We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok budget hotel but needs some major improvements.”
Review of ibis Phuket Kata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Phuket Kata
Ranked #26 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Spent most of the holiday on the beach but missed quite a few good sleeps in this hotel. Walls and doors were super thin, and midnight and early morning noises came in straight thru the big gap under the door. Kindly asked the receptionists to put up a friendly sign in the corridors to remind guests to keep quiet, but the answer we got was, "Just call the security or reception if you hear more noises ..."

Bathroom towels definitely would need renewal. They're already quite worn out ...

Also beware of the ants in the rooms ...

Breakfast looked ok but quite pricey. Tried buffet dinner once and it was pretty good.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finnsino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Phuket Kata, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for your feedback! We apologise for any inconvenience that might have caused during your stay with us. We will share your comment with the hotel management to improve our services.
At ibis, we aim at providing the best service at the great value for money, that's why your comment is very important to us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (677)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 180 of 677 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2012

Well Trippets... I have one thing to say.... This is not what I call an IBIS hotel. Compared to other countries IBIS KATA BEACH is amazing. We have all heard the saying 'You get what you pay for' Well this is one hotel where you auctually get more than you pay for....
However first up, I must say to all the people that complain about the smell, mold and moisture please do not travel to tropical climates.... it's a natural thing in this part of the world. It's called the Tropics for a reason, so please don't visit if you want you home surroundings.... cause it just ain't going to happen!
The room was very clean and comfortable for myself or a couple, with enough room for luggage and pleanty of storage space under the bed... a very clever design indeed! If your travelling with 3 or more spend a few dollars more and get the larger family room. Air-con was great and not loud at all. Yes the beds are firm but you do awake fresh and revived every morning, after a comfortable sleep.
Bathrooms are small but are fully equiped and very clean and do the job well. Compared to Australia stands I would rate these 4 star... Ever been to an Ibis with marble and mosaic trim in the bathroom? Not one bit of plastic/fiberglass cubicle anywhere.
A balcony with great mountain and local views, made a very spacious feel in the room. If your a smoker this is a big bonus or just a sunlover wanting to people watch over the pool.... An in room safe makes for great peace of mind, although not once did I feel unsafe or insecure in or around the hotel.
Housekeeping were only to happy to help with any requests or ammenities you needed and where always happy and greeted you every morning! It a good sign to see people enjoying their work.... Ah the Thai way!
The pool is good size and you can always get a sun lounge.... Massage by the pool is the same prices as outside the hotel and in fact is run by the people just outside... very unusual with no extra charge for hotel service.
The girls at the conveniance store out the front are fantastic and are willing to help you with anything you need. Just be patient with the language and you will get there.... I was in shock at the amount of rude customers that could not even be bothered to say Thankyou... after all the help the girls gave.
Many resturants, shops and markets are around either to the left or right... The resturant right out the front was great and the staff are very professional, but fun.
Let's not forget the staff at the Ibis - true professionals in every sense of the word. Nothing was too much trouble, from forward bookings, local info, sending and receiving fax's messages ect...
I stayed for a total of nine nights and will make it my first stop when I next visit Phuket. I truley loved this hotel and the services in the local area. Ibis Kata Beach Thankyou so much for a most enjoyable and memorible stay....
My only complaint, which had nothing to do with the hotel at all, was the amount of rude guest that where staying here, who did not show one bit of appreiation or respect for the staff who worked so very hard to keep all things clean, comfortable and enjoyable...... for us all!
If your wanting a clean comfortable hotel with full service at a fantastic price, look no further than The Ibis Kata Beach......

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BaliTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Phuket Kata, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at ibis Phuket Kata on our TripAdvisor profile!
We appreciate that you had a memorable stay with us as well as enjoyed our location, room, services, facilities, staff and the great value for money. We will maintain our quality of service to meet our guest satisfaction and will pass your compliments to our team for encouragement.
ibis brand is Europe's leading economy hotel brand for that reason our hotels follow an international standard offering a great stay at an affordable price.
We hope to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suyantoh T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

A decent hotel in quiet corner of Kata beach. Very quiet indeed for people who want to be close to happening place which is patong.
Few eateries around the hotel, no market nearby, a convenience store nearby. As for hotel room, it was way too small for the hotel you see from outside.
The bathroom gives u a feel of being in a train. Though cramped, the rooms are adequately equipped. Nice pool & a decent restaurant downstairs.
Not a bad option for the price u pay.

Room Tip: choose rooms on pool side, at least they have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Roaming_Soul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Phuket Kata, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Thank you for your feedback on our TripAdvisor!

ibis Phuket Kata is a perfect choice for a getaway trip in a private location. However for people who prefer a more dynamic nightlife of Phuket, ibis Phuket Patong could be a recommended place for you:)

Please note that the size of room is designed to provide the necessary service and facilities to the guests at best value for money.

Thank you for your compliments on our swimming pool, restaurant and the great value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at ibis Phuket Kata!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I have been to Kata Beach many times but this is the first time staying at the Ibis. I stayed 11 nights at this hotel during May 2012. I was travelling with daughter and granddaughter and wanted to show them as much of Phuket as possible so did not spend much time in the room. Room was small but ok for us as we were not there very much. The restaurant was quite satisfactory. Breakfast was without much variety but it was all we needed. Dinner at night was tasty. The pizzas are particulary good. The only real criticism I would have of the restaurant was that it was that the inside restaurant was closed to guest when a large group was in the hotel. Guests then needed to eat outside which did not suit us as we wanted air conditioning when we ate dinner. Most staff at reception were friendly and helpful. House keeping - I do find it annoying when rooms are not made up until very late in the day and this did happen to us. This hotel is only 2 or 3 years old so I was very surprised to find bed linen with holes in it and also surfaces that needed a re- paint or a jolly good scrub. The staff on the travel desk were very helpful and friendly. We could walk to Kata Beach shops and also Kata town shops from hotel. There is an ATM outside hotel and a shop that takes in laundry next door. There is a nice restaurant next door and also a good bakery. The hotel has a taxi service that cost 450 baht to get to Patong, 50 baht more than a tuk tuk but worth it for comfort and convenience. The very good news is that free wireless is now available in all the rooms.
If you want somewhere fairly clean and inexpensive to sleep then this hotel may be a good choice but if you want to spend time relaxing at the hotel in you room then there are many choices of nicer resort like hotels available.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cressida_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Phuket Kata, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Thank you for choosing ibis Phuket Kata for your wonderful family trip!

We are glad that your liked our room, food, friendly staff, services and cleanliness. At ibis, we aim at providing the best service at the great value for money!

We apologise for any unpexpected experience you met and we will discuss with the hotel management for the improvement!

We hope to welcome you back again at ibis Phuket Kata!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DolruJoop
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Phuket Kata, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We stayed at ibis Phuket Kata for Three nights when we were on our honeymoon.

We found the hotel staff to be very kind, courteous and helpful. Their English is bad but you can work around that as this is a problem across Thailand.

The breakfast menu was very good and had a good spread. However, I prefer the IBIS Patong spread. We found it value for money as food is a problem for Indians in Thailand.

The location is very near to the beach. There is spa just opposite to the hotel where we used the services after one hectic trip to Phi Phi and loved it.

I would recommend this hotel for someone who is looking for a hotel in this price range.

We loved the pool.

This is a budget hotel, so if you are expecting wonders to happen, take my word, do not try this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room on the 4th floor. They are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MumbaiPradeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Phuket Kata, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Thank you for sharing your staying experience at ibis Phuket Kata on our TripAdvisor profile!

We appreciate that you liked our friendly staff, breakfast, location and our swimming pool. At ibis, we aim at providing the best service at the great value for money!

We apologise for our staff's English speaking proficiency and the inconvenience this might have caused during your trip. We will provide more training to them for better quality of service to our guest!

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
The Beach Boutique House
The Beach Boutique House
#43 of 55 in Kata Beach
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
#33 of 55 in Kata Beach
171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kata Country House
Kata Country House
#31 of 55 in Kata Beach
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,174 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Melody Phuket
The Melody Phuket
#22 of 55 in Kata Beach
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Centara Kata Resort Phuket
Centara Kata Resort Phuket
#15 of 55 in Kata Beach
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Phuket Kata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Phuket Kata

Address: 88/8 Kata Road | Karon, Mueang Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Price Range: $33 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Phuket Kata 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for top value Phuket accommodation Bright, light filled and modern. Trendy, fresh and fun. Ibis Phuket Kata sits fiveminutes from the clear waters of Kata Beach. The hotel is ideal for families and couples alike with shopping, dining and nightlife just moments away. 258 rooms, 24 hour service, snacks and drinks. Surf, swim or soak up the sun in this friendly oasis - the perfect hideaway when relaxation is at the top of your list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your ibis Phuket Kata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Phuket Kata Hotel Kata Beach
Ibis Phuket Kata Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing