We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not exactly our idea of a beach destination hotel”
Review of ibis Phuket Kata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ibis Phuket Kata
Ranked #27 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed in Ibis for 5 nights (family of 5, including a baby) in one family room. Albeit our kids loved the room becasue of the bunk bed and the cartoons TV channels, me and my wife were not quite as happy.
Good points:
-It's well located with mini markets and some restaurants nearby. It is not in the center of Kata, but even with the baby stroller we could get to the beach in a 15 minutes walk. In the way to the beach there are some BBQ and fruit street stalls, which we tried and it was quite good.
-Staff helpful and friendly
-Bunk beds quite large and confy
Points to improve in the room:
Size of the bathroom-The bathroom is really cramped and even for a single person is difficult to move if you are above average.
Storage area-there isn't a single drawer in the room. In the bathroom the only place where you can put your stuff in next to the washing hands basin, which really insufficient. Also, since the washing hands amenities were reduced to a wall mounted liquid soap dispenser, then you would need to be careful not to drip your things with liquid soap. I would suggest that Ibis put some shelves above toilet in order to store our own amenities.In the room there is only a small closet where you can put your stuff, so you only have 2 options: or you keep your clothes in your luggage or spread it all over the room (there is a kind of a shelve behind kid's bunker bed)
Sockets for kettle-The place where the kettle is located doesn't have any socket nearby. So you have to put the kettle boiling next to your bed or in a small table, both within the reach of a toddler, so parents with young kids be aware of this. I suggest Ibis installs a socket in the table that is above the small refrigerator.
Lack of wire rack-there is a tiny hanger in the balcony where you can put your wet swimsuits and towels after returning from the beach/swimming pool. It is clearly insufficient and not practical.
TV-There are 2 TVs in the room. Nevertheless, the second TV is only of games, which we don't understand why. Since the only TV in the room was ours, in the morning when the kids woke up we ended up with them in our bed to see cartoons. I would suggest to put the antena in the 2nd TV in order for the kids to be able to see TV without being in parent's bed.

All in all, Ibis needs to understand that a room that is adequate for a city location has to be tweaked in order to fit a beach location, since needs are different. For instance, in city location, wire rack is not so needed as it is in a beach location. the same applies to the toilet amenities (sun lotion, after sun, etc.) which are needed in a beach location, are usually unnecessary in city location. All these small details are annoying and witha small teak, Ibis could improve a lot its rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Phuket Kata, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you for your valuable feedback!
Please note that ibis is an international 3-star hotel that is well-equipped with necessary amenities
and facilities for our guest’s convenience at great value for money. This is to ensure that you will have a worry-free trip at the best price!
We thank you for your comments on our services and sorry for any inconveniences that might have caused during your stay with us. We will take them into discussion with the hotel management for the best solution and for improvement of our service quality. At ibis, we aim at providing our guests with warm welcome and services at great value for money for a wonderful experience; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (701)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 701 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed at the IBIS for 5 nights in a standard room. The room was not huge but was spotlessly clean each day. Each room has a balcony, air-con, tv with a selection of english language channels, kettle etc. We were located at the front of the hotel which was fine for us, the rooms on the other side of the hotel had pool views. The hotel had a lovely pool and pool side area, with relaxing massage available under a thatched canopy, and a shallow pool ideal for toddlers. The beach is 5 minutes walk away, or there is a shuttle buggy that takes you to an area reserved for the IBIS; or so I am led to believe, we always walked. There is wireless internet in the room and 3 pc's availble for free in the lobby. We really enjoyed our stay at the IBIS and we got a great rate, wouldn't want to pay to much. We didn't eat int he hotel given there are a lot of good options in the resort.

Room Tip: There's no beach view but you can get poolside views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Phuket Kata, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you for sharing your nice experience at ibis Phuket Kata!
We appreciate that you had a pleasant stay with us as well as enjoyed our cleanliness, facilities, services and the best value for money. We will maintain our quality of service to meet our guest satisfaction and will pass your compliments to our team for encouragement.
Ibis is Europe’s leading economy hotel brand for that reason our hotels follow an international standard offering a great stay at the best price.
We hope to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I booked a family room at Ibis Kata which had a bunk bed for the kiddo. The room advertised toys, game disks for the kids and a 5 mins walk to the beach. None of these were quite correct - the disks didn't work and no one at the reception ever helps.
Having said that, the 15 mins walk to the Kata beach was not an issue - the hotel provides shuttle services and the white sandy Kata was just a piece of heaven. Kata is closer to the sightseeing points like the giant Wats and the hill-top Buddha and surely less commercialized than Patong, therefore it made sense to stay there.
Must also mention that the massage parlor attached to Ibis Kata was awesome. Have never had a better one...a must try!

Room Tip: Must ask you guys to try the family room for a non-stuffy experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SourKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Phuket Kata, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for choosing ibis Phuket Kata!
This hotel is another wonderful choice for friends and family getaway at great value for money. We are delighted that you liked our Family Room and hotel in overall. At ibis, we aim at providing our guests with warm welcome and services at great value for money for a wonderful experience.
We apologise for any inconvenience that you might have encountered and will improve it accordingly to provide an even better quality of service to our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

this is one of the newer hotels on kata beach.. only 3 years old. the girls at the reception are pretty friendly. i got upgraded to the family room which was fantastic ! it has a bunk bed and 2 huge soft toys which are super cute. And a king sized bed (i think) is super good. room and bathroom size are great. Love that there is also a writing desk, full length mirror, many tv channels and the shower works. The service staff at the restaurant are pretty good... food isn't that expensive and the quality is alright. The daily breakfast at the restaurant was pretty decent.. they do try to change some items each day. the shuttle bus service to the beach is a great. Even though the beach is not that far away. Free WIFI is a plus. There are many shops and restaurants along the streets which are pretty good. the spa outside the hotel is fabulous. All in all, i had a great stay and it is one of the better hotels i've stayed in so far.

Room Tip: get a family room even if you are one or two persons.. it's not that expensive and the space is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank renee6764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Phuket Kata, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for your nice comments on our TripAdvisor profile!
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our friendly staff, Family Room, facilities, services and breakfast. At ibis, we aim at providing our guests with friendly welcome, warm services, and great value for money for a wonderful experience.
Thank you once again for visiting us and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hotel is about a 15 min walk to the beach, there's a shuttle that runs, but it stops at 5pm so not very convenient.

Room was extremely stuffy and it didn't seem like the air conditioning was working correctly. Bed was relatively comfortable. We were booked for a king room but they ran out and gave us a family room with a smaller bed. There were also ants in the room.

Shower was extremely small/tight so it was difficult to shower. Since this is a chain hotel I would have expected some basic toiletries but there really weren't any.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kukiimnzta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Phuket Kata, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

We apologise for the inconvenience you might have encountered with our service and will improve
it accordingly to provide an even better quality of service to our guests.
Please note that the size of room is designed to provide the necessary service and facilities to the guests at the best price.
We thank you for spending your time on giving us your comments and we hope to welcome you back again at ibis Phuket Kata or at any ibis hotels in Thailand!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

is not on the beach even if the advertising shows a view of beach. In fact to go to the beach you need to use the hotel shuttle every 30 min and is quiet far. The beach is ugly and also the rest of the area is quiet ugly and expensive. To move around by taxi you have to use the hotel service that is expensive. WIFI in hotel is available only in the lobby because in the room you have to pay. Bathroom is very little and food very boring if you stay longer than 3 days. I really do not suggest this hotel and Phuket. I will never go again. Accor hotel do not respect the promotion.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boxboxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Phuket Kata, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for your feedback!
We are sorry about the unexpected experience that you might have encountered during your stay with us. We would recommend that for people who prefer a more dynamic nightlife of Phuket and enjoy central area of Phuket, ibis Phuket Patong could be a recommended place for you.
ibis is an international 3-star hotel that is well-equipped with necessary amenities and facilities for our guest's convenience at the best value for money, this is to ensure that you will have a worry-free trip at the best price.
Please note that all ibis hotels in Thailand introduced free Wi-Fi internet access throughout the hotel for all guests.
So, you can enjoy surfing the internet anytime and anywhere within the hotel :)
We hope to welcome you again at any ibis hotels in Thailand for another ibis experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This Ibis is quite new and modern. The rooms have a decent size, the bathroom is quite small but ok. Hotel common areas, as the lobby and the pool, are also quite pleasant and really nice and, for the price paid, I can consider this hotel a very good option. Our room had also a balcony with a chair, good to chill out. Wi-Fi is free in the room
Staff is really nice and friendly, and I should make a special remark to the girl in the restaurant/breakfast room (I can't remember her name): she was so nice and friendly!
Brekafast had a good choice and good quality, enough for our needs. We order dinner to our room and, despite they don't have room service and you have to collect your food from the restaurant, it was delicious and well cooked.
The hotel is not really close to the beach, but there's a passage that leads you there, near a canal (a little smelly). The hotel has also a free shuttle service, so it is very convenient. Near the hotel you can also find some restaurants, spa and a supermarket, right in the corner (cheaper than the supermarket near the ClubMed beach, really expensive).
I've stayed in some Ibis and I have no complaints at all, but this one is by far the best.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ana_teresa_simoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Phuket Kata, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at ibis Phuket Kata on our TripAdvisor profile!
We appreciate that you enjoyed our room, services, facilities and friendly staff. We will maintain our quality of services to meet our guest satisfaction and will pass your compliments to our team for encouragement.
ibis is Europe's leading economy hotel brand, and for that reason our hotels follow an international standard offering a great stay at an affordable price.
We hope to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
The Beach Boutique House
The Beach Boutique House
#40 of 56 in Kata Beach
281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kata Country House
Kata Country House
#35 of 56 in Kata Beach
366 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
#34 of 56 in Kata Beach
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#6 of 56 in Kata Beach
858 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Beach Heights Resort
The Beach Heights Resort
#30 of 56 in Kata Beach
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Centara Kata Resort Phuket
Centara Kata Resort Phuket
#18 of 56 in Kata Beach
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Phuket Kata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Phuket Kata

Address: 88/8 Kata Road | Karon, Mueang Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Price Range: $31 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Phuket Kata 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for top value Phuket accommodation Bright, light filled and modern. Trendy, fresh and fun. Ibis Phuket Kata sits fiveminutes from the clear waters of Kata Beach. The hotel is ideal for families and couples alike with shopping, dining and nightlife just moments away. 258 rooms, 24 hour service, snacks and drinks. Surf, swim or soak up the sun in this friendly oasis - the perfect hideaway when relaxation is at the top of your list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your ibis Phuket Kata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Phuket Kata Hotel Kata Beach
Ibis Phuket Kata Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing