We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for honeymooners!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed four nights at avista for a small part of our honeymoon.
Beautiful location and very impressed with the cleanliness of the resort.
As with all other reviews the hill was an issue and some tours would not pick us up from reception due to the "maffia" but it's not too far to walk to the bottom of the hill.
Bit disappointed with the room view, we looked into a wall!
There were a lot of families with children running around which is why I said it's not for honeymooners! As it wasn't very peaceful!
Apart from that loved Avista and found the staff friendly and happy to help.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear g s,

Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sparing the time to give us your valuable feedback.
Kindly accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us with reference to your feedback regarding the location of the room, we would like to explain that the sea facing rooms are subject to availability, However we highly value our guests requests on priority and if such category rooms are available, we certainly oblige to guest requests. We regret that we were unable to offer you a sea facing room during your recent visit with us. Your compliments will definitely encourage us to continue and improve our service and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Management,
Avista, Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,581)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,500 - 1,506 of 2,581 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent two nights at the resort in October during low season. When we arrived, the hotel van (1,500 baht) picked us up, gave us moist towelettes and water for the 1hr journey ahead. It was a very pleasant and smooth ride, and we were given an upgrade as we checked-in!

The rooms looked just like they do in the pictures, however I must note that there are some minor signs of wear and tear in the corridors, and generally around the resort. I also wasn't a fan of the built-in soap and shampoo dispenser in the shower...

Overall, the service from everyone was fantastic, and the location is quite good - a short walk to the beach and lots to do around the area (although you will have to climb up and down a very steep hill!). The food at the restaurant En Vogue is GREAT as well (get the curries!), although the breakfast was so-so. I also had a massage for 1,150 baht, and there was a little library with lots of books to choose from. The free wi-fi was great for us too. It was really great value for money and I think we would be happy to stay again :)

Cons: there was some construction near by and you could hear a bit of the noise, but it was nothing too disruptive. Also we didn't get a room with a view which was a pity. Maybe next time... If you are looking for a resort with lots of fancy luxuries, then this isn't it. But if you just want somewhere elegant, tranquil and reasonably priced, you'll be happy with Avista!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryttan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Maryttan,

Sawasdee krab!

Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!

Thank you for choosing Avista Phuket Resort & Spa as your holiday destination.
We are delighted to note that you had a wonderful stay with us and your kind words of appreciation will encourage the entire team to strive for improving the quality of service. We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with others.
We have made a note of your feedback regarding the Food and Beverage offerings and would like to assure you that we have shared the same with the team .Kindly accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us in regards to the noise caused by the ongoing renovation work of the next door hotel. Your feedback will give us valuable insights which will help us implement processes to ensure that we deliver a true “Avista Holiday Experience”.
We look forward to your next visit (please book in advance and request for a room with sea view) and assure you of our best services at all times.
Warm Regards,
Management,
Avista, Phuket.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed for 10 days at the Avista resort and were very pleased with all the facilities. All the staff are extremely friendly and nothing was ever a problem for any of them. The rooms are big, modern and very clean. The swimming pool was clean and had comfortable sun loungers for just lazing around. Breakfast was including in our package which had an excellent assortment of foods every morning to pick from, the restaurant was clean and spacious. The resort is in a great location, Kata beach is beautiful and is just 2mins walk down the road from the resort, there are heaps of small restaurants and shops within walking distance , the resort has 2 shuttle buses that run daily to Patong which we used a few times which saves on Taxi fares. Overall we have nothing but praise for the staff and the resort we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear J T,

Sawasdee krab!

Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
We thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you. We are delighted to note that we met your expectation about the hotel facilities and we are happy to know that our staff has left you with fond memories of the place. Your kind words of appreciation have been shared with the entire team and our staff at the resort remains committed to make moments special and memorable for our esteemed guests.
We would look forward to welcoming you on your next holiday with us.
Warm Regards,
Management,
Avista, Phuket.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Having spent 2 nights at another hotel in Surin, the first thing we noticed stepping into Avista was a sharp dip in service standards. The Russian lady at front desk was very nice, but her colleague was terse and seemed annoyed at our simple questions. We thought little of it, until the bellboy came to take our bags and show us to our rooms. He wore a scowl and also seemed annoyed at being asked questions. Most of our other encounters with the staff over the next 2 days were better, but don't expect to greeted with smiles. Or at all.

I can live with that, especially when Avista's rooms are clean and very spacious. The interior design is a little dated, but very decent. Unfortunately, the room has a strong smell of mildew - something other reviewers have pointed out. Also, the water in the shower would go from hot to cold and back. Then there's the intermittent internet connection which is at least free of charge.

The hill's been talked about from every possible angle, so i won't say more other than - expect to break a sweat. To get to the beach you will have to walk down the hill and through the streets for a little over 5 mins, holding your beach gear. It is closer to the quieter side of Kata and a bit of a walk to where most of the shops are. Not far away, you'll find Starbucks and a good tailor called Monty's Rich Collection.

For the price, Avista is a very decent place to stay. But because of the location, I may choose to look elsewhere in Kata for my next trip.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pituitaryglenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear pituitaryglenn,

Sawasdee krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sparing the time to share your valuable feedback.
At the onset kindly accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us.
Your feedback has given us insights into our operations and the need for trainings. Please be assured that we have taken a serious note of your feedback regarding the behavior of the staff at the Front Desk. We have shared the same with our Front Office Manager who has assured of corrective actions. We would further like to inform that we are also conducting a series of training programmes to achieve better service standards.
We have shared your feedback regarding the smell in the room and the inconsistent temperature of the shower water with our Executive Housekeeper and Chief Engineer, who have initiated corrective actions. We would like to assure you that we have also briefed our floor supervisors to have a detailed room check done prior to releasing rooms for new arrival.
It is our constant endeavor to better our product and services with every passing year. We would be happy to have you as our guest again and serve you better.
Warm Regards,
Management,
Avista, Phuket.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

First time in Phuket and I must say this is a fabulous hotel to stay at.

First stop, landed at Phuket international airport midnight and took a 'Meter Taxi' to the Avista Resort for 600baht (including tip). The staff are lovely and offered outstanding customer service (will give a few examples throughout this review).

As a couple, we stayed at the club floor; room 403. The room was great, equipped with a nice secluded balcony with a spectacular beach view. However, the room is not sound proof and requires double glazing balcony doors! Unfortunately, during our stay there was construction work happening over the road which was disturbing in the morning. If your an early bird, really it's not a problem. Personally, if staying at the Avista I recommend choosing room 401 or 404 as these rooms are situated at each end of the floor, avoiding any inconvenience of sound pollution. We had a problem with our next door neighbour, they would blast their T.V late at night and leave it until 3 in the morning! With the great service of the staff, one phone call put an end to the sound for one night. These people next door were arrogant! Erghh!!

The breakfast was fabulous and offered a clean and friendly environment. The food varied from Thai to the traditional English Breakfast buffet. Opening times were as usual 0630am to 1030am.

The facilities around the hotel were slightly above standard to a 4 star hotel expectations. It offered a gym, swimming pool and a pool table!

About the location. The location is absolutley perfect if staying in Kata, for the reason that the beach entrance and exit is a 5min walk from the hotel! I've read a lot of the reviews here about the location and believe me, this location is great. Everything you want is within walking distance. The area is flooded with massage parlours, bars and tour guides.

Right, I must be honest and tell you that the hotel is based on a hill and is really steep! Nonetheless, it's great exercise and pays off when you reach to the resort. Personally, I found the hill quite steep however, my partner found it absolutely fine. In result, I rented out a scooter for five days which is very convenient to travel around from kata to patong. I do recommend to hire one if your a sensible driver and don't have road rage.

Final end to our review. There has been huge controversy about this so called 'Taxi Mafia Gang'. I've been reading up on it myself and was getting really nervous about it at start. Nevertheless, it's just a taxi service who have high rates. If your booking tours, ask the tour guide to collect you at the bottom of the hill to avoid any conflictions with the so called 'Taxi Mafia Gang'. Honestly, they were not even a problem, they do not disturb you and will not waste time with you. Infact, they were really nice to us and were very respectful. So take a blind notice and find that you are at another part of the world where corruption is more seen in day to day life. At the end of the day, it adds to the experience!

Thank you for reading and I hope that this review is helpful to you!

Room Tip: Choose room 401 or 404 if staying at club floor! Rooms on either end are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AdrianoCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Aslam L,

Sawasdee Krab!

It was a pleasure having you at our resort!

Thank you for sparing the time to tell us about your holiday in detail. We are delighted to note that we met your expectation and we are happy to note that our service left you with fond memories of the place. Kindly accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us in regards to the noise caused by the ongoing renovation work of the neighbouring hotel. We value your feedback and it’s our endeavor to better our product and services with each passing year.
We look forward to your next visit and assure you of our best services at all times.

Warm Regards,
Management,
Avista, Phuket.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed at this lovely compact resort and availed all the facilities. I was very happy with the services and staff were extremely friendly. The rooms are big and two beds definitely helped my family to stay comfortably. The room and bathroom had a very modern look and feel. The swimming pool was clean and we spend a lot of time on the pool side. The restaurant team was very helpful and always smiling.
We did not face any problems with the so called taxi mafia as we understood that we need to avail them for city tours – they were polite and always helpful.
Kata beach is beautiful but so is Phuket. We did a lot of shopping by the road and it was fun.
My husband did grumble about the Wi-Fi connection being irregular but the same was rectified after he made a complain. Overall I loved AVISTA and will be back soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessica c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Dear jessica c,

Sawasdee krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
We are delighted to note that you had a wonderful stay with us and your kind words of appreciation will encourage the entire team to strive for improving the quality of service. We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with others.
We are look forward to welcome you again in the nearly future.
Warm Regards,

Management,
Avista, Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at Avista mainly because the location is ideal and I did not have to spend a fortune on transportation in the local taxi. The mesmerizing Kata and Karon beach's are just 10-15 mins walk from the hotel.

The Kata market is abt 10 mins walk from the hotel and has wide variety of restaurants to cater to all budgets.

The hotel itself is very nice with comfortable spacious rooms and good facilities like two level swimming pool, pool bar, library and games room with pool table, darts, ping-pong etc. Also the spa is impressive.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomadmeMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear nomadmeMoscow,

Sawasdee krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
We thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you. We are delighted to note that you had a wonderful to stay with us with fond memories of the place and we met your expectation about the hotel facilities. We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Warm Regards,
Management,
Avista, Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.9 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#11 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,207 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,125 reviews
1.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#6 of 55 in Kata Beach
810 reviews
9.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
1.4 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Kata Noi Beach
4,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa

Address: 4 Leam Sai Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Avista Phuket Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: $98 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in luxurious accommodations at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort & Spa at Kata Beach. Raise your vacation to a higher level and have a stunning experience in Thailand. Novotel Phuket Kata, not just any other hotels -- it stands as one of the most expressive and stylish ones in Phuket. This beautiful hotel's design itself is a splendid architectural deco-nature model of bio-regional and ecological harmony. Set against gently sloping hills, it is the perfect spot to achieve your much-needed relaxation as well as to explore the wild jungles, magnificent beaches, and exciting nightlife of Kata. The nice hotel's pool area is likewise a striking, exotic oasis of cascading royal-blue water juxtaposed against the turquoise Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Phuket Resort And Spa
Avista Phuket Hotel Kata Beach
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort And Spa Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing