We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special!”
Review of Jinta Andaman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jinta Andaman
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nothing special!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This lodging was nice, but nothing special. The room was clean, modern and spacious, bed was comfortable and bathroom very good! Lady at the front desk was helpful, we rented a scooter and booked a transport to Phi-phi islands (you can find it much cheaper)!

Location was not that great! Beach was pretty close but all interesting things are very far away! If you want to go to Patong you have to take a taxi or scooter! Karon & Kata beach was full of family and not very recommended to backpackers! Had to stay in Phuket becuse of the flight but not very impressed, there is so much better places in thailand!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunkTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    65
    27
    10
    4
See reviews for
13
86
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Osaka, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Jinta Andaman is actually located in the Kata area of Phuket island. A solid 10-15 walk to the beach. For those who have not visited Kata before, you will want to note that a large portion of the beachfront area is taken up by Club Med.

While Jinta Andaman calls itself a hostel, it is really a very nice hotel located in a newly constructed village filled with restaurants and shops. Wonderful people on the staff and a beautiful swimming pool.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This hotel is quite difficult to find as it is tucked away down an alleyway on the backside of the main thoroughfare to the beach.
However, the owners are lovely people, and happy to assist with anything, at any time. I found the bed in my room impossible to sleep on (mattress was perhaps designed by a chiropractor looking for work!) and they were only too happy to let me change rooms. The rooms are really quiet and modern, with quirky lighting, and sleek artwork on the walls. Once I had a room with a nicer mattress, I was quite content. I would definitely recommend to other travelers.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank EtainVeronique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Our taxi driver found it very difficult to find the hostel from the airport so make sure you print out the instructions and maps if possible (we had both and still had a struggle) but we arrived late, apx 1am, local time and yet there was a man to greet us and carry our luggage to our room, the room was a good size, 1 double bed and a single bed, balcony, fresh fruit basket and a nice sized bathroom!
Our stay was lovely, clean and basic but just what we needed!
The staff are great, its mainly the owner and one guy but they helped us plan excursions, booked them for us and even gave themselves us for a cheap taxi service when needed!
I would 100% stay at the Jinta Andaman again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed her for three nights in late july this year. Really impressed with the rooms - air con, tv, fridge, safe and really clean too!

The owner is a lovely guy and can't do enough for you! Staff will help book any tours you want to do, so its easy to get out and see the place.

Guests can use the two computers in reception to go on the internet - which is completely free! (Unusual for most guesthouses/hostels!) Also free wifi.

Close to a beautiful beach and many restaurants/bars. Also easy to hop in a tuk tuk and head down to Patong for a more wild night out!

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miss_josephine26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We had booked a female dorm for 2 people, when we arrived we struggled to find the reception as there seemed to be many Jinta Andaman buildings but a staff member spotted up looking aorund and came to check on us immediately! He was very kind, friendly and helpful. His English wasn't the best but he made a real effort to help us in any way he could. For the money we paid (around £7 per night) the accommodation was fantastic. First of all the 'dorms' were not your traditional hostel dorm rooms, they were single rooms with curtains at the door way for complete privacy, compfy beds, desk, fan and individual safes. The 'rooms' and bathrooms were very clean and the housekeeping staff were always around making sure everything was kept clean. Outside the dorm room is a seating area, fridge and kettle. 5 minute walk to a street filled with restaurants and bars, with a twice weekly market. 10 minute walk to the beach.

The value of this hotel was so brilliant we asked to stay on for a full week, they did not have room available for all the nights but ended up upgrading us to a double room with aircon and access to a swimming pool for the same price!

We also booked a mini bus and boat package to phi phi from the Jinta Andaman which was very cheap and convinient!

This hotel/hostel is brilliant for backpackers or anybody travelling on a budget!

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

I was very impressed with the quality of this hotel. Especially since I booked it on a hostel website, assuming it would be on par with a hostel. Jinta Andaman exceeded my expectations. The staff was pleasant and answered my many questions with smiles. It's a short walk to the beach, or if you don't feel like dealing with the beach crowds, you can pay to use the swimming pool in the hotel across the street. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaC0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,079 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Beach Boutique House
The Beach Boutique House
#46 of 56 in Kata Beach
263 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
#30 of 56 in Kata Beach
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kata Country House
Kata Country House
#33 of 56 in Kata Beach
330 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kata Rocks
Kata Rocks
#9 of 56 in Kata Beach
218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#7 of 56 in Kata Beach
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jinta Andaman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinta Andaman

Property: Jinta Andaman
Address: 98/45 Patak Road | Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jinta Andaman 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jinta Andaman , An asian stylish boutique house is located at Kata beach . Our place is just 500 meters to Kata Beach, walking distance to Karon beach, 15 minutes drive to Patong beach, 30 minutes to Phuket Town and 50 minutes from Phuket International Airport. We have the private standard rooms, deluxe rooms and female dormitory room with room services provided to all room types. Our facilities are swimming pool, Restaurant,massage, Parking place, and the services are including transfer from/to airport, Free wifi, Check in 24 hrs,Motor bike for rent, tour desk, Laundry. We are located at quiet place in the center of kata beach village where you can walk to beach, fruits market, fresh market, international food and thai local food restaurant, bars, pubs and many acyivities more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jinta Andaman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jinta Andaman Hotel Karon
Jinta Andaman Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing