We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like Superficial ? You'll like Avista”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Like Superficial ? You'll like Avista”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Avista wasn’t our first choice and we stayed there as our preferences were all booked out, though they charged the same price as 5 stars. We booked on the basis of the facilities; all the facilities we intended to use didn’t work out. If you haven’t been to 5 stars, you may enjoy Avista, In and around Kata, they are so many exquisite places to choose from that are not located on such a steep high, don’t have the taxi mafia running rampant and are actually hygienic. All these things I noted from reading Trip Advisor, they just didn’t sound that bad.

Visually Avista was contemporary and slick, as it seemed on the website, as was the welcome and check in process. Over the stay it was obvious they have a directive to smile mindlessly, this is not hospitality.

1. Beachfront location: Incorrect-- you walk to the beach, 5 minutes, 10 back up the hill, why not just say that? The hill isn’t bad, not great after a cocktail. It would be great to have a shuttle bus to more places, our previous place had one every 5 minutes.

2. 4 Star facilities: We paid extra for a Deluxe room, more like a Travelodge. We heard the music repeated on an endless from the swim up bar. The bathroom was well appointed and had both a bath and shower but the water was either scalding hot or cold during our entire stay and very low water pressure. The quality of the pillows was awful and they offered other pillows, none which were available. The walls were paper thin. You could hear your neighbours every movement in every sense of the word. The toilet wouldn’t flush properly, but that was remedied.

3. Kids club—a small room with a ball pit, two tvs, situated in a small corner of the complex surrounded by fencing and adjacent to a high pile of precariously balanced chairs. They would not take the kids to the swimming pool. No program as such, no other kids understandably and you had to pay per hour for the privilege, it wasn’t built into the price like other places in Kata.

4. Internet: When it did actually work, it was consistently inconsistent.

5. Day Spa: We were handed two seemingly generous vouchers as a discount for services. The prices of spa treatments were 300% more expensive that the 5 star place we stayed at previously. They had specials in the day spa as well, but combined with the poor kids’ club facilities, and easy access to better priced treatments in the main street, I did not use this service.

6. Restaurant: The breakfast spread was superficially what I expect in a 4 star place, but the quality of the food was poor and badly cooked. I continually had egg shell in my eggs and the bacon was of low grade, don’t get me started about the salad. My son would not eat much from here, complaining it made him sick and lo and behold he was, twice, once on the day in the restaurant before we were leaving. Did not bother with any other meals, only room service for my son when I was sick. So many great restaurants in walking distance.

7. Poolside: With over 143 rooms, the expectation that there would be enough chairs was never going to happen given the limited area.

8. Tours/Taxi Mafia: We delayed our tours from our other accommodation to save transfer costs. What we found was tour operators would not come to Avista because of the tax mafia. We got a tour operator to meet us another hotel. When we drove to the airport, it cost three times as much to drive less distance than our previous hotel.

9. Great to have lots of channels though, but Movies were interrupted ad nauseum.

When I spoke with the English speaking staff they didn’t seem to understand what I said. They acknowledged the taxi mafia, not providing any solution. First when my son was ill, the poor housekeeping staff provided me dishwashing liquid to clean the bathroom as that’s what they use, needless to say the others in the family were also struck down without disinfectant available. I had to use clothes detergent to clean our bathroom. At no time did anyone ask me in my violently ill state if I needed a doctor though, we were housebound for two days and who ever wasn't sick had to get room service. Even when my son was vomiting on the breakfast table, staff were limited in their response.
If you don’t actually want to stay in the room much, this is the place for you. If you enjoy a nap or the kids need downtime anytime during the day, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MishkiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear MishkiP,

Sawasdee Krab!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
At the onset kindly accept our apologies for all the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us. We strive to deliver the best of services to the utmost satisfaction of our guest. However, we sincerely regret that we were not able to live up to your expectations.

We would like to assure you that your much detailed feedback has been acknowledged and discussed with our team members to initiate corrective measures. Your feedback and observations about the resort has given us an understanding of the requirement for infrastructural needs and trainings. We have structured several training programmes and briefed our team to be more alert and responsive towards our guest requirements. With regards the infrastructural deficiencies, we would like to affirm that we will take it up in our future refurbishment and renovation.

It is quite unfortunate on our end that we were not able to deliver a true "Avista holiday experience" during your stay with us; however we would like to reassure your trust in us and would be happy to have you as our guest again.

Lastly we would request you to kindly forward us your Check in and Check out details at exesec.ak@avistahotelsandresorts.com so that we may investigate further and initiate corrective actions in regards to your feedback about the room.


Warm Regards,

Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,470
    693
    174
    44
    23
See reviews for
686
1,118
71
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
montrose
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed at the Avista 14 nights over christmas with my wife and 2 young boys,and we did not want to go home.Cannot believe the last review, giving the hotel such a bad rap.The hotel staff were brilliant,very kind and were so kind to our children.
The pool s were great,my kids loved the pool bar with their variety of smoothies
We were given free vouchers to james bond island,which was so kind of them.
The breakfast was great,egg chief was excellent,they just could not do enough for you.
Hotel was very clean.
only problem was people were putting their towels on the sunbeds and not bothering to come to the pool until the afternoon.
Will be back for sure,very soon.

The massage girls down the steep hill on the right hand side next to the tattoo shop were brilliant,we went there every day,300Bht for an hour massage,the best.

Room Tip: Grand Deluxe rooms were brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hillsey63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear hillsey63,
Sawasdee krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sparing the time to give us your detailed valuable feedback. We are delighted to hear that we lived up to your expectations and you had a memorable holiday experience. Thank you for complementing our hotel facilities and our services. Regarding the sun bed we would like to inform that we have placed tent cards on the pool tables informing the standard policy of the resort, that we request the guest not to reserve swimming pool deck beds with towels or other belongings, to avoid inconvenience to other guests.
We are pleased to know that you had a good experience of the tour that you won as a lucky draw in our christmas eve event.
Lastly, we would like to thank you for your detailed feedback. It is our constant endeavor to better our product and services with every passing year and your feedback will certainly help in improving these services further.

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
501 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were really looking forward to spending some time at The Avista - but were quite disappointed. The place is very expensive for the quality and services delivered. Our room had to be changed due to the noise coming from the pool area (we were in an executive room on the top floor...). The place is run down and perhaps living off the good reputation it used to have - we were surprised it was 5 star. The breakfast buffet was pretty terrible - lots of fried, fatty foods and very little fruits. We will not go back nor recommend it to our friends.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank foodie_wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear jmhcktt,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sparing the time to give us your detailed valuable feedback. Kindly accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us.
Regarding to noise coming from the pool area, it was due to the Christmas Eve event which was held on the pool side for which we received many compliments from our guests. The music volume was lowered by 10.30 PM and the event was closed by 11.15 so that our in house guests were not inconvenienced.
We have noted and shared your feedback about the breakfast with our entire F&B Team for corrective action. We would like to inform that our breakfast offers many healthy choices including six types of fresh fruits, a selection of salads in our cold salad bar along with cold cuts, choices of cereals with muesli and porridge, juices and health drinks, a variety of nuts, nine types of breads and choices of yoghurts. Our live egg station offers different styles of egg preparation including poached eggs. Our hot buffet comprises of Western and Asian choices which are on a cyclical menu. We have received many compliments from our guests both the quality and the size of the breakfast spread with something for everyone. Indeed, we also cater to guests with special dietary needs on request. The hotel prides itself on its breakfast offer and we are surprised to note that you did not find sufficient choice of items to satisfy your palate. If the vast spread did not meet with your requirements, we would have been more than glad to offer other items, all that was required was a simple request with our indulgent restaurant staff.
Our resort is quite new, just three years old and has been built on an open plan, modern style with emphasis on clean fresh lines. It is one of the newer, more modern hotels in the Kata area .We also have a rigorous maintenance program in place. Many of our guests have complimented us on the fact that the resort looks exactly the same as depicted in the photographs.
Due to the overwhelming demand, we apologize that we could not offer you more competitive room rates.
We regret that we could not meet your expectations however it is our constant endeavor to better our product and services with every passing year.
We hope you have a fantastic year ahead in the year 2013 and with wishes for safe, happy travels.


Warm Regards,
Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed at Avista between Christmas and New Year and had a wonderful time. From the minute we arrived the staff were friendly, always smiling and more then happy to help you with anything you needed. The rooms we had were immaculate, clean and very modern. The food in the restaurant was excellent and the menu very extensive, again the the service was great both here at poolside where you have access to a great pool bar. The facilities at the resort are top class and if you get board of them it is only a 6-7min walk down the hill to lovely Kata Beach.

The only negative I could find about the hotel would be the location, only in that it is located true top of a rather steep hill that could be problematic for young children and the elderly. However there is a taxi stand right out front of the hotel for any trips you need to take.

I have never written a feedback on TripAdvisor but felt compelled to do so after this stay!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatalanYid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear CatalanYid,
Sawasdee krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
We are delighted to hear that we lived up to your expectations and you had a memorable holiday experience. Thank you for complementing our hotel facilities and our services, your positive comments will motivate us in delivering services to our best. Your words of appreciation have been shared with our team.
We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Spent two weeks here for Christmas and New Year with my family - absolutely wonderful. The Christmas Eve party was amazing and our special thanks to Ree who looked after us and other guests around us wonderfully, she worked so hard. Breakfasts there are also amazing - the choice is unbelievable. The hotel is well located for the town or beach although as previous reviewers have stated the hill could be a problem for anyone with a disability or families with push-chairs. My family, but not me, took on the challenge and ran up the hill most nights but I think they were showing off! DOn't understand the mafia references. We used taxis and tuck tucks without any problems although I would suggest making doubly sure of the price before getting in. Although there is a hotel bus perhaps a golf buggy running up and down the hill might be a good idea. Service at the hotel is exceptional and staff charming and accommodating. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margW_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear margW_12,
Sawasdee krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sparing the time to give us your detailed valuable feedback. We are delighted to hear that we lived up to your expectations and you had a memorable holiday experience. Thank you for complementing our services, your positive comments will motivate us in delivering services to our best. Your words of appreciation have been shared with our team.

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed 5 nights here in mid-December, the hotel is located on a hill and 5-min walk to Kata beach. There is about 50m steep upward road from the main road to the hotel, elderly and kids may have trouble to climb. The hotel has two 1.5m deep pools and a huge complex building. The room is huge with nice touch of comfort. However we were not able to find a chair to seat besides the table. The water temperature of the shower was so sensitive and unstable, need to constantly adjust the handle to keep the water warm/cold. The room was not very well sound proofed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Conan C,

Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!

Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
We thank you for sparing the time to share your valuable feedback. Kindly accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you regarding to water pressure problem. We would like to assure you that we have shared the same with the Chief Engineer, who has initiated corrective action. We would also like to inform you that we are in the process of upgrading the room chairs and we will make them available very soon. We value your feedback and it’s our endeavor to better our product and services with each passing year.
We look forward to welcoming you back again at the resort!

Warm Regards,
Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klampenborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here in December and it is a truly beautiful hotel. Beautiful design, excellent food. I have never written a trip advisor review before and I am doing so now because of the fantastic customer service. We had booked for 2 weeks but it became apparent that we needed a new hotel as my 5 year old daughter who is just learning to swim did not like the water fountain in the pool. The manager was extremely helpful and gave us a full refund. I was so impressed with them. There was no quibbling at all. If we were coming to Kara beach on our own I would definitely stay at avista. It is close to all the liveliness of the city but because it is up the hill it is very tranquil. Like a beautiful retreat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lightsidedimond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Lightsidedimond,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
Thank you for sparing the time to give us your detailed valuable feedback and for complementing our services, your positive comments will motivate us in delivering services to our best. Your words of appreciation have been shared with our team.
We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.
Warm Regards,
Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
2.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
1.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
1.1 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
1.4 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa

Property: Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Address: 4 Leam Sai Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Avista Phuket Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in Luxurious Accommodations at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort & Spa at Kata Beach. Raise your vacation to a higher level and have a stunning experience in Thailand. Novotel Phuket Kata, not just any other hotels -- it stands as one of the most expressive and stylish ones in Phuket. This beautiful hotel's design itself is a splendid architectural deco-nature model of bio-regional and ecological harmony. Set against gently sloping hills, it is the perfect spot to achieve your much-needed relaxation as well as to explore the wild jungles, magnificent beaches, and exciting nightlife of Kata. The nice hotel's pool area is likewise a striking, exotic oasis of cascading royal-blue water juxtaposed against the turquoise Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Phuket Resort And Spa
Avista Phuket Hotel Kata Beach
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort And Spa Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing