We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fabulous and child friendly hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“fabulous and child friendly hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have just got back from 2 weeks in Phuket, and we spent 5 nights at this Hotel. On arrival the welcome was lovely, cool drink, refresh towel, and flowers whilst they checked us in. The room was lovely, very spacious and lots of nice little touches such as fresh fruit. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel facilities were excellent - 2 large pools one with pool bar and a small kids one, kids room, games room, free shuttle to beach and Patong. We had breakfast included and it was excellent with a vast choice to suit all nationalities.

The hotel is up a hill and there is the taxi mafia as described by many other reviewers. To be honest the taxi mafia arent that bad they are fairly friendly we had a bit of banter with them and they knew how to have a laugh and a joke with you .The only problem we had was that when we went on a tour the minibus wouldnt come up the hill for pick up or drop off but as its only a few minutes walk down its not really that big an issue. It isnt the only place in Phuket where you get a taxi Mafia and it certainly should not put you off staying at this lovely hotel.

I would definately stay here again if we go back to Phuket.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimrobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Mimrobb
Sawasdee krab! Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
Thank you for choosing Avista Phuket Resort & Spa as your holiday destination.
We are delighted to hear that we lived up to your expectations and you had a memorable holiday experience. Thank you for complementing our hotel facilities and our services, your positive comments will motivate us in delivering services to our best. Your words of appreciation have been shared with our team.

We are look forward to welcome you again in the near future.
Warm Regards,
Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,432
    681
    167
    41
    18
See reviews for
662
1,096
70
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

I was there on business for a few days but will take my family there next time. Good Internet connection. Nice pool and good fitness room. They have a kids room too. The guest room was modern. Breakfast was top notch and they even did poached eggs on demand. TIP: I hired a car at airport and I recommend this for anyone who needs to move around Phuket for work or even sightseeing. There was free parking at this hotel and at most places.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aldo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Aldo48
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
We thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you. We are pleased to note that you had a memorable stay with us and enjoyed the resort facilities. It is indeed feedbacks such as yours which motivate us in delivering services to our best. Your words of appreciation have been shared with our team.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.
Warm Regards,
Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had the most relaxing weekend at the Avista! We were made to feel extremely welcome upon arrival - firstly you are offered a lovely, sweet smelling flower arrangement to wear on your wrist or around your neck; then you are presented with coldrefreshing juice. Whilst we had only made a short trip over from Singapore it was still a much appreciated gesture. Check-in was smooth and the receptionist was charming The room was of a very high standard - huge and beautifully decorated with a very comfortable King-size bed. The hotel is stunning and very well kept - you are completely sheltered from any road noise and whilst it feels secluded you are only a couple of minutes walk away from shops and restaurants in the town. Its a small intimate resort but given the location close to the Kata and Karon beach i loved it. There are two pools in the resort.

The breakfast buffet is huge and of pretty good quality. There is something for everyone. The omelettes are cooked fresh in front of you and were delicious! We did try the restaurants and food was incredibly good.

All-in-all we had a great weekend break at this resort. We had a fantastic deal online so the price was very attractive and given our experience we would use Avista again

Room Tip: Choose the pool view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Chris L
Sawasdee krab!

Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
We thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you. We are delighted to note that we met your expectation about the hotel facilities and we are happy to know that our staff has left you with fond memories of the place. Your kind words of appreciation have been shared with the entire team and our staff at the resort remains committed to make moments special and memorable for our esteemed guests.
We would look forward to welcoming you on your next holiday with us.


Warm Regards,
Management,
Avista, Phuket.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

After some troubles in a hotel in Karon Beach, we were looking for a hotel nearby emergency to finish our stay. We found this hotel by chance and we were not disappointed. Recent , very modern hotel. Spacious room. Impeccable and very available service . Quality / price correct. Only small complaint: access to the beach is not easy and parking too small (hard to park).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Delannoy92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Delannoy92

Sawasdee Krab!

It was a pleasure having you at our resort!

Thank you for sparing the time to tell us about your holiday in detail. We are delighted to note that we met your expectation and we are happy to note that our service left you with fond memories of the place. We value your feedback and it’s our endeavor to better our product and services with each passing year. We look forward to welcoming you back again at the resort!

Warm Regards,
Management,
Avista, Phuket.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I came to Phuket with the idea of trying local Hotels as I stay with hotel chains always, so booked Avista for a 3 night stay. I enjoyed it so much with friends that we have now extended our stay by another 3 days. I sure the other 3 days are going to be as incredible as the past 3 days have been.

The food has been great, they ahve themed buffets which were very nice. Today I had a Mongolian Wok themed lunch. THe chef prepared a delightfull meal. The staff were extremly polite. The breakfast was awsome, with asian and western options.

My only dissapointment was the taxi service (not the hotel taxi). The local taxi operators are located close to the hotel and so not allow other taxi to operate. I had booked another taxi which was refused entry into the area but the local taxi vendors outside the hotel. The hotel also has no control over them.

The Resort can also help to organise day tours, which were incredible (if rains do not spoil your best of plans)

Room Tip: Choice of Pool and ocean facing rooms at additional charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Rick Z,
Sawasdee krab!

Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!

Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
We are delighted to note that you had a wonderful stay with us and your kind words of appreciation will encourage the entire team, especially the Chef and the F&B team to strive for improving the quality of service. We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with others.

Kindly accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with. We have made a note of your feedback regarding the taxi operators, we would like to explain that there is taxi union in Phuket to enhance employment scheme amongst the locals. The taxi union has designated separate areas and zones for different taxi operators to ply their taxis. So a taxi operator of destination A cannot operate at destination B and vice versa. It has been a tradition that hotels will take service from them and hence we are unable to operate our own travel desk /taxi service. We would like to assure you that we along with other hotels have appealed to the government official to resolve this issue to ensure that our guest are not put through any inconvenience. We regret once again that we were unable to deliver to your expectations; however we would be happy to have you as our guest again and serve you better.

Warm Regards,
Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jindabyne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have just finished a 10 night stay in an Avista club room at the Avista Hotel and Spa. We chose a Avista club room to be able to get a view and it was pretty special. Our room overlooked the Andaman Sea and Kata Beach on the 4th floor. It is the quieter side of the hotel as you do not face the pool area which can be kid noisy but there is a small street out the front which houses the local taxi/tuk tuk touts and they can be noisy in the morning but it was part of the fun. The hotel staff are all very courteous and friendly and nothing was a problem for them to deal with. Check in was quick and easy and the room was clean and well kept. Overall a fantastic experience in this hotel and one we would recommend to anyone. The hill leading up to the hotel is steep but short and anyone with a reasonable level of fitness would not find it a problem. The best part about it is that it takes you slightly away from all the hustle and noise of the Kata street vendors.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front bock on the 4th and 5th floor appear to be the best positions
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coldemu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear PeterH943,

Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
It was a pleasure to have you at our resort!
Thank you for sparing your precious time to share about your experience with us. We are delighted to note that we met your expectations and we are happy that our service left you with fond memories of the place. We value your feedback and it’s our endeavor to enhance our product and services with each passing year. We look forward to your next visit and assure you of our best services at all times.
Warm Regards,
Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Just stayed there in the club rooms with my husband for 4 nights. There were goods and bads about this hotel. Let's start with the good things.

Good:
First, the hotel has a modern simplistic decor which we liked. The room was really big and clean with a big balcony which my husband enjoyed sitting out reading his books. They provide foam bath gel so you can enjoy a bubble bath if you liked. We enjoyed the pools and there were plenty of sun loungers to lie around. We found the hotel wifi to be stable enough for leisure use. Staff at the front desk was very helpful and always greet us with a smile. They respond to every enquire and request quickly. Breakfast was ok for a 4 star with a very nice guy at the egg station who remembered what kind of eggs we liked.

Bad:
The hotel is situated on a steep slope as many has commented. Although both of us are fit we find it intimidating when we need to walk up and down several times a day. It surely discouraged us from going out more. We saw a family with small kids and they definitely had to work hard to push the stroller up the slope. On the second day we were there, the water in the shower drain backflow and caused a bit of chaos in the bathroom. Although it was fixed by workers quickly, it was still a bit annoying. The water from the shower was rather weak and my husband was grunting about that a lot. The housekeeping was not consistent, on 2 occasions they forgot to replace the face and hand towels for us and we had to call the front desk for them. There was a roach in our room on the last night we were there and it freaked me out.

Despite the minor flaws during our stay, we had a wonderful time there in the resort and kata beach was absolutely beautiful. It would be a reasonable choice if you don't mind a bit of a climb.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beeleeburu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear beeleeburu,

Sawasdee krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sparing the time to share your valuable feedback. We are delighted to note that you had a wonderful experience during your stay.
Kindly accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us in regards to the drainage and water pressure being inconsistent. We have shared the same with our Chief Engineer who has assured of corrective actions. Regarding the non replacement of towels, we have briefed our Housekeeping team to be more vigilant and follow their check list as always. Your feedback has given us insights into our operations and the need for improvement.
It is our constant endeavor to better our product and services with every passing year. We would be happy to have you as our guest again and serve you better.

Warm Regards,
Management,
Avista, Phuket.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
2.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#14 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
1.3 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa

Property: Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Address: 4 Leam Sai Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Avista Phuket Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in Luxurious Accommodations at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort & Spa at Kata Beach. Raise your vacation to a higher level and have a stunning experience in Thailand. Novotel Phuket Kata, not just any other hotels -- it stands as one of the most expressive and stylish ones in Phuket. This beautiful hotel's design itself is a splendid architectural deco-nature model of bio-regional and ecological harmony. Set against gently sloping hills, it is the perfect spot to achieve your much-needed relaxation as well as to explore the wild jungles, magnificent beaches, and exciting nightlife of Kata. The nice hotel's pool area is likewise a striking, exotic oasis of cascading royal-blue water juxtaposed against the turquoise Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Phuket Hotel Kata Beach
Avista Phuket Resort And Spa
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort And Spa Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing