We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and an awesome view”
Review of Baan Chom View

Baan Chom View
Ranked #52 of 149 Restaurants in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and an awesome view”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

After driving to see the elephant zoo nearby we happened to stop here on the way back for a drink and some food. What a fantastic surprise! The food was great and the view was incredible. Definitely one of the highlights of our trip. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    65
    18
    6
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great spot, worth the visit”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

You could be confused as to where you are when you step inside (outside) of this restaurant.
I have been here several times and each time the view just gets better.

The food is also quite good and reasonably priced for the location.
It will take about 20-30 minutes to get here from Patong or Chalong.

If you want a seaside view, I reccomend you call first - Number = 081 891 3906
It isn't critical for a sea side view to see the sunset as the layout lets you see it from all angles.
I would say however that if you have the sea side view, you best be prepared for people standing up to your table taking pictures over you to capture the view.....

Open daily from 11:00- 23:30

Staff are very friendly and the drinks are always cold.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gracie2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice view of sunset”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Spiste her på vej hjem fra Kata/Karon View point. Good place. Good food and a very good view of the sunset!
A little busy around sunset, but nice view for all guests.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not dropped of by the taxi where we asked but not bad at all”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We asked to be dropped of at the After beach bar which we visited last year. The Baan Chom restaurant was still under construction then. After peering inside at the décor and standard of the building(wife being a little scared of heights and unstable balcony's) We decided to go and have our sunset meal in here. We chose not to sit at the balcony edge (been there done that ) we were very satisfied with the quality/price of the food and the service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gary2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great view matched with good food and friendly service”
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We were exploring Phuket and just stopped at Baan Choon as we came down the hill towards Kata. It was a late lunchtime stop so we got a table at the edge so we had a great view on a clear day.
The service was quick and friendly and drinks and food came quickly and the meals came at the same time, something that does not always happen in Thailand.
We ordered western food as we were booked for a Thai meal that evening. Club sandwiches and excellent chips (fries).
Nice lunch, great view. Well worth a visit at anytime.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goode2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baan Chom View also viewed

 
Kata Beach, Karon
 

Been to Baan Chom View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing