We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Metadee Resort and Villas
Nearby Hotels
Sawasdee Village(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$108
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Beyond Resort Kata(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$76
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Chanalai Garden Resort(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mom Tri's Villa Royale(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$201
$166
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Boathouse Phuket(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$151
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chanalai Flora Resort(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Baray Villa(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$256
$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$792
$355
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kata Rocks(Kata Beach)
$885
$626
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,459)
Filter reviews
1,459 results
Traveler rating
860
414
116
32
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
860
414
116
32
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate pool villathe main roadpool accessbuggy servicemosquito netmain poolamazing poolgolf buggyoutdoor showerevery hourhuge poolbeach baghourly shuttlewestern foodrain showerour honeymoonbreakfast staff
Filter
Updating list...
382 - 387 of 1,459 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This is a nice clean hotel in a good location close to restaurants. We were fortunate enough to get upgraded to a private pool villa which was beautiful. The hotel amenities were great. The buffet breakfast is very tasty and Happy Hour at the pool bar is one to take advantage of. It is a great hotel to spend your days relaxing by the pool. I would recommend this place to others. Approx 10minute walk to the beach

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bree D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

The hotel itself was quite clean and pleasant. There were several families with babies and children there. Rooms were spacious with lovely bathrooms/showers, good AC, and strong WiFi. We had a pool access room, which, to be honest, was not necessary because I would prefer not to jump from the pool back into my room.
Service was mixed. At times the front desk people were quite smiley and helpful. And then you get the eye rolls occasionally from the man who drives the golf cart down the long driveway to the main road (well, don't offer this service if you don't want to do it!!). We were also quoted one price for a van from the airport to the hotel and then when we arrived (at 1am), the man tried to increase the price by 40%. Like…minutes after we checked in…exhausted from our flight in and just wanting to get to our room. We adamantly argued back and agreed to settle it later. The topic never came up again and we paid the original quoted price. But how strange.
Honestly, if you want a nice pool, stay here. Otherwise, there are a ton of resorts that are closer walking distance to the beach and probably just as good. The restaurant was subpar, and we should have eaten more meals out on the main road (cheaper, better food).

Room Tip: There are pool access rooms for a minimal increase.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAYLA1779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

After a 25 hour flight to Singapore followed by 11/2 hours to Phuket & 1 hour to reach the Metadee, we were so glad to finally arrive even though it was a couple hours after our expected arrival. We had arranged our airport transfers through the hotel & were pleased to find our driver with our "name sign" waiting for us.

Checkin at first was frustrating since we had booked & prepaid for our pool access villa 9 months prior to our February 2cd, 5 night vacation add on. This followed a 2 week south Asian cruise. We were told the hotel was overbooked & sent to a plunge pool villa. We had read reviews previously where your original booking isn't honoured so we were prepared to be firm but reasonable. We stayed in the plunge pool villa overnight & then were transferred to our original booked pool access villa the next day.

That is when HEAVAN began. Being from Canada we laugh at all the reviews about the water temperature being too HOT. Actually, the H2O in the plunge pool was too cold for our liking so perhaps those of you who enjoy the "refreshing dips" might prefer the private pools. As for us, the water temperature increased each day we were there which was FABULOUS & I wish we could have stayed longer.

Our room was just as it is described on the website. Yes, each feature stated from inclusions in the minibar, all bathroom inclusions & even the slippers & beach bag were welcomed by us. We were pleased with the room cleanliness & our attendant arrived when we were out regularly & had our room completely cleaned by noon. It was great to return each day to a fresh smell of lemon. We liked the coffee & cashew snack inclusions too. The tub was also a great comfortable surprise after many walks in exploring the main street & Kata Beach itself. I would have thought that if the door to the villa wasn't left open during cleaning, we wouldn't have shared our place with a little ghecko friend who remained up top on the raised loft ceiling for most of our stay. Yes, they are harmless but for anyone not expecting them, they will be a surprise to you.

The food at the restaurant was good. We had both Western as well as Thai food the first night & were pleased. Every breakfast we were welcomed by Boy by name. He was the happiest & most personable employee in the resort. The memory of that "Thai" smile stays with us still. They had a great selection of ALL types of breakfast selections to choose from. All the typical Western dishes to Asian "full meat & rice" dinner type choices too. Personally, we enjoyed the various rotating fresh fruit juice choices. Can't complain about the restaurant at all, we just wanted to try other types while we had the chance so we ate elsewhere quite a bit.

We enjoyed the walk between the resort & Kata Beach & got to experience the BUSY ness of the area including those speedy bikes & seeing the miles of taxis & tuk tuks available. We enjoyed the pool so much we walked to Kata Beach but didn't swim there. There was a huge selection of restaurants...all open air to choose from.

We found a cute little hidden gem beside the beach called The BBQ restaurant. We enjoyed a wonderful Pad Thai & Chicken & Chestnut entrée...large quantities for a small price as well as a superb Mai Tai. Had a less positive experience at Natalies restaurant. Terrible service & less than enthusiastic wait staff when they heard the English language. The nights really come alive along this small strip...lots of souvenir shopping. I had a wonderful painting created just for me at a small shop on the main street.

We have to thank our resort front desk staff for arranging transfers as well as 3 set excursions including English speaking drivers. They booked & set up an Elephant trekking experience to Siam safari which was unforgettable. We have a video record of our tour that makes us laugh whenever we view it. So much fun! We also booked a tour to a cultural theme park called Fantasea. It was amazing...Make sure to book the VIP package with all the trimmings...you won't be disappointed in the show or dinner that was included. We also went on a 1/2 day trip to Phi Phi Island. It took almost 8 hours to complete but still was classified as a 1/2 day.

We arranged to have a hotel taxi take us to see the Big Buddha site as well as bit of shopping...Yes the hotel taxis are abit more than what you pay on the street but for comfort, air conditioning & English it was worth the expense...Maybe because this was our 1st trip to Asia & Thailand in particular we weren't going to quibble over a few baht. We learned how to "negotiate" quickly & had no trouble being fair & don't feel we were taken advantage of in any way. I must say Kata Beach was a pleasant sight each day as we travelled often past the MADNESS of Patong Beach & I really don't think I would have felt safe there due to the population denseness & nightly activity.

For those of you who enjoy the party nightlife, the Metadee is quiet in the evenings. The staff is always busy during the daylight hours cleaning, fixing & manicuring the property & their attention keeps this small resort as a very PRETTY choice when chosing your accommodation. This is a 1st experience in choosing a resort "around the world" from our home & we were pleased we chose it for our home away from home. We were made to feel at home from the warm reception at the airport arrival all the way to the end of our stay as we returned to our cold climate. Thank you Metadee, your WARMTH, generosity & happy human spirit has left a great Thai memory for our 2014 vacation. Every time we look at photos at your resort, we will smile! This trip was taken by a couple of youngsters in their 50s. We wouldn't hesitate going back if we return to Phuket.

Room Tip: pool access villa for sure close to the bridge & waterfall. We were in room 4103.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barney076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I had looked forward to staying here in a 'pool access' room for months. I showed everyone the picture on Expedia (where we booked). However, when we were presented with our room leading to a small, dark verandah with a concrete wall blocking any view of the pool and a tiny opening full of plants a guest must clamber through leading to the pool, I objected. Repeatedly. After much discussion and some distress we were moved. It still wasn't the room I had booked on Expedia, but it was an improvement and a compromise.
The resort is lovely. It is lush, green, peaceful and the staff are so sweet and helpful. The room was very beautiful and cleaned well each day. The pool is long and winding. But the temperature is way too hot. We couldn't understand why they chose to do this when it is extremely hot outside and a cool refreshing swim is so desirable.
The entry to Metadee is down a long unattractive, concrete driveway but the shuttle service by concierge on golf carts is faultless. They come the moment you call.
The main reason we won't return though is not the fault of the resort. It is only a block behind Kata beach, but Club Med is in front and it is MASSIVE! There is no access through it. So Metadee guests must walk quite far around it to get down to the beach.

Room Tip: Be sure of the room you are booking
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dodofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed here for 10 nights in a pool access villa. On arrival at the resort we were given a welcome drink and escorted to our villa where a fresh bowl of fruit was waiting. The villa was very spacious, had nice decor, furnishings and a very large four poster bed.
In the morning we went for the pretty good breakfast which you have at the pool side restaurant, the staff were so friendly at breakfast and within a couple of days they knew where you preferred to sit, whether you drank tea or coffee and your room number.
They were also very happy to top up your coffee and made breakfast a real pleasure.
Like most hotels the drinks and meals were a little more expensive than when you venture out but the food we did have was pretty good.
The hotel is located 5 to 10 mins walk from the beach and is very close to good restaurants and bars. The hotel is at the end of a long lane approx 400m but there are complimentary buggys to and from the main road.
The pool is enormous but sometimes too warm due to it being heated, the first day it was like getting into a hot tub but within a couple of days the pool temperature had been adjusted to a more refreshing temperature.
The rooms are set in lovely gardens which are maintained everyday by a team of gardeners and leave removers.
It is a lovely place to stay only negative thing I could really see was the quality of some of the Thai workmanship on things like the decking areas, but this is quite normal for hotels in Thailand.

Room Tip: Go for a pool access room or villa then you can go straight from your room to the pool.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigTaylorPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews