We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Metadee Resort and Villas
Ranked #13 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed here as over original resort was overbooked. I had checked online reviews and the resort lived to its reputation. The resort is close to all the main tourist points. The pool is excellent. Didn't try the restaurant so wouldn't comment on that. Overall i wouldn't mind to book this for my next stay in Phuket.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shrav_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

344 - 350 of 1,383 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

A large group of family and friends booked to stay in this hotel as we were attending a wedding in Kata. The staff were wonderful, from reception, to the friendly young men in the buggy's, bar and waiting staff. On first impressions, the hotel ( the pool is definitely the star) looks amazing. fairy lights add to the charm. my wonderful stay was made even better by an upgrade to my own private villa!.( bliss).. however i would have still been happy with the pool room that I booked originally. All decor was tasteful and in keeping with the hotel ambience. breakfast was great, room service delivered promptly, rooms serviced daily. the grounds and other amenities all great. Happy hour x 2 by the pool was a great place to meet for a cocktail. the only negative was the water temperature of the pool. on one particularly hot day, rather than refreshing, it felt like stepping into a bath (not sure why that was the case??).
Apart from this the location, service and standard could not be faulted and would definately stay again. Thank you to all for a great stay :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blondee2Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This was our first trip to Phuket and selecting accommodation was beginning to turn into a nightmare. We literally read hundreds of reviews on hundreds of resorts and even after all the research, we still didn't really know what to expect. We were travelling with my son and his partner and we had booked two rooms.
When we first arrived at check in, the staff were very friendly and the check in was very fast. We asked if an upgrade was possible and were told that both rooms had already been upgraded from the lowest available to private pool villas.
Our bags were taken to our villas and our eyes nearly popped out of our heads when we entered the private gate. The private villas all have a small plunge pool, sun lounges, outside shower and table and chairs under a thai style gazebo. The room itself was very large with a king size 4 poster bed with mosquito netting that actually works. The bathroom is semi attached and gives the feel of an inside/outside bathroom but is still under the main roof and very stylish with a huge bath and vanity. Rooms are cleaned and made up every day and the pool and surroundings were cleaned of leaves everyday.
The staff were super friendly and went out of their way to make our stay memorable for all the right reasons. They get to know your likes very quickly.
Breakfast was on par with some of the better hotels we have stayed at in Australia.
The main pool looked great and I cant believe that we stayed there a whole week and didn't go in once because we were either in our own pool or out and about.
We didn't eat at the restaurant but we did order a few room service snacks which were very good.
The bar at the pool is open until about 11pm and is a great place to just sit, relax and have a few beers and chat with other travelers. Drinks here are a little more expensive than at the bars but still a lot cheaper than an Aussie pub.
The staff will drive you down the driveway of about 200m to the main road in a golf buggy if you ask and there is everything you need along the main road. Countless bars, restaurants, market stalls and shops and the beach are all within easy walking distance.
We really were sad to leave this place and will definitely be back.
Cant rate this resort highly enough

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cjp_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Truth be told, Kata Beach is a bit of a crap-hole of a town. Endless traffic, pedestrian unfriendly streets, wall-to-wall junky souvenir shops, and a beach fed partly by a municipal sewer, but a villa at Metadee makes it all go away.
The private pool villas are fantastic, with tons of room, amazing bathrooms, and a very cool private pool. Dead quiet all the time, and you really do feel like you're in your own little world.
The only black mark is the staff, some of whom are very nice, but some of whom are entirely useless. It's not a language thing either; some are just of no help at all.
The swimming pool is amazing, maybe the biggest I've ever seen, snaking through the entire resort. But why they fill it with hot water is beyond me. It's like taking a hot bath, which is not what you want when it's 33C outside.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bomobob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We just had a lovely 2 week holiday at Metadee. We had a pool view room which was nice. Room and bathroom was spacious and had a nice view from our balcony to Big Buddha. Room was cleaned daily and got new towels with no problem. This hotel is not a 5 star hotel even if some booking agents may say so. Our Finnish travel agency gave this hotel 3+ rating which is very accurate. You can see some aging on furniture and around pool. The pool is huge and heated. Some days it felt bit too warm and we believe the pool would be ten times better if it wasn't so warm. Low the temperature just few degrees and it would be perfect!!! Enough sun beds to everyone if you want to relax around the pool.

We found the staff very helpfull and nice. No problem at all. The restaurant is quite expensive compared to others on main road but we ate few lunches there and food is good. Breakfast was good. European food was always the same, thai breakfast had more changes but I didn't get bored of the food in two weeks which was quite surprising to me. :)
The spa was divine. They had a good deal on spa packages, two for one. Basic massages you got cheaper anywhere else but I really recommend taking a treatment or two there as the spa is really beautiful and quiet and they are brilliant professionals there. Near main road close to hotel is a massage place which we used few times. They were good too but it's not a quiet place and you don't get that perfect relaxation there as you can get in the hotel spa.

We would come back!!

Room Tip: We preferred the pool view from pool access as on ground floor there is plenty of vegetation. The pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katjawho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We enjoyed the most fantastic 6 nights here! Loved everything - the atmosphere, friendly staff, great breakfast, pool, cocktails & the most romantic special valentines resort dinner where we won an aromatherapy massage for two. We were so pleased that they allowed us to come back to use it, as were leaving the next day to stay with friends in another Phuket location. And I must say it was the nicest massage we had in Phuket! We can't wait to visit the Metadee again

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed at the Metadee for 5 nights and would definitaly book again ,highly recommend. We arrived 10pm after a long day travelling, to be told we have 2 nights upgrade into the villa suite....Beautiful!!!! Our 3 remaining nights were into our booked room,overlooking the amazing pool, a smaller version of the villa, but plenty of room. Only tip...if booking on the pool, get a ground level...every room has access to pool via their own balcony and stairs (still private).Staff vey efficient, polite and professional. Buffet limited but has fresh tasty food for all ages...Thai,European, healthy and naughty(sweet rolls fresh from bakery! The resort is easy walking distance to beach, shops,restaurants and bars, (can get buggy lift to tuk-tik's if needed) but an hour 20 mins from airport, boating and most attractions...but the drives are interesting! Enjoy...we did!!!

Room Tip: Lower level pool view...all quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 666Nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.5 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,170 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
2.6 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 10 in Karon Beach
2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#2 of 55 in Kata Beach
931 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#5 of 55 in Kata Beach
787 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sawasdee Village
Sawasdee Village
#11 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metadee Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metadee Resort and Villas

Address: 66 Kata Road, T Karon, Phuket | A Muang Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: $125 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Metadee Resort and Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Metadee Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metadee Resort And Villas Hotel Kata Beach
Metadee Resort And Villas Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing