We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed at Avista from 23 Sept to 29 Sept, 6 nights, check in staff are very polite and professional; rooms are spacious, very clean, but unfortunately the air conditioning had an awful smell; had to keep turn it on and off. Breakfast buffet is great, plenty of choice and the staff is very nice. I went to Phuket for medical treatments and the hospital provided ground care service pick up and drop off at the hotel but to my amazement the hotel didn't allow any other driver (other taxi or personal car driver) to pick me up even though I had apointment slips; reception staff told me only car with logo of hospital were allowed so I had to get a taxi to Phuket. I didn't take hotel taxi driver as they were more expensive than going than the hill and get a taxi there. I find out later on the taxi mafia was the big problem in this particular hotel, black listed with a series of other hotels. So do NOT stay there if you have medical treatments with groung care service offered to you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Denise M,

Sawasdee krab!

Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!

Thank you for sparing the time to tell us about your holiday and we are pleased to note that we met your expectations with our breakfast and hotel facilities.

Kindly accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us. I would like to assure you that we have made a serious note of Air conditioning feedback and the same has been shared with the Chief Engineer who has assured of corrective action. With regards to your feedback about the taxi operators, we would like to explain that there is taxi union in Phuket to enhance employment scheme amongst the locals. The taxi union has designated separate areas and zones for different taxi operators to ply their taxis. So a taxi operator of destination A cannot operate at destination B and vice versa. It has been a tradition that hotels will take service from them and hence we are unable to operate our own travel desk /taxi service. We would like to assure you that we along with other hotels have appealed to the government official to resolve this issue to ensure that our guest are not put through any inconvenience. We regret once again that we were unable to deliver to your expectations; however we would be happy to have you as our guest again and serve you better.

Warm Regards,
Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,432
    681
    167
    41
    18
See reviews for
662
1,096
70
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

I enjoyed my stay with family at the hotel not only because the rooms were very nice but because their are so many additional facilities.

The hotel has two level swimming pool. The upper level swimming pool is of a very good size. Their is also a pool bar attached to the pool to enjoy drinks while being at the pool. Their is also a spa option by the pool side which is impressive.

The library was an unexpected facility and is at no extra charge. Though the library is not very large but is impressive with English, Scandinavian, Russian and other International titles. Adjacent to the library is a games room with Pool table. ping-pong, darts etc. It was lot of fun.

Wifi connection is free of charge hence can be slow at times and connection drops-off sometimes. But none the less a Hotel wort staying for all the facilities on offer and close proximity to the beach and the market

Room Tip: Their are pool view and ocean view rooms depending on the category of room booked
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear A M,

Sawasdee krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
Thank you for sparing the time to tell us about your holiday. We are delighted to note that we met your expectation about the hotel facilities and we are happy to note that our staff has left you with fond memories of the place. With reference to the Wi-Fi we would like to assure you that we have shared the same with the service provider, who has initiated corrective action. It is indeed feedbacks such as yours which motivate us in delivering services to our best. Your words of appreciation have been shared with our team.
We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.
Warm Regards,

Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Really value for money!! Very very nice restaurant !!! The spa is one of the best in the island! The ladies that do the Thai massage are perfect, although there was a misunderstanding in our first booking!! Sukko massage is really massage for the king! We also went to sukko massage outside phuket town! The hotel's was far better! Wi fi was good but it had some problems!we definitely propose it!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank giardinimou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear glardinimou,

Sawasdee krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
Thank you for choosing Avista Phuket Resort & Spa as your holiday destination. We are delighted to note that we met your expectation and we are happy to note that our spa service left you with fond memories of the place. Your positive comments will act as a motivation to all our team members. We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with others.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the resort.

Warm Regards,
Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I have read the other reviews and agree the hotel is nice, the staff were friendly, the pool and facilities are great BUT there is what they call a “taxi mafia” outside the hotel. We had a few appointments while we were there (dentist). The dentist had arranged for taxis to pick us up at the hotel and take us to our appointments (at no charge to us).
However when the taxi would arrive to Avista, the taxi mafia outside (this is what the locals call them) would stop the taxi, ask them who they were picking up, threaten to stab them and make them turn around. Then they would come into the hotel and find us in the lobby and tell us no one else can take us to the appointment except them and we needed to pay them to take us.
We told the hotel and they said there is nothing they can do about it. We asked if we can call the police and they said the police don’t care.
If we wanted to go a short trip ( just down the hill). They would make us pay 350 baht. We ended up hiring a scooter for short trips.
We also found a friendly taxi driver in karon and asked him to pick us up (we when wanted to go to the boxing or out for dinner) as we were scared of the taxi mafia. Again they stopped the taxi outside the hotel, threatened to stab the driver and came in and said you have to come with us. We told the hotel management and they said sorry there is nothing we can do. It was unbelievable. I have been to Thailand 4 times, I have stayed in Patong, Bangkok, Ko Samui, Koh Phangan and never seen anything like it. I would NEVER stay there again. It wasn’t the friendly Thailand that I have come to love.

I repeat : DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank griffinnatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear grosveldnatalie,

Sawasdee krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!

It was a pleasure having you at our resort! Thank you for sparing the time to tell us about your holiday and we are pleased to note that we met your expectations with our hotel facilities.

Kindly accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us in regards to the taxi operators. We would like to inform that this issue is rampant in Phuket and we along with the other resorts have appealed to the government to resolve the issue. However we may assure you that there has been no incident reported till date on the taxi operators getting violent with our guests. We regret once again that we were unable to deliver to your expectations; however we would be happy to have you as our guest again and serve you better.

Warm Regards,

Management,

Avista, Phuket.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Upon arrival, we were greeted at reception with a welcome drink & flower/lei & told the Grand Deluxe room we booked would not be ready until tomorrow as compensation we recevied a dinner voucher at the resturant. We were a little annoyed when several other hotel guests told us they were upgraded from the standard room to the suite but yet we were down graded & then later given a room that faced a wall & the hotel next door.
Besides this......I seriously cannot fault the Avista Hotel for the price you pay when comparing to nearby Club Med & other known hotel chains, Avista is by far the nicer hotel!! The grounds & rooms are huge, picture perfect & immaculate. as per website pictures) The main pool area is very relaxing, the swim up bar serves scrumptious food & cocktails all day & are reasonably priced! The 200m steep hill climb to the hotel really isn't that bad (unless travelling with children/elderly) The location is great once you get to the bottom of the hill basically its a left turn to the shops/resturants or right to Kata beach. We had no issues what so ever with the tuk tuks or so called taxi mafia, they even helped my sister find her Prada glasses (not fakes) by drving around Kata to all the shops we had been too during the day and charged only the price we'd pay for going down the hill!!

The breakfast menu was good! The addition of some grilled mushrooms and hash browns would have made it amazing :0) The only real fault is the coffee it was just awful!!!!!!! And some of the reception staff need to work on their customer service in particular, the supervisor who was absolutley rude on all occassions. Not once did she look warm or welcoming infact the opposite and bossed the other staff around, which wasnt nice to see.

Would definitely recommend to others & return for another relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Mara C,

Sawasdee krab!

Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for sharing your experience with others.
Kindly accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you due to the unsatisfactory allocation of the room. We hope you had enjoyed the dinner hosted for you. Please be assured that we have taken a serious note of your feedback on the reception team members and we are conducting a series of training classes to address the issue. We value your suggestions about the breakfast offerings and we have shared the same with our F&B Team. Your feedback has given us valuable insights in to our operations which will definitely help us in delivering better service standards
We look forward to your next visit and assure you of our best services at all times.

Warm Regards,

Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were a family of four. We booked for two rooms in september and found Phuket to be a great destination to destress even with the kids. The hotel is modern with excellent rooms and spacious bathroom. The breakfast was very good, staff very helpful and polite. We found kata beach which is just 5-7 minutes away very clean and quiet unlike Patong. Karon beach is also nearby.
The swimming pool was also very good! Overall a great holiday!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MKNL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear MKNL 79,

Sawasdee krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
We thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you. We are delighted that your family and you enjoyed your stay with us. It is indeed feedbacks such as yours which motivate us in delivering services to our best. Your words of appreciation have been shared with our team. We thank you for sharing your feedback with all and we look forward to welcoming them to our resort!

Warm Regards,

Management

Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Memorble Holiday

We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. We have visited Phuket many times but this time my entire family had a great time. Excellent Hotel near to Kata Beach. The facilities are excellent and staff very friendly.We would love to come back again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomy123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear tomy123_11,

Sawasdee krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
We are delighted to note that you had a wonderful stay with us and your kind words of appreciation will encourage the entire team to strive for improving the quality of service. We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with others.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the resort!

Warm Regards,
Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
2.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#14 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
1.3 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa

Property: Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Address: 4 Leam Sai Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Avista Phuket Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in Luxurious Accommodations at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort & Spa at Kata Beach. Raise your vacation to a higher level and have a stunning experience in Thailand. Novotel Phuket Kata, not just any other hotels -- it stands as one of the most expressive and stylish ones in Phuket. This beautiful hotel's design itself is a splendid architectural deco-nature model of bio-regional and ecological harmony. Set against gently sloping hills, it is the perfect spot to achieve your much-needed relaxation as well as to explore the wild jungles, magnificent beaches, and exciting nightlife of Kata. The nice hotel's pool area is likewise a striking, exotic oasis of cascading royal-blue water juxtaposed against the turquoise Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Phuket Hotel Kata Beach
Avista Phuket Resort And Spa
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort And Spa Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing