We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacous room near Kata beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Spacous room near Kata beach”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed 5 nights here in mid-December, the hotel is located on a hill and 5-min walk to Kata beach. There is about 50m steep upward road from the main road to the hotel, elderly and kids may have trouble to climb. The hotel has two 1.5m deep pools and a huge complex building. The room is huge with nice touch of comfort. However we were not able to find a chair to seat besides the table. The water temperature of the shower was so sensitive and unstable, need to constantly adjust the handle to keep the water warm/cold. The room was not very well sound proofed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Conan C,

Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!

Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
We thank you for sparing the time to share your valuable feedback. Kindly accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you regarding to water pressure problem. We would like to assure you that we have shared the same with the Chief Engineer, who has initiated corrective action. We would also like to inform you that we are in the process of upgrading the room chairs and we will make them available very soon. We value your feedback and it’s our endeavor to better our product and services with each passing year.
We look forward to welcoming you back again at the resort!

Warm Regards,
Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,503
    706
    178
    45
    25
See reviews for
709
1,134
72
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Klampenborg, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here in December and it is a truly beautiful hotel. Beautiful design, excellent food. I have never written a trip advisor review before and I am doing so now because of the fantastic customer service. We had booked for 2 weeks but it became apparent that we needed a new hotel as my 5 year old daughter who is just learning to swim did not like the water fountain in the pool. The manager was extremely helpful and gave us a full refund. I was so impressed with them. There was no quibbling at all. If we were coming to Kara beach on our own I would definitely stay at avista. It is close to all the liveliness of the city but because it is up the hill it is very tranquil. Like a beautiful retreat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lightsidedimond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Lightsidedimond,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
Thank you for sparing the time to give us your detailed valuable feedback and for complementing our services, your positive comments will motivate us in delivering services to our best. Your words of appreciation have been shared with our team.
We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.
Warm Regards,
Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I came here with my family and we thoroughly enjoyed it. When we arrived to the hotel, we were greeted with friendly smiles. We were then ushered to a seating area where we were served with iced drinks and flower bracelets whilst we waiting for all paperwork to be completed.

I reserved 2 Grand Deluxe rooms but unfortunately I think they ran out of those rooms and one of the rooms was upgraded to a Club Room. Doesn't bother us much. Both rooms are just as nice but unfortunately on 2 separate floors. Since I have booked it at the same time, I would have hoped that they would place us together on the same floor.

The rooms themselves are spacious and all the amenities are modern and working. I love the way they have shaped the hand towels in the bathroom in the shape of bunnies. Does add a special touch to it. The ONLY complaint I have is the shower. It is annoying that the water temperature keeps oscillating between cold and hot. Which means you are constantly playing with the temperature for a shower that doesn't either burn or make an icicle of you. Both rooms suffered from this.

The location is great. 5/10 minutes' walk from the beach and from restaurants. The hill is quite steep but isn't too long a walk. There is a bus shuttle to take you to and from the beach. We didn't use it so can't really comment on it.

The taxi mafia IS an issue. We didn't have any issue from the taxis outside of the hotel. The reason why I know of that is because we hired a personal tour guide to take us around island and he wouldn't come up to the hotel to pick us up. We eventually had to meet him at the beach. And he wasn't the only tour guide that wouldn't pick us up. I did enquire with a couple of other tour guides beforehand and all of them have declined.

The hotel also has gym facilities, games room and a library. We frequently used the gym and loved that towels and mineral water were provided. That certainly adds a nice touch to it. Mind you, the gym isn't really big but sufficient for our needs. The library has quite a collection of books but mostly not English books - which is a shame.

Last but not least, I have to point out the service that the hotel provides; all the way down to the minor details. At one point, there was some very very *very* minor issue which one of the staff came up personally to apologise and offered us a free dinner and drinks for my entire family.

We had a great time in Phuket and enjoyed ourselves in the hotel. If we ever go back to Phuket, we will definitely come back here. Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LondonGreenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear LondonGreenfield,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!

Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
We thank you for sparing the time to share your valuable feedback. We have shared your kind words of appreciation with our team members, who have left you with fond memories of the place.
Kindly accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you on the first day of your arrival. We would like to explain that as we were fully booked during that period and room availability depends on the check outs of the day we could not offer you adjacent rooms.
With reference to water pressure problem kindly accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you. We would like to assure you that we have shared the same with the Chief Engineer, who has initiated corrective action.
With reference to your feedback about the library, we have acknowledged your suggestion and will definitely review for implementation.
We thank you for your compliments on our team’s service standards and eye for detail.
We look forward to your next visit and assure you of our best services at all times

Warm Regards,
Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

I have only just started my account so felt the need to share my wonderful experience of this hotel, we have stayed here 3 times in the past few years because we love it so much! The staff are incredible and the service is second to none. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable (ESP the huge bed!) The pool area is good and the spa is lovely and relaxing to have a massage in. The location is very good, yes it might be up a hill but each time we have got ourselves a moped which works out cheaper than getting tuk tuks up the hill and saves your legs after a day at the beach! Great restaurants near by if you want to eat out for dinner, the breakfast at the hotel has always been very good with lots of variety. Overall 5/5 experience and we will be back to visit again in the future we love this place and recommend to everyone that we tell about Thailand!

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Lauren O,
Sawasdee krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
Thank you for choosing Avista Phuket Resort & Spa as your holiday destination.
We are delighted to hear that we lived up to your expectations and you had a memorable holiday experience. Thank you for complementing our hotel facilities, cuisines and our services, your positive comments will motivate us in delivering services to our best. Your words of appreciation have been shared with our team.
We look forward to welcome you back at the resort.

Warm Regards,
Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Fantastic staff!!!! Great food!!! Super Hotel !! We had a great holiday at Avista ans will be back!! Thanks to all the wonderful staff that made our holiday so good. The spa is amazing. The swimming pools were Nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LKatrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear LKatrine,

Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!

Thank you for sparing the time to tell us about your holiday in detail. We are delighted to note that we met your expectation and we are happy to note that our service left you with fond memories of the place. We value your feedback and it’s our endeavor to better our product and services with each passing year. We look forward to welcoming you back again at the resort!

Warm Regards,
Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I recently stayed at Avista Kata Beach, and it was amazing. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the location was amazing. It's away from the noise, but still close enough to wander down and enjoy if you want to. The hotel also offers free shuttles to Patong which was the best! The rooms are massive, and very comfortable. I cannot wait to go back again!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get the one bedroom suite!! Wow they are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simone007_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Simone007_12

Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
We thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is indeed feedbacks such as yours which motivate us in delivering services to our best. Your words of appreciation have been shared with our team. We thank you for sharing your feedback with all and we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort!!

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Steve V seems to have already written my review. Wife and I stayed five days at the beginning of December. Check-in greeting where they seat you with a nice, cool, little drink and come to you with your paperwork is a nice touch after long ride from the airport.
Breakfast good, staff very pleasant, rooms quite spacious/quiet/well-equipped, beds comfortable (which is always the most important thing to us). Pools and areas around the pool are very pretty but as others have commented perhaps too small for the number of people that could be staying at the hotel. That said, we never had a problem finding a spot in or out of the sun during our stay (assumedly most people spend most of the day at the beach or exploring). Was going to say workout facility is barely adequate but it's actually not adequate - Seems only the western hotel chains consider this to be important. Internet service very slow but that seems to be very common in Thailand. Slow, but good enough to meet our needs. Hill is definitely an issue - We're very fit people but after chugging up the hill several times/day for two and a half days (albeit made a lot more difficult by our continuous wearing of flip-flops) we finally decided to rent scooters. Note that fixed taxi/tuktuk rate for Kata is 200 baht; scooter rental for a whole day is typically about 200 baht, negotiable downward for multiple days. Wife and I both have experience on motorcycles so riding scooters wasn't a problem - biggest issue is navigating through throngs of scooter-riding tourists who probably haven't even ridden a bicycle in years, let alone been on a motorcycle. Hotel has a secured area for parking scooters.
One (more) complaint - Well, maybe two. Every morning when we woke up the room was very warm and muggy. Seems the air conditioning was turned off automagically for several hours every night. Secondly, the shuttle runs are so infrequent as to be pretty much useless.
Hill aside, location was very convenient, close to everything but separate/serene. Good views from the upper floors.
Value-wise, we were able to get a very good rate through one of the Internet hotel-room brokers, so the 5-star value rating.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VanBC-Food-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear VanBC-Food-lover,

Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!

Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
We thank you for sparing the time to share your valuable feedback. We have shared your kind words of appreciation with our team members, who have left you with fond memories of the place.
Kindly accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us in regards to Air condition. We have shared the same with our Chief Engineer who has assured of corrective actions.
We look forward to your next visit and assure you of our best services at all times

Warm Regards,
Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.9 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,047 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,934 reviews
1.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
1.4 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa

Property: Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Address: 4 Leam Sai Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Avista Phuket Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in luxurious accommodations at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort & Spa at Kata Beach. Raise your vacation to a higher level and have a stunning experience in Thailand. Novotel Phuket Kata, not just any other hotels -- it stands as one of the most expressive and stylish ones in Phuket. This beautiful hotel's design itself is a splendid architectural deco-nature model of bio-regional and ecological harmony. Set against gently sloping hills, it is the perfect spot to achieve your much-needed relaxation as well as to explore the wild jungles, magnificent beaches, and exciting nightlife of Kata. The nice hotel's pool area is likewise a striking, exotic oasis of cascading royal-blue water juxtaposed against the turquoise Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Phuket Resort And Spa
Avista Phuket Hotel Kata Beach
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort And Spa Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing