expected of a 5 star hotel. Some balconies facing walls and fences. VERY steep hill to the hotel, and further away from restaurants than expected. The gym is extremly small. Good prices though... But would not go back, go to katathani instead, the thani wing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear Mia S,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sparing the time to share your valuable feedback.
Kindly accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us in regard to the hotel cleanliness. We would like to assure you that we have shared your feedback regarding the same with our Executive Housekeeper and Chief Engineer who have initiated corrective actions.
Regarding the Gymnasium, we would like to inform that we have taken a note of the same and will be taking it up in our next up gradation.
We thank you for your detailed feedback. It is our constant endeavor to better our product and services with every passing year and your feedback will certainly help in improving these services further.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm Regards,
Management,
Avista, Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,370 - 1,376 of 2,537 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

Kata beach is pretty happening with lots of restaurants, bars and shops around. The hotel was on a hill and it was a short walk down to the action. The kids club was nice for my toddler as the lady in attendance was great with him. The hotel was at full occupancy yet they made an effort to change my room after I requested one with some sort of view which was very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank habari12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear habari12,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination and we are extremely delighted to know that we met your expectations. We would like to thank you for sharing your memorable experience with others. Your positive comments about the hotel facilities and our service will motivate us in delivering services to our best.
We thank you for sharing your feedback with all and we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort!
Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful and well kept resort with great service. Pool area is wonderful with good amount of shade which is necessary in phuket. Room was spacious and well decorated. Good location up on the hill so quieter but close to the action. Breakfast buffet was awesome and one of the best we've had with super friendly and helpful staff.
Only issue we had was asking for assistance on the best way to get to phuket old city and the big Buddha and both times they told us to walk across the street and take a Tuk Tuk! (Read earlier reviews about the tuktuk mafia) They also quoted ridiculous prices at the front desk for these places! (700 baht for phuket and 1000 baht for the Buddha) as opposed to arranging a cheaper alternative (metered taxi) or suggesting how to haggle with them. I get that there is a Tuk Tuk mafia and it is difficult to get other forms of transportation ... but I have difficulty with a hotel recommending it as a reasonable option. I felt a little betrayed by that but the hotel itself was wonderful!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear Ann L,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
We thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you. We are pleased to note that you had a memorable stay with us and enjoyed the resort facilities.
kindly accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us regarding the tuk tuk operators. We would like to explain that there is tuk tuk and taxi union in Phuket to enhance employment scheme amongst the locals. The union has designated separate areas and zones for different operators to ply their taxis. So a tuk tuk operator of destination A cannot operate at destination B and vice versa. It has been a tradition that hotels will take service from them and hence we are unable to operate our own travel desk /taxi service. We would like to assure you that we along with other hotels have appealed to the government official to resolve this issue to ensure that our guest are not put through any inconvenience.
Once again thank you for your compliment as my team and I stay committed to deliver to our guests’ satisfaction.
We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Management,
Avista, Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Good resort especially if traveling with your family. Large rooms and good amenities. We had to change the room as the 1st room had a very bad sewage smell but the front desk immediately found us a different room. The staff is friendly and in general a very pleasant six day stay. The location is good and a 10 minute walk to the beach or town.

Room Tip: Top floor for both the noise level and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BGZBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Santo G,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sparing the time to share your valuable feedback. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay and liked our resort’s facilities and service. We would like to assure you that we have shared your feedback regarding the smell in the room with our Executive Housekeeper and Chief Engineering who has initiated corrective actions.
We value your feedback and it’s our endeavor to better our product and services with each passing year.
We look forward to welcoming you back again at the resort!

Warm Regards,
Management,
Avista, Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This resort was really nice in general. The best part was the pool area. Beautifully landscaped and plenty of shade and comfortable chairs. Wish they had a place at the pool to get dry towels. They give you a 2 beach towels in your room everyday, but it would be nice to replace the soaking wet ones.
I chose to stay at the pool on days I was not scuba diving, as opposed to going to the beach. The beach was a big disappointment. Crowded and walking there you cross an area that smells of sewage, which drifts over to the beach. You also have to pay for chairs there. The sunset was fantastic there and definitely worth the walk to the beach for that.
The room was very comfortable with a good view of the pool. Very modern technology with the light controls, TV, etc.
The food was good, what I expected. One evening they had a buffet and the band was fantastic.
Walking up the hill from town was an annoyance. I am someone who loves to hike, but that hill was VERY steep, especially when it is hot out. The other negative was the taxi mafia. It's nuts that the cab from the airport costs 700B but the cab to the airport was 1500B. What a rip off.
Although the resort was very nice, if I returned to the Phuket area, I would stay at a hotel that was directly on a beautiful beach and also had the wonderful pool. If that isn't important to you, this is a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: We had a second floor room overlooking the pool. It was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear marcia27,

Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
We thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you. We are pleased to note that you had a memorable stay with us and enjoyed the resort facilities. Your words of appreciation have been shared with our team. We have made a note of your suggestion on pool towels and would like to inform that although we provide two pool towels in the room, we are happy to provide more should our guests request for the same. We would also like to point out that our resort is situated in an area which is Tsunami evacuation point however it is only a five minutes walking distance from the Kata beach which makes it a safe location yet easily accessible to the beach.
Once again thank you for your compliment as my team and I stay committed to deliver to our guests’ satisfaction.
We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Management,
Avista, Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

hotel is nice staffs are very helpful and flexible. however, the hygiene is a bit of an issue to us. the towels are so old and have unpleasant smell. and there a huge lump of hair drop from the shower head while my husband was taking his shower on the first day ?! location is convenient but the hill is so steep that its so difficult for us to move around especially with a 16 months old toddler and 2 elderly. the hotel provide free shutter service but not frequent enough though. the feeling was like so far yet so near...overall a pleasant stay. and i suggest look around before booking i made a mistake by booking with some online agent and realized price diff was over SGD200. think agoda.com. has the best deal so far.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHIEWHONG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear CHIEWHONG,

Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
We thank you for sparing the time to share your valuable feedback. We have shared your kind words of appreciation with our team members, who have left you with fond memories of the place.
Kindly accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you regarding towel and hair drop from the shower head; we would like to assure you that we have shared the same with the Executive housekeeper, who has initiated corrective action. We value your feedback and it’s our endeavor to better our product and services with each passing year.
We look forward to welcoming you back again at the resort!
Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Our room was upgraded so we got a bit more than we paid for but overall the resort was great. The room was large, had a spacious balcony, and was clean. There resort is a bit uphill but was manageable for us. If you have any type of injuries, are old, or overweight then it may be a challenge if you are walking up and down on a daily basis. There are cabs but others have mentioned and staff admitted to us there is a cab mafia. However, the cab mafia isn't overly expensive. The breakfast was really good and eating area super nice. Dining staff were friendly and prompt with service. Buffet is kept well supplied and there is plenty to choose from. We went to one pool and it was nice, large, not overly crowded, and had a swim up bar. Beach and town area are within walking distance. Get to the beach early if you want chairs/umbrellas as they fill up quick and the beach is crowded. If you are look for something less crowded or more secluded you'll need to go elsewhere. Chair/umbrella rentals are affordable and food/beverages are available all up and down the beach. As with all traveling, be mindful when booking day trips at the hotel. The obviously work with certain companies and will tell you the weather will always be good.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade. Whatever room rate you purchase ask for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieBJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear MarieBJK,

Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination and we are extremely delighted to know that we met your expectations. We would like to thank you for sharing your memorable experience with others. Your positive comments about the hotel facilities will motivate us in delivering services to our best.
We thank you for sharing your feedback with all and we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort!
Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.9 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,141 reviews
1.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 9 in Karon Beach
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
770 reviews
9.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.8 mi away
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
#27 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa

Address: 4 Leam Sai Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Avista Phuket Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: $32 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in luxurious accommodations at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort & Spa at Kata Beach. Raise your vacation to a higher level and have a stunning experience in Thailand. Novotel Phuket Kata, not just any other hotels -- it stands as one of the most expressive and stylish ones in Phuket. This beautiful hotel's design itself is a splendid architectural deco-nature model of bio-regional and ecological harmony. Set against gently sloping hills, it is the perfect spot to achieve your much-needed relaxation as well as to explore the wild jungles, magnificent beaches, and exciting nightlife of Kata. The nice hotel's pool area is likewise a striking, exotic oasis of cascading royal-blue water juxtaposed against the turquoise Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Phuket Resort And Spa
Avista Phuket Hotel Kata Beach
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort And Spa Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing