We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of ibis Phuket Kata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Phuket Kata
Ranked #27 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

My wife and I stayed in Ibis Katta for 1 week in September, unfortunately the weather was not great however the staff we very helpful in suggesting ideas for day trips and things to do. On several occasions we went to the beach and the rain started to come down heavily and even though there were no other guests at the beach and it was not the scheduled time the bus driver was waiting to take us back to the hotel. The hotel was spotless and a pleasure to spend time in, it had a great pool and the food was very good. There was one staff member that stood out from the rest and really went out of his way to make our holiday a good one, I think his name was Sommai he was often found around the entrance and could not have been more friendly or helpful.

One slight drawback although it was not a big issue was a small ant infestation in the room, we mentioned it to staff and were moved immediately.

The hotel is cheap and spotless!! Well worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aaron050741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juanmejiareyes, Manager at ibis Phuket Kata, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
Thank you for staying at Ibis Phuket Kata and for taking the time to write this review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you back in the near future. We are grateful that you highlight the good attitude of our team and it works as an incentive for us to keep on working in the same way.

Best Regards,

Juan Mejia
Communication Ibis Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    266
    111
    41
    32
See reviews for
154
240
59
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phuket
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

+clean
+ quite new
+ friendly service
+ good location

- understaffed = service takes a long time sometimes
- housekeeping not very organized = room cleaning varies a lot
- no room service

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jussi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

Very good value for money for a short stay. Would not stay longer as rooms are small ( where to put close) and access to the beach is not simple ( shuttle or 10 minutes walk). clean and convenient. friendly staff. Kata is the best place to stay in Phuket ( amazing beach and restaurants and shops available very close in a quiet/family environment).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2010

First impression - very good design of the lobby and swimming pool area, however smaller then it seemed to be when I checked pics on tripadviser

Room is quite small too (would say not enough place to fit clothes in wardrobe and the fridge is tiny). Disappointing that no bath, just a shower. However all of the above was quite ok for kind of trip we wanted. (we spend half of the time somewhere else, sleeping in tents etc. so it was always nice to come back :-)) Not very important, but for those who don't know, there is usual set of towels + beach towel pp in the room.

Cleaners and most of the personnel in the hotel are really sweet. Also would recommend to do the massages in the hotel rather then in places around.

Breakfast was a buffet. Not a big variety and not all the food is tasty but at the end, allways found something that I like. Would expect more variety and more rotation of food (it's slightly different every second day).

Table tennis and pool - are free to play in lobby. Nice to do on a rainy day :-) Free internet in the lobby, not in rooms. Free one is REALLY slow.

It was sad to leave, would like to come back for sure.

Little advise - alway to book it via the internet, the price is more then doble on the day (about 2550BT in Nov)+ if you break a cup or smth, they gonna charge you.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Breath777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tannum Sands
Level Contributor
136 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2010

Just following on from Patong review. Ibis all the same very clean,comfortable and handy location. Not the largest room we have stayed in but for the money was great. A little about Kata and surrounding area, very nice beach and Kata Noi had great right hand point break during our stay. If you travelled here first and stayed bought all your Thailand stuff here then went to have a quick look at Patong just before you left you would leave dissapointed. Admittidly we were just outside the peak season BUT Kata is laid back,popular with noisy kids and tourists looking for that beach escape. Coming from Australia and living on the coast we didn't need to see or walk on the beach, but Kata is a nicer beach than Patong. In a nutshell, stay at Patong and if the need arises go visit Kata for a day,lie on the beach or hire a board and have a surf at Kata Noi. From kata we hired our own car and went to Big Buddah and drove around by ourselves for a day but beware the crazy road rules.
Cheers
Hope this helps Steve

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arnie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.2 mi away
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
#30 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kata Country House
Kata Country House
#33 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#8 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kata Silver Sand Hotel
Kata Silver Sand Hotel
#92 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
#20 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
#23 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Phuket Kata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Phuket Kata

Property: ibis Phuket Kata
Address: 88/8 Kata Road | Karon, Mueang Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Phuket Kata 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for top value Phuket accommodation Bright, light filled and modern. Trendy, fresh and fun. Ibis Phuket Kata sits fiveminutes from the clear waters of Kata Beach. The hotel is ideal for families and couples alike with shopping, dining and nightlife just moments away. 258 rooms, 24 hour service, snacks and drinks. Surf, swim or soak up the sun in this friendly oasis - the perfect hideaway when relaxation is at the top of your list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your ibis Phuket Kata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Phuket Kata Hotel Kata Beach
Ibis Phuket Kata Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing